We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great campground” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Awenda Provincial Park

Awenda Provincial Park
Box 5004, Penetanguishene, Ontario L9M 2G2, Canada
705-549-2231
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
Mooretown, Ontario
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great campground”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have been there twice in 2011 and 2012 and stayed a week both times in Wolf Campground. The sites range in size and privacy as in any park. The beaches although at quite a distance from the sites are quite nice and vary in style. All have nice sand but the busier one is very rocky in the water. Most kids like them for climbing and playing on. The other beaches at even more of distance are more sandy as you dip your feet.

There a lot of bike trails throughout but the parks lacks a vistor centre. They do have lots of programs including a soapstone carving class that is very popular.

Firewood can be purchased just outside the park ont he first main road at a better price and quality that the ON Parks wood.

Awenda is about 20 minutes from Penetanguishine which has most ameneties. We visited Discovery Cove there in '11 which is based on a colonial harbour and is worth seeing. Add another 10 for the city of Midland which has even more tourist attactions (Martyr Shrine, Ste Marie Amongst the Hurons, etc). Collingwood is about 1.25 hours away as well.

Overall a great park to stay at with many options within it and its surroundings.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    29
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Gorgeous Georgian Bay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We’ve only been to Awenda once, and enjoyed our stay. The campground we were in had large sites that were very well spaced apart. The trees were tall and didn’t provide much screening, so we were grateful to have such distance from our neighbours. We didn’t get a chance to do much hiking, but the trail we did go on was lovely. The beaches are quite a hike from the campgrounds. We parked in the beach parking area and then walked down to beach #4. Beach #1 and #2 were quite rocky, and the waves were rough the day we visited. We walked to beach #3, which looked nice but was busy, so we continued walking to beach #4. This beach also looked very nice, but again the water was rough, so we returned to beach #3. It is sheltered somewhat and the water was warm and the wave action just right for children. It took us about 20-25 minutes to walk to the farthest beach (beach #4) with a 4 yr old, so be prepared.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Long walk to beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

This park is beautiful but the the walk to the beach is about 20 minutes to the nicest beach. there are 4 beaches there but mostly rocky.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
68 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Many visits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Have been many times, and will return. It is a Provincial Park, what can one say, rocks, trees, water. It is not huge as some parks go (Algonquin) for example, but it is close to where you might be located. It is not packed most of the time, so you can enjoy your space. It has a special area for dogs, and even a dog beach. Also has cross country skiing in winter.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penetanguishene, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“awesome camping!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We live in the surrounding area, but enjoy coming here yearly for a weekend of kid-free camping, as well as daily trips to enjoy beautiful Georgian Bay and the trails!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awenda Provincial Park also viewed

 
Penetanguishene, Ontario
Killarney, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Awenda Provincial Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Awenda Provincial Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.