We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visited twice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain Ken's Diner-Billiards

Captain Ken's Diner-Billiards
70 Main St, Penetanguishene, Ontario L9M 1T4, Canada
(705) 549-8691
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $0 - $15
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
hampshire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Visited twice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

food and service excellent and very good value for money lots of different beers to choose from, lovely friendly staff, you won,t be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    6
    7
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent service, will be returning!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Pretty place with lots of atmosphere. Service was impeccable! Had our dog in the car and our very friendly waitress told us we could tie him out back. Then the chef came to our table with cold water and two pieces of bacon for our pooch! It felt like we were visiting family and it was our first time there! The food was great - we had the pickerel, seaFood chowder and a hoagie! We will definitely be returning - thank you to the staff at captain kens, our visit was very pleasurable.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
2 reviews
“Don't waste your money”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Food is disappointing, prices are too high, staff is loud and abrasive. Cook was unsanitary and verbally disgusting in conversations. Wouldn't recommend to anyone, Discourage people anytime the place is mentioned. Washrooms were filthy, and take a look behind the counters, not so clean. Surprised this place stays open.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
2 reviews
“Horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The prices are high, the portions are small. The staff behind the counter cooking are unproffessional and unsanitary in their work habits. It appeared clean at first but once you sit down and start looking around, not so clean and pretty gross. The washrooms were disgusting. Brown lettuce on my burger; guess they figured I wouldn't see it. Big white end chunks of lettuce in the salad, felt ripped off. Conversations between staff was diplorable and inconsiderate of patrons. A few sexist remarks were overheard being made by the owner. Will not be back; I warn all those I can not to waste your time or your money, they are both too valuable to be wasted here!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We ate here after searching trip advisor.... Well we were not disappointed!!! We are restaurant owners ourselves and were impressed with the food, service and cleanliness of tis place!! We are staying in tiny for the week and we will be back!!! Great food at reasonable prices!!! Great job Ken!!! By the way there are no billiards here just strictly restaurant and bar

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Ken's Diner-Billiards also viewed

Penetanguishene, Ontario
Penetanguishene, Ontario
 
Penetanguishene, Ontario
 

Been to Captain Ken's Diner-Billiards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain Ken's Diner-Billiards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.