We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pericles Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sami
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pericles Hotel
Save
You added Pericles Hotel to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Samis Tzanaton, Sami 28080 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sami
Willenhall
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Heavenly!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Kefalonia, whats not to like? Our third visit to the island, and the first to Sami, which is so lovely, surrounded by mountains, the scenery is breathtaking, and the smells of herbs and flowers (gardenias and jasmine in abundance while we were there) is glorious.The Pericles is in quite a rural setting, so the sight of the shepherd bringing his flock from one field to another to graze is like going back in time and wonderful to watch, there are the sounds of the cockerels, the tinkling of goat and sheep bells, all so lovely , and you`re relaxing around the lovely pool, taking in these sights and sounds, bliss.
We had a late deal and so were not expecting too much, just wanted to go to Kefalonia! wW e were VERY pleasantly surprised on arrival at the Pericles. It is so lovely and clean, comfortable and friendly, a credit to all who work there. The evening of our arrival I asked for an extra pillow each, expecting them next day, but within 10 mins they were in our room.The breakfast is continental and you are given quite a wide choice, the yoghurt and honey delish! Would not hesitate to return , just give me theoppurtunity. For a relaxing holiday, with lovely tavernas I would highly recommend Sami and definatley the Pericles.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    118
    48
    26
    7
See reviews for
43
193
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

The hotel is clean, slightly better than your average Greek hotel and very well managed. The manager is a spitting image for Robert DeNiro and all staff are efficient and friendly. Don't expect an all night party there is a sign over the bar announcing that it shuts at 12.30. Also the air conditioning goes off around midnight so it does get hot in the small hours.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2010

What can I say about Kefalonia. It is a truly wonderful Island and this year was our fourth year and I can not wait to go back . Each time we have stayed at the Hotel Pericles and the Staff are just Brilliant
Especially Mr Stelios and the lovely Nina.
The hotel is Clean and Just Far away from the centre of Sami to be quite ( Watch Out for Bob The donkey and the cockerels interrupting you peace and quiet)
A car is a must so you can see the Island ( you must go to Asos, Fiscardo and Anti Samos Beach)
There are some really good places to eat, they include Sprios in Aghia Efimia ( who serve the best cheesecake ever), The Dolphin in Sami and The Moonlight Which in the mountains just outside of Sami
Sami is my second home and I can not wait to get back there.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newcastle, UK
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2010

Booked up with travel agent on a last minute deal. Didnt expect much but the hotel was fantastic! the room was spotlessly clean and was cleaned everyday by the maids. towels were changed frequently too. It is a no frills hotel and breakfast was reasonable, although the same fayre was on everyday. The balcony is bigger than most posh hotels and the swimming pool is adequately big as well. I did not like the beds though, it was thin and didnt get comfortable rest on some nights. Nina, the receptionist, is super-friendly and nice and will give tips on where to go for a nice daytrip. Headed to Fiskardo (North) and liked it very much, found a secluded beach with amazing seaview! Rent a car from Karavamilos Car hire, 30Euros/day or 25Euros/day if hired for >2days. Sami town is about 15-20 minutes stroll from the hotel and has good restaurants (Dolphin Taverna, and Mermaid; although they now serve everything with chips!) Enjoyable place to be in and a good place to use as a base to travel to the other towns/villages on the island.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willenhall
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2010

we stayed at the Pericles around 17 years ago. We always wanted to return but thought it would have changed after the Film was made in Sami. We found it was almost the same as the first time we stayed there and still had the same Manager/Owner. We loved our stay there and admit it is basic, but if you are staying in Greece you do not expect the Ritz. It was clean and nothing was too much trouble to the staff. We can't wait to return and experience once more the wonderful Greek friendliness and charm.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

A big family holiday with my parents (in their 70's) their 10th visit! My brother his wife and son (6) for the first time, and 3rd time at the Pericles for myself and husband and daughter (8 yrs old). We absolutely love it. This is a wonderful hotel, very clean and wonderful staff - Stalios the owner, Nina on reception, Van gelis at the pool bar - often presenting us with brandys (especailly if first in the pool!) and ice cream for the kids. Families will stay downstairs - a terrace and two bedrooms interconnected. No its not all carpets mini bars and fridges, but the rooms are great size and clean and have everything you need. You will not spend much time in your room if you want to truely experience Sami and all that kefalonia has to offer. Breakfast is breakfast - not a 3 course full english fry up but our kids love the greek "cornflakes" and plenty of wonderful bread. Also boiled eggs, greek yogurt, ham and cheese. The bar in the evening is the focal point of the hotel where everyone comes together after a day out on a scooter or by the pool. After 9pm ish when coming back from a wonderful meal in Sami - loads of great restaurants to choose from (we love the Mermaid) - the hotel always seems to attract wonderful people who enjoy sitting around the bar having a drink together. Our 2 children were the only kids there and were loved by one and all! My parents have stayed on for whole of May - I envy them....... So, to conclude - if you want to stay up till 4 in the morning, getting blind drunk at the bar, eat 1000 calorie breakfasts and need the comfort of carpets/fridge in your room - dont come here. If you want a relaxing holiday in the perfect location on a wonderful island with staff that will look after you, remember you, love your kids and toast you with a brandy in the evening then "Yammas" - this is for you!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for our 2 weeks holiday. We want to warn other holiday makers before the go there. The staff have no manners, you are not allowed in the loby or bar area after 12:30pm, no access to a frige, family. Family rooms are down stairs which you have to go down 14 marble stairs with a sign stateing slippery when wet, really not on when you are taking a 15 month old baby in a pram and an eight year old child. the tennis court just a mess. There is no food allowed in the eating area at all if from anywhere else. We stayed in one night because our son was so ill and was made to eat in our room where we had mice, which Thomas cook how we booked our holiday with seemed to think it was ok.

Please please please rethink about this hotel, it really is very bad

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pericles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pericles Hotel

Address: Samis Tzanaton, Sami 28080 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sami
Hotel Class:3 star — Pericles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
Pericles Hotel Sami
Hotel Pericles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pericles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.