We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place to stay in Mwanza” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort to your Saves list
Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   P.O. Box 541, Ilemela, Mwanza, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Mwanza B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Vancouver Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay in Mwanza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Malaika for 5 days when we were in Mwanza to attend a Canadian/Tanzanian wedding. Highlights for our stay were: the large, comfortable air conditioned rooms with lovely private deck; the large shower and bathtub; the very pleasant and helpful staff at reception, housekeeping, bar and restaurant; the spa (wonderful massage); the infinity pool; and the well maintained gardens and water features. Breakfasts were good, but the one evening meal we had there was so-so. We would stay at this property again if we visit Mwanza in the future

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMBR, General Manager at Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your valuable feedback about us with the Tripadvisor community.

We are delighted to learn that you had enjoyed your stay thoroughly and our services were up to your satisfaction.

However, we wish to inform you that we are further trying to improve on our food and service standards.

We also hope that you have many more occasions to visit us in the not too distant future.

Warm Regards

Santosh Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    22
    7
    7
    2
See reviews for
21
9
4
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

It is simply the best hotel in mwanza and after our long safari 45 of us had an outstanding evening with 2 day stay there.
They do try their best to please, rooms are spacious and fairly reasonable rates.
The owner Mr. Mehta is easily accessible and accommodating,

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMBR, General Manager at Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sparing your valuable time to review Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort, on TripAdvisor.

The team is delighted to receive your encouraging feedback and to note that your family and you had a memorable stay at our hotel.

Your generous words of praise have been shared with the team for whom it will be truly inspiring.

The team and I, look forward to welcoming your family and you to your home in Mwanza in the near future

Warm Regards,

Santosh Kumar
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I cant speak for the food or the service because I was overwhelmed by everything else about the place. So much so my stay there was a blur, though at some point I remember my comfort being inquired about by a manager or two and the Director Mr. Majesh, I believe, going out of his way to extend a courtesy well beyond service. The spacious lounge and the terrace restaurant is something to die for and the rooms are something you have to see for yourself to believe. I really hope I get another chance to have that experience again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMBR, General Manager at Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your valued comments. We have moved on to make the resort a real happening place at Mwanza. Do give us a look again. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiabakari
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My few initial encounters with Malaika Beach Resort were of a mixed nature. Fantastic location, great view of the lake, nice thoughtful setting of the hotel, nice taken care of green grounds, nice swimming pool overlooking the lake. But the food on all my four or five occasions was not up to the quality of the place. Actually, on the very first time it was horrible, cold and got stomach problems later on. On other occasions it was better but still not the quality food you would expect from a place like this. I am not sure if I am willing to visit this place again, maybe if one of my friends will invite for a lunch o dinner and will be willing to cover the bill.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMBR, General Manager at Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
We will offer you a great meal, with compliments of the house. Yes mainly to say we have got all these points ironed out. The resort is really a great place to be in now.Thank you.
Victor C Soares.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

An excellent hotel with a great location right on the shores of Lake Victoria. Sitting on the restaurant terrace overlooking the lake eating a beautifully cooked curry made our stay. The staff are friendly, accommodating, and went to great lengths to retrieve and forward-on some items that I forgot to pack and left in my room - a rarity, so keep it up! Looking forward to my next opportunity to visit and stay in Mwanza...

Room Tip: A lake view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMBR, General Manager at Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Thank you for your valued comments. We do hope to see you again. The experience will be even better.....Barbeque on the beach....Breakfast by the lake.....Hmmmm Much more.
Victor C Soares.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The name says it all - Malaika = Angel!

This fabulous address in Mwanza is set amidst the rocky terrain on one side and the beautiful Lake Victoria on the other with the hotel perched on huge rocky outcrops overlooking the magnificent lake.

The food and the view from the restaurant is just stunning with huge glass walls separating you from the picturesque view of the lake outside.

Rooms are spacious having all the modern ammenities in them.

I had thoroughly enjoyed my time there and will surely be going there again!

Thank you to the team!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMBR, General Manager at Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Oh! Yes you said it right. Thank you. We have now taken the resort a few notches up...up.... Do try to visit us again.
Victor C Soares .
General Manager...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

One of the most amazing things is the construction of a restaurant and bar using the natural set up of the rock without destroying it, An excellent design.At inght there is a spectacular view of fishing boats on the lake. There was a joke that the lights used by the fishermen can be mistaken for the runway of the Mwanza airport which is nearby. A truly magnificent place to visit in Mwanza

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROMBR, General Manager at Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
You hit the nail on the head. I too thought the same,when i first came to Mwanza. Well the resort has grown into a real paradise. Thank you & do visit us again.
Victor C Soares.
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort

Address: P.O. Box 541, Ilemela, Mwanza, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Mwanza Region > Mwanza
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Mwanza
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A breathe taking resort on the Lake Victoria itself. Amazingly well manicured landscape with superb view of sunrise & sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Orchid Malaika Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.