We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, safe, secure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mid-Africa Hotel

Mid-Africa Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kitale
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mid-Africa Hotel
Save
You added Mid-Africa Hotel to your Saves list
PO Box 3339- 30200, Kitale, Kenya   |  
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kitale
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Simple, safe, secure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Returned to Kitale and enjoyed another stay at the Mid Africa Hotel.
This is a clean, and comfortable place. Simple, but quite adequate. Room in good order, single outlet but working. Hot water. Nice restaurant. Colleagues staying a block away suffered a theft of goods left in room. Mid Africa security much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
1
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Invercargill, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Kitale has grown a lot since I last saw it in 1975! Still wonderful avenues of Nandi flame trees. Miles of market stalls. The hotel cost about usd40 for a 'deluxe suite'.. no probs re cleanliness, water and power OK - you looked out of the window at rusty iron roofs and thought 'This is Africa'. Rooftop restaurant allowed sunset views through an iron grille. Watchmen look after yr vehicle overnight, as you are in a busy main street.
Western Kenya deserves more visitors.. it's lush, scenic, great climate, lots of history.. and there's the magic Mount Elgon.

Room Tip: 'Deluxe' is pretty ordinary, but so is the price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

Looking for a good, varied menu in remote Kitale? Look no further. Good selection of local and international meals at very reasonable prices. Service good too (by local standards!) Decor and ambience are of lesser importance than the company and the food but could do with a bit more application of design coordination.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

A good place to stay with clean comfortable rooms. Everything in good working order.
Good, basic restaurant.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinshasa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2009

I was robbed at this hotel, so watch out! They are the only place in Kitale withsecurity cameras and it is a nice hotel (having stayed there twice before). However, we found out later that room keys open multiple doors and the man in 309 opened my door in 308 and stole my laptop and money. BEWARE! The owner had no intention of changing the locks and blamed the theft on me, that I didn't "register my valuables at the reception" What a scam! Probably an inside job!!

Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

After trying to find a clean and presentable hotel to stay in Kitale (reference to recommendations in a well-known guidebook proved most unreliable) we chanced upon this little gem. I had lowered my expectations after leaving the major tourist/safari areas but was not about to compromise on basic cleanliness & tidyness. The Mid Africa didn't look so great from the outside but we checked it out anyway.

I got a double room with balcony overlooking the front of the hotel, beyond the shops across the street was agricultural land with views of Mount Elgon. The room appeared to have been redecorated not so long ago and was clean. The furniture was quite basic, a small table and chair, built-in wardrobe, but there was a television, though I didn't investigate choice of channels. A small bottle of water was provided daily. The bathroom didn't have a bath but was a wetroom with hot water on demand by way of a switch on the wall in the bedroom. Being at the front of the hotel it was very noisy early in the morning so no lay-ins during this stay!

We ate in the hotel for our first lunch (wonderful tilapia fish and chips) and the chef, Ben, even promised to prepare pizza for us the following evening, though this was not on the menu. Ben couldn't have been more helpful and lunch and dinner were really very good. However, breakfast was quite a let-down. There were only 2 choices of fruit, one fruit juice, one cereal. There were a couple of 'hot' items, maybe arrowroot, chapatis or maandazi, then you could choose 2 eggs (of choice) and either sausage or bacon. If anything ran out (like bread) they were very slow in bringing more.

The bar was quite a busy little place for locals in the evenings. It was very comfortable and had a wide selection of drinks. You could take your meals here or in the restaurant.

What made this place were the staff. Everyone was so friendly (apart from the restaurant staff in the morning but I tend not to be so lively myself at that time of day) and they couldn't do enough for you, even things beyond the call of duty. I was made to feel so welcome by everyone.

I intend to revisit Kitale again at the beginning of 2010 and spend a little more time exploring the area, safe in the knowledge that there is a friendly and welcoming place to return to.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2008

This is a fantastic little place in this little agricultural town. Its cheap and cheerful and I have to admit that I was a bit dismayed when I first walked through the door. The rooms are based around a central Atrium and the room I had on the first night was a double with no outside window, with the only window leading onto the Atrium corridor - it was so noisy! There was also an open window above the door which afforded anyone stood on the third floor landing an unimpeded view into my room! However, the following night I moved into a deluxe room with it's own balcony to the front of the hotel. It was much better (but the bathroom was still very 'interesting'!) and the noise much more bearable. Where this hotel comes into its own though is the staff. They were such nice, friendly, helpful and good humored people! Although I only stayed at the hotel for three nights I was in the town for over a week and ate at the hotel every night. The food is pretty basic stuff, but very tasty and very good value for money. After my initial misgivings about the place, I completely fell in love with it and would recommend it to anyone!

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mid-Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid-Africa Hotel

Address: PO Box 3339- 30200, Kitale, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Rift Valley Province > Kitale
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Kitale
Also Known As:
Mid-Africa Hotel Kitale, Kenya

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mid-Africa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.