We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amor Farm Beach Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sorsogon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Amor Farm Beach Resort
Dangcalan | Donsol, Sorsogon, Luzon, Philippines   |  
Hotel amenities
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We stayed here for 3 night and for the most part were very happy. It's near the tourist center were you sign up for the whale shark which is great.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The first room we were put in didn't have a toilet seat, and when we asked for one they thought it was strange. But they still moved us to a room with one which we were very happy with.

Some rooms also don't have hot water so if you want a toilet, hot water, or air con make sure to say before.

Other then that the restaurant was one of the better places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    16
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
13
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Really nice place that's been done very well, scupltured gardens, covered area's to chill in looking out to sea, thatched cottages with little terraces and green vegetation on the floor instread of browny/black volcanic dirt as in other places.

The food here is pretty good, there's a wide selection and it's half the price of other places around. The restaurant is a lovely place.

All of the staff are really nice. They'll organize the firefly trip (don't miss it!) for you. You go on their boat and pick up the guide at the bridge. Saves you getting a trike to the bridge and is a nice trip along the coastline in the boat.

The Visitor Centre for the Whale Shark trip is 5 minutes along the beach. If anyone tells you the trips leave at 7am 10 am and 1pm that's nonsense, boats leave when they're full up, just the same as minivans! Boats take 6 people, so if you're not 6 people just go to the visitor centre and wait till more people come along, you won't be waiting long.

This was the 2nd place we stayed in Donsol and was more than twice as good as the other place, yet at the same price! We would definately go back, in fact didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Traveled to Donsol for whale shark interaction. Chose to stay in Amor farm beach. The hotel is a walking distance to the Tourist center for whale shark interaction.
Clean room and bathroom. As this is a home run resort. Do not expect 5 star hotel quality. The bed is foam made and my partner couldn't sleep well and woke up with back ache.
Our room is facing the sea but still a distance to the beach. I could consider it as garden room.
Room price doesn't come with breakfast. Which is a bit of disappointment compare to the price we paid.
The food in the restaurant is average. We prefer Miraya's food. Miraya is accross the church on the way to the tourist center. the food here is way much better and bigger portion and the price is compatible with the restaurant around the area.
Overall, this is just a basic sleepover place if you want to have whale shark interaction experience in Donsol.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
apollo bay
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

What a great place to stay. Amir was the consumate host, full of great traveling tips and ready to assist us with our trips and transport. The entire staff was so friendly, and the food at the restaurant was great. Lovely gardens, walking distance from the whale shark reserve, easy walk into town. It was one of the highlights of our trip to the Philippines. If you are going to see the whale sharks, Amor Farm Beach Resort is the place to stay. (and the owner makes awesome margaritas!)

Waz and Stu, Australia

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

From the moment I called to inquire regarding their rates in late February up to the time that we left the resort, I had nothing but the best service from every member of the staff of Amor Beach Farm Resort!

We booked one night at the resort, big mistake as we should have stayed with them longer! The resort is not far from Donsol Tourism office (where you would book for Whaleshark Interaction and Firefly Watching). If you enjoy a 5-7mins walk along the beach or along the road, then this place shouldn't be a problem for you. Otherwise, you can always take the tricycle, which they have in abundance, who when asked how much the fare is would say "it's up to you". We usually gave them Php20 for the ride from the tourism office to the resort.

As we arrived at the resort, we checked in - service was really fast, I just told them my name and they knew right away to which room they would send us to.

Our room was very basic, what you would usually expect from a no-frills resort - a queen sized bed, toilet, shower with hot water, air conditioner, fan and a clothesline to hang your wet clothes on. The room even has a small terrace/balcony area where you can sit and relax the cool breeze. Despite the warm summer weather outside, the room was very cool even without the AC on. We could have slept with just the fan on!

Upon getting to our room, we realised that our AC wasn't working, somebody came in and promptly fixed the problem.

Every member of their staff was very nice and very efficient. We had arrived back in the resort at 9PM after a disappointing time in BARacuda. We asked their restaurant if they could still serve dinner, although we knew the kitchen was already closed - but they opened the kitchen for us so we could have dinner! Very nice people! We even got to speak to Amer, who was one of the owners of the resort, and he gave us tips on our whaleshark interaction the following day.

In the morning, we had our whaleshark interaction and it lasted the whole morning. Upon arrival back at the resort, we took a quick shower, checked out and ate breakfast (even if they weren't supposed to serve breakfast anymore!). One of the staff, Emil, even remembered that it was my boyfriend's birthday and greeted him while we were eating our brunch!


I highly recommend Amor Farm Beach Resort! I would like to commend the whole team for such well upkeep and qualtiy of the resort. Special mention to Amer, Agnes, Emil and Lyn for being very gracious and helpful during our stay.

Room Tip: The rooms are generally cool, so I don't think it would matter if you just get a fan room. We we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Stayed in Native house accomodation. Absolutely the nicest place that i have stayed in Philippines And in Donsol. Clean, well organised and affordable family runned business.
Great place if you want to see Butangding. Good food and very hard working friendly staff. +++ all good to say about this place.

Room Tip: Take native house room if you like low budget. good value includes FAN.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed four nights at this resort. The rooms are basic with aircon, fan, shower and a bed. But this is really all you need for a short stay. 5-10 minute walk to the whale shark interaction centre. The restaurant was cheap and had good food (cocktails are a really good price). The staff are really helpful. The lady at the front desk (owner) is very helpful, friendly and professional. If we had a question she could answer it. Internet is only available on a laptop up at reception but I think this is pretty common for Donsol.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amor Farm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amor Farm Beach Resort

Address: Dangcalan | Donsol, Sorsogon, Luzon, Philippines
Location: Philippines > Luzon > Bicol Region > Sorsogon Province > Sorsogon
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Sorsogon
Also Known As:
Amor Farm Beach Hotel Sorsogon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amor Farm Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Amor Farm Beach Resort to your Saves list