We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will come back for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Diktynna

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Villa Diktynna to your Saves list
Villa Diktynna
Seferi 1, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will come back for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

Had a wonderful week from 20 June staying with husband and friends. Appartments lovely in a very pleasant setting. We celebrated a friends 60th birthday and the family provided all we required to get the party started, champagne, strawberries, cake and flowers to get the party started. Especially helpful was Vangelis who looked after us all week and provided good local information as well as a lot of laughs. Will certainly return to this relaxing and friendly resort.

Room Tip: take a room higher up if you want a sea view, pay extra foe A/C
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadiktynna, Ιδιοκτήτης at Villa Diktynna, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experiences from your stay at Villa Diktynna with us and with the Trip Advisor community!
You were such a lovey group of friends!!! It's good to know that Villa DIktynna will be part of the memories you will have from your friend's birthday!

We will love to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    10
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Was with Chris & his wife at this hotel & confirm his comments are correct.I'm only commenting now because I think the owners reply is not acceptable.The barman has had bad comments in the past against him & also helped himself to my wives cigarettes.Over charging???Also the owner did not mention no till receipt at any time for purchases which is illegal in Greece.NO BILL NO PAY IN GREECE BY LAW.Other than this the hotel is really nice & too cheap and Koutouloufari is really great with brilliant restuarants.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We booked this after some research on Trip Advisor, it ticked all our boxes in terms of location, price and amenities.

We arrived quite late just before midnight and were shown to our rooms by the Barman Vangellis, at first he was pleasant bringing our drinks over to the table, but on each occaision he helped himself to my wifes cigarettes without asking, we felt it was rather rude.

The next day by the pool we ordered quite a few drinks and paid for each round at the time, we were never given any 'ticket' which is a legal requirement in Greece, and the rounds never added up to what they should have been according to the published prices, we then establised it was because my friend was ordering a dash of lemonade in her lager and it appears we were being charged 1.5 euro for every splash, this I thought was a rip off as he was buying it from the shop next door at 90 cents per 1.5 litre.

We stopped buying much from him after that and then he became quite indifferent to us.

The owners are a nice older couple that live in the apartment under the bar, they were very friendly and the lady even brought us some cakes one morning.

The rooms and all areas were very clean and the flowers and shrubs make a very pretty location. The rooms are very spacious and well appointed with all you need to self cater, we opted to eat out so did not use them though.

There was plenty of space to park our hire car on the hill at the side of the hotel and the shops and resturants are a 5 minute walk along the road. You can walk to the bottom of the hill into town in about 10 minutes (where the nearest cashpoint is) and 15 minutes gets you back up.

The WIFI is free but is quite slow and only works in the bar area.

My only gripe other than the barman was that there were 3 windows at high level in the room without any curtains or shutters, this meant that as soon as the sun came up the room was flooded with daylight, this made sleeping after 5am very difficult.

It's a shame that a couple of little things have let this hotel down.

Room Tip: The rooms adjacent to the bar are exposed to the music coming through the window, this can disturb i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadiktynna, Manager at Villa Diktynna, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review Villa Diktynna. We are glad that you liked the property and that you found the behavior of the owners quite friendly and welcoming. This is exactly the atmosphere we are trying to create in our establishment.

This is why we were surprised by the incident with the barman. So far we did not have any complaints about his behaviour or his professionalism. Moreover, please note that he is not an employee of the hotel; the operation of the pool bar is totally under his control. However, we would like to assure you that we will look at the incident and we will try to identify the reasons for the misunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed here for half term week, we had 2 apartments, a 1 bedroom and a mezzanine, both with sea views. Both were very nicely furnished to a good standard.

The transfers were arranged by the owners and the taxis were very reasonable , Anna also checked that there was enough room for our luggage which was very helpful, transfers were good and we arrived midday in beautiful sun.

This is an amazingly pretty complex, the flowers tumble out of pots and around the terraces and balconies. The pool is not massive but more than adequate and clean and cool. Sunbeds and umbrellas are supplied. The bar is well stocked and our host Vangelis was friendly and efficient. Both apartments were spotless, very nicely furnished with plenty of crockery, cutlery etc, more than enough to self cater, plus the addition of a grill so we were able to make toast to go with our boiled eggs (egg cups supplied!) good size fridge. Beds comfy, towels are very fluffy!

We know the villages and it was just a short walk to some of our favourite spots. The beach is about a 15-20 minute down hill walk, a taxi back is 7 euros but worth it, you are on holiday! Best beach for us is Nana beach near the open air museum, ( a must, so interesting, closed Saturdays) family friendly and nice tavernas, along past Star beach to the right.

All in all a very very nice week, thank you Villa Diktynna

Room Tip: I liked the sea view apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Arrived very late to the hotel (after a very long transfer) and was greeted and shown to our room. Barman was very helpful and told us everything we needed to know. We only stayed for a week but was very impressed. Lovely pool area, bar area and the rooms were great for the price we paid. We only ate in the hotel once for lunch on our last day but it was very nice. Went to the hotel bar most nights as we found the barman to be very nice and welcoming. Have no bad points to say about the hotel at all. In a good location right next to a road with loads of lovely greek tavernas, bars and shops. I would definitely return to this hotel as its one of the nicest we have stayed at. Thanks for a great week :) !!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadiktynna, Manager at Villa Diktynna, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Nikki,

Thank you so much for your kind words!

We are all doing our best to provide the service and quality we have promised to our guests!
The best reward for us is when we see that value for money meets our guests' expectations!

Thank you and hope to have you with us again sometime in the future!

Irini Dimou
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We where very pleased with our 2 apartments very clean nice and large a very shaded balcony but that would be nice in mid summer. the whole place is clean flowers everywhere and pots with with colour adding to the place, The only downside is the owner he really is a very miserable man he should not be the owner of a hotel as he appears to hate humans! we thought it was our age as the other people are in there 50s or the fact we didnt spend spend spend? even when we bought something from the bar it was so cold trying to talk to him, To top it off when my partner sat at one of the tables he came over and put a menu down we said we where just sitting in the sun his reply, "i need this table please move away" the bar was empty, so i guess all he wants is money..... such a shame we wont go back because of this.

Room Tip: high up you get great views and sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
villadiktynna, Ιδιοκτήτης at Villa Diktynna, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We would like to assure you that we take all comments and suggestions very seriously,
especially when we have not met our guests' expectations.

Therefore, we would like to clarify the following regarding your complaints:
The barman in our property is not the owner and he is not related to the owner. He is an employee, and is mainly in charge of the bar. If you have had any contact or communication with the owners (that is, the reservations manager and/or the reception manager) we are sure that you would have realized that all of us are trying to kindly respond to our guests' requests at all times.
Regarding the incident with the barman, we discussed it with him and he reassured that that he always gives the menu to whoever sits at the bar but he has never obliged any customer to order from the bar. In fact, it is quite common that hotel guests use the bar facilities in order to have better access in the internet from their laptops, whithout having to order anything from the bar.

Again we regret for any missunderstanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We have just come back from a 4 day break here and we have to say it was amazing! The hotel is beautiful and immaculate, its in a great position for exploring and have to say make the best mojito's! Everyone was very friendly and very helpful. We will definitely be returning next year!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Diktynna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Diktynna

Address: Seferi 1, Koutouloufari, Hersonissos, Crete 70014, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Heraklion Prefecture > Hersonissos > Koutouloufari
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Koutouloufari
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Diktynna is a small apartment complex located at the east end of the village Koutouloufari, area of Hersonissos, 23 km east of the international airport of Heraklion. It consists of 22 fully furnished apartments (studios, maisonettes and one-bedroom apartments), which were renovated in 2011. Each apartment has a large veranda shaded with wonderful creeping plants overlooking either the sea and the picturesque port of Hersonissos, or the swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Villa Diktynna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Diktynna Koutouloufari, Crete

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Diktynna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.