We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best hotel in Sami” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pericles Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Pericles Hotel to your Saves list
Pericles Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Samis Tzanaton, Sami 28080 , Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sami
Stoke-on-Trent, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The best hotel in Sami”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Just spent 2 weeks at the Pericles again for the 4th time. Stelios greeted us very warmly and had met all our requests by email for a certain room and extra pillows. All the staff are lovely here, Nina on reception, the girl who is very efficient at breakfast and also Vangelis and the lady at the pool bar who was a compulsive cleaner! The rooms were very clean and linen, bedding etc was spotless and changed every 3 days. Just the place for a very chilled out holiday, the village of Sami is only a steady 15 min walk away. There are several very good restaurants to choose from down there and you can watch the sun setting and look out to sea whilst you are eating your evening meal. We will be back again either in September or May next year for another visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    116
    48
    25
    7
See reviews for
42
190
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Just returned from The Pericles and the stunning island of Kefalonia. Total relaxation! The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful. I enjoyed practising my limited Greek with Stelios, the Manager!! Nina (reception) was a gem, as was Pericles behind the bar. Rooms were lovely and clean - we had a 1st floor room with views of the mountains to the sides and the sea to the front. We requested a double bed, and got it - Efharisto - and it was wonderfully comfortable. The pool was delightful, peaceful and relaxing, and quite magical when the swallows swooped down to take a drink!! Walking down to Sami (10 mins or so) was a leisurely stroll - do take the back route (turn right outside the entrance and right again), as the main road to town can get busy! Breakfast was good....my only suggestion would be to provide some fruit occasionally (although having bought some at one of the supermarkets, it was rather expensive). There are plenty of restaurants to choose from in town - all v good! Wish we were still there! We hope to return next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalkeith
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

This was our third time to this hotel and we were welcomed with open arms. The hotel is set at the foot of the mountains just a short walk from the sea, and the staff are friendly and helpful. Sami is a working port but still beautiful. The walk from the hotel to the seafront is delightful with the locals shouting out a greeting as they work in their allotments. We were even given apricots fresh from the tree from one of the local ladies. The Pericles hotel is quiet,calm and friendly. just the place to re-charge the batteries after a hectic few months at home. We will definitely be going back next year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Start by remembering that Hotels in Greece are generally basic compared with many other places - in other words, keep your expectations in check. By Greek standards, this is a very nice hotel. Clean and comfortable. Our room had working air con and a comfortable bed. The bathroom was adequate - again clean but basic. Not plush.

The communal areas were also clean and pleasant. The pool was large and clean. Perhaps, surprisingly (given 40 degree C air temperatures) a bit chilly. But then I hate cold water - bit of a wuss really! The pool side area was tidy and uncrowded.

The only think that really was a bit naff was the breakfast which was basic and bland. Anything appetizing was only availbale at a price. Still, what was available was at least wholesome so not a major complaint.

Staff pleasant and helpful.

All in all, good value and would happily go again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I often wonder what the knockers of this hotel expect,we stayed last September 2012 and found the staff delightful.I see negative responses about Stelios,ok so he hasn't got a full understanding of the English language,but how many of the moaners can speak greek fluently? Exactly!. We found him to be a very nice man & even has a sense of humour,I think he reacts to how people treat him,so all moaners i suggest you look at your own behaviour first.
Anyway enough of that,the Hotel is basic but perfectly clean,bright & comfortable,the breakfast is limited but what is on offer is of a good standard,you have a nice relaxed friendly stay,no drunken yobs propping up the bar etc (go to Benidorm for that) All in all slightly basic but Fantastic holiday,in fact we're returning in May,can't wait. Sami is perfect too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We have been going to the Pericles for 13 years now It never changes but thats a good thing what more could you want it has everything you need yes the rooms are basic but they clean and the staff friendly. We have stayed in so called better places but this is by fay the most relaxing of all.
Going again in June again lol

Room Tip: Get to know Stelios hes realy a nice man LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed at the Pericles in July 2012 for a week and had a fantastic time.

When we arrived in Kefalonia we were very surprised at how tiny the airport was, however, it was very efficent and we recieved our luggage quickly.

When we got to the hotel the staff were very helpful and welcoming, especially Nina on reception. We were also very satisifed with our room, which was very clean and had a lovely view of the pool and the surrounding mountains. Kefalonia has some stunning views.

Throughout our holiday we spent sufficent time by the poolside, which was very relaxing. The pool area is very peaceful and has plenty of sunloungers available so there is no need to rush out every morning. The pool bar was also very useful, food and drinks were reasonably priced and the staff were again very friendly and helpful. The two pools are reasonably sized and again do not get overcrowded so theres plenty of opportunity to go for a swim without it being too stressful.
The Pericles offer a continental breakfast which consists of, bread,jam, cheese, ham, boiled eggs, greek yoghurt etc. The breakfast was delicious and very satisfying, which meant that we only needed a snack for dinner, which we usually got from the poolside bar.

Whilst on our holiday we also went on a day trip, which was organsied by our Thomas Cook rep. We visited the Melissani lakes, Dragrati caves, Argostoli and many other places. The trip cost around forty to fifty euros and was well worth the money, I would definitely recommend it. If we visited the Pericles again I would definitely plan to go on more trips as there is a wide range to choose from.
Most nights we walked down to Sami town centre, which took around ten minutes. There is plenty of Tavernas and bars situated along the harbour, which provides beautiful scenery. We ate out every night and the food was excellent and very reasonably priced, with a choice of greek and english dishes. I would definitely recommend the mermaid and dolphin tavernas. Sami town centre also has a range of small tourist shops and supermarkets so anything you may need is easily accessible at a reasonable price.
Overall, our holiday was very enjoyable and I would definitely recommend the Pericles. The staff are all very friendly, the accomodation is clean and the food is excellent. The hotel is also close to Sami , as well as a range of trips being available ,meaning that there is plenty of opportunity to get out and about to explore the island more. The island is beautiful and we throughly enjoyed our time there and definitely plan to return in the near future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the middel floor facing the pool offer stunning views of the surrounding mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pericles Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pericles Hotel

Address: Samis Tzanaton, Sami 28080 , Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Sami
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Sami
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pericles Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelsClick and Otel so you can book your Pericles Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pericles Hotel Sami
Hotel Pericles

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pericles Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.