We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed, poor location, loud, wouldn't recommend it.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Green Bay Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Green Bay Hotel to your Saves list
Green Bay Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Agias Effimias Samis, Sami 28100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sami
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Disappointed, poor location, loud, wouldn't recommend it.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2010

When we arrived at The Green Bay we were very disappointed. Thomas Cook told me it was in Sami, and we wanted to stay in a town but Green Bay was in-between towns.
The walk in the summer heat to get to anywhere was unpleasant - no pathways on the roads. There wasn't much of a supermarket to get food for breakfast.
The room was only cleaned twice a week - and air conditioning wasn't great, I would expect clean sheets everyday in a hot country during the summer. The shower was an experience - you had to hold it over yourself and sometimes the hot water would go!

The walls are very thin - we were unfortunately put next to very loud teenagers who stayed up very late (4am), and making a lot of noise when they came back (glass smashing down the stairs, arguing, being sick etc.) Not what you want on a holiday as a couple trying to relax!!

We didn't use the pool area, it didn't look very clean to me......the patio around the pool and the chairs need a lot more TLC. We found a pool bar next to a campsite in Sami and paid 2euros each a day to swim and sunbathe there instead.

We eventually got a car and travelled round the island a bit more, which was beautiful and Myrtos beach was amazing!! - best part of the holiday!!

I would recommend staying at the 'Sami Beach Hotel', 'Emerald Resort' and 'Athina hotel' looked very nice and in a good location. We also enjoyed going to Aghia Efimia - very pretty and good cafes (when we got our car we stopped there for breakfast before heading to Mytros bay).

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    13
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

My wife, daughter (in her twenties) and myself stayed at the hotel while visiting family in nearby Karovomylos, a small village on the outskirts of Sami.

My wife and I are seasoned travellers in Greece and have visited Kefallonia before - both in and out of season.

The accomodation is modern and maturing gardens surround the property. The apartments, swimming pool, bar/lounge and breakfast room all look out over the Ionian Sea towards the nearby island of Ithika. The views are stunning, especially early in the morning with the small fishing boats going about their work.

The apartments are built into a hillside which means that each sea facing room has the same fantastic views although the trade off is a steep climb up from reception.

There is a road running infront of the hotel that connects Karovomylos with Agia Efimia. However there is virtually no road noise that we noticed although, to be fair, we were at the end of the season. Having said that Karovomylos and Agia Efimia probably only run to a few hundred inhabitants each. M25 it is not!

We opted for breakfast at the hotel. This was of the 'continental' variety and included mountains of fresh creamy Greek yoghurt, honey, bread (with a toaster), choice of cereals, jams, peaches (tinned), ham, cheese, hard boiled eggs and frankfurters that were sometimes hot and sometimes cold! This is provided on an 'all you can eat' basis and was more than adequate. If you prefer the traditional 'English' breakfast you have a choice - stay at home or travel into Sami where the is a fair choice of eating places - more anon.

Whilst on the subject of breakfast - the breakfast room and balcony have the most fantasic views - a really great start to the travellers' day.

The rooms provided are spacious and incredibly clean. They were serviced daily - always a boon in the land of the dreaded toilet bucket and contents! It is unfortunate that between modern Greece and the ancient variety a lot of plumbing skills were lost.

The rooms are 'self catering ready' and have adequate facilities to produce a small meal. Don't expect a kettle - it doesn't happen in Greece!

My wife and I shared an apartment that could sleep three with bedroom, seperate living/dining area and bathroom. My daughter had a single room with kitchen area and bathroom and could have easily catered for two.

The only reason the rooms didn't get full marks from me was the shower. One expects a bathless bathroom in Greece and the need to use three hands in the shower - one for the shower head as there is never a holder - but the water rarely reached above tepid although there was hot water from the taps - strange!

There were always staff on hand in the hotel. I see one reviewer decried the fact that the staff spoke little English - well, you are in Greece, get over it! To be serious an English speaker was always available by 'phone if required when a member of staff had difficulties with understanding the guests.

The hotel has an unheated sea water swimming pool - seems to come as standard in the islands - and this has terrific views (see photo).

It would be an advantage to have a hire car in this part of the island. Sami is within walking distance along a very pleasant beach but Agia Efimia is only reached along a road with no pavements - very dodgy even in the daytime. The buses had also been on strike for two weeks when we arrived! Argostoli (the capital) is about 30 minutes away, as is Fiskardo.

Sami is a small ferry port but has extensive connections to the mainland, other islands and Italy. There are a handful of shops and banks. Along the harbourside there are about a dozen restaurants most of which advertise fresh fish and local dishes. We would recommend Restaurant Dolphins which not only served excellent food and wine but also often provides authentic Greek live music from time to time. On our final night we had a family group of six and a baby who got through 3 litres of red wine, various soft drinks and bewildering variety of local dishes for 70 euro. Absolutely amazing value.

Top tip when dining with friends - just order a couple of starters each to create your own meze - and share and drink and talk and drink ......... The house red wine cost just 7 euro a litre and was VERY drinkable!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2010

The Green bay hotel is confusing, is it a hotel , bungalows or appartments? The veiw is spectacular but it didnt live up to its promises over all. To be fair it was clean, although the sheets are only changed once a week and the bins emptied once a week, not pleasent with the toilet paper situation in Greece!! The staff are also pleasent and try to help but it didnt have a poolside bar or cafeteria, there where no snacks available at lunch time, the breakfast costs extra (to be expected) and the gardens are far from beautiful and the reception area was shabby, infact we felt it could all use some tlc. The poolside area was clean but the steps to the pool were rusty and the paint edging the pool peeling away. There were no sun umbrellas either. There werent any kettles in the rooms and the utensils were very basic to say the least. Karavomilos, 10 mins walk away, was a residential area it has 3 tavernas, 1 waterside and pleasent. 1 small mini market that didnt stock fruit or salad, for that you have to go to Sami, and 1 bakery. This place didnt have a holiday feel about it unlike Sami which is a managable half hour stroll away. As Green Bay is on the main coastal road there is traffic noise and the walk can be dicey as the traffic can whizz along the road. The bus comes at 7.30 in the morning and again at 5.30 in the afternoon so without a car you will have to reley on Taxis or stay around the pool area the small pebbly beach has no beds or umbrellas so uncomfortable to stay for long periods. Green bay is in a lovely area and the veiwa are lovley, make the most of them from the balcony but there is alot that could be done to make this place more user friendly, its nice but could br better!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

We spent a week at the Green Bay leaving 28th August 2010. We were a large family party of eight- ages 3 to late 50's. Stunned when we arrived by the beautiful views. Whilst they could be a problem for the elderly, we all coped with the steps which come as part of the setting of the apartments. Cleanliness was excellent both in apartments and around the outside area and the pool, which we all enjoyed - the little one coped with armbands but needed supervision as shallow end was 4' deep. Self catering equipment was adequate but a kettle would be a good addition!! Short walks required to nearest villages/town but also we used local taxi service which was fine. Lovely bakery and mini market within walking distance as was a lovely waterside taverna. Very warm welcome from staff. Breakfast available in room overlooking lovely views. Would definitely stay again and would probably hire a car next time to explore more of this beautiful island.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

We've just returned from a trip where we stayed at the Green Bay apartments for one week. We were very impressed with the tidyness and cleaniness of the apartments. All the staff were very friendly. The pool had stunning views and was absolutely perfect. It was rare to see more than three people in the pool at a time which meant you had a very peaceful time. There isn't a good bus service and we found taxis to be fairly rare at times and expensive, so would definetly recommend hiring a car. The apartments doesn't have a bar as such so in order to socialise with other people it's best to walk into Sami which takes about half an hour or so. We would definitely visit this area again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at the Green Bay in Sami, Kefalonia, in August 2010 for two weeks. I was there with my husband and my two children aged 14 and 12. The rooms were clean though simple. The unpleasant surprise, however, was to arrive to find out that there were no real showers in the entire hotel! All there is in every room is a small enclosure in the already small bathroom, with no curtain or separation of any kind, and a small hand device that you are supposed to hold with one hand while showering. There wasn't much pressure and the mixing of hot and cold water didn't really work well (though it was so warm that a cool shower was not to be minded) but still the whole bathroom got flooded every time. I don't think these should be advertised as showers because they aren't. It is misleading. If you don't mind this sort of thing, even coming back from a day swimming in the sea, then you will like the hotel. But I definitely do, and I could never completely wash the salt off, especially from my hair. In addition, when sheets are changed after your arrival, twice weekly, the beds are not made. The sheets are left on the bed for you to prepare it. Garbage removal also only happens twice a week so if you cook or eat fruit in your bungalow, there will be a faint smell in the Greek summer heat. Pots and pants are minimal so not much cooking is possible. Staff has only a minimal command of English.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

We spent 2 weeks at the beginning of august at Green Bay Hotel. We had a fantastic time. The hotel itself is lovely. Very clean and functional if maybe a little minimal. Our room had a lovely balcony which showed beautiful views over the pool area and Ithaca. One major irrtation was the thinness of the walls. You could hear everything through them right down to your neighbours toileting habits!! Also on occasional nights there was a lot of noise from another set of guests who enjoyed late night drinking by the pool and continued on one occasion until half 4 in the morning. However the other guests were lovely and friendly and i am inclined to believe that this was a one off occurence. The pool area is in a perfect location which is kept looking beautiful surrounded by flowers and kept very clean and tidy.
The hotel would normally suit couples or small families with older children, if hiring a car, as it is quite remote.
The walk 1km to Karavomilos wasn't at all a problem for us. It's a small place but has a lovely bakery, a mini market and a very nice taverna by the lake where we spent a lot of our evenings. The staff there are very friendly and welcoming, the food was good and the setting is fantastic, right on the sea or by the lake.
The walk to Sami, again not a problem for us, is about 3km but follows a nice beachside path more or less all the way. Sami can get very busy especially at night and there are lots of tavernas and cafe bars lining the harbour. Alcohol varies in price, it's cheap enough for beer and wine however spirits can be very expensive. Food also can be expensive as can items such as toothpaste and sunscreen.
The beaches around this area are mostly large pebbly beaches, the nicest of these is Antisamos which is approx 4-5 km from Sami. It is a very popular beach and they have some water sports available. The famous Myrtos beach is also within easy driving distance.
Most people would benefit more by hiring a car to better explore the island, however neither myself or husband drive but we are very good walkers and we didn't feel like we missed out. The Melissani caves are within walking distance to the hotel and are a definite must see. The Drogarati caves also a must see are 5 km from the hotel, we walked and it didn't feel that far from Sami. We also did an excursion to Fiskardo with our holiday company which we really enjoyed.
We did a lot of walking whilst here and there are some very nice walking trails up through the woods to the acropolis of ancient Sami. It's a very nice walk and worth it however go on a cool day and take water with you. Information on walking trails can be picked up from the tourist information office in Sami.

Overall we had an amazing 2 weeks and it was everything we hoped it would be. We would definitely go back to Kefalonia didn't ever want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Green Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green Bay Hotel

Address: Agias Effimias Samis, Sami 28100, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Sami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Green Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Green Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Bay Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.