We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of a great holiday in Kerala” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kerala Backwaters

Kerala Backwaters
Kumarakom 688006, India
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$176*
and up
Private Tour: Kerala Backwater Cruise
Ranked #1 of 5 Attractions in Kumarakom
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Outdoors
Attraction details
Worcestershire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of a great holiday in Kerala”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We boarded our houseboat just outside Alleppy, which was a bit less chaotic than the main boarding area. My husband and I had the houseboat to ourselves, with a simple, air conditioned bedroom and shower room. The journey through the backwaters was lovely, especially the canoe ride around the smaller waters. Very relaxing.
Our chef cooked and served us lunch and dinner, which was fantastic, the local grilled fish for lunch was exceptional.
Once we moored up for the night, we enjoyed viewing the local birds, wildlife, and wonderful sunset.
Our boat was called Chaliyar, booked by our tour company Mercury Direct.
The whole experience was really enjoyable. We didn't want to leave the next morning. We would recommend this trip as a highlight of a Keralan holiday.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    798
    333
    95
    42
    35
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Top Contributor
751 reviews 751 reviews
180 attraction reviews
Reviews in 134 cities Reviews in 134 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
“Beautiful waterways”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over on a houseboat. The houseboat itself was old and worn. The bathrooms were disgusting. The experience was wonderful though. Make sure you do canoe tour through the small canals. It lets you get up close and personal.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Romantic Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good Way to cool or the work and life related worries. The houseboats all around you just keeps cruising along the waters. It is such a pleasing experience we had in the houseboat. We had taken JCT houseboat. The houseboat could have been little more renewed however enjoyed the stay.
If you are going for honeymoon, please spend some more days here. Not a good place to go in the month of May-Oct.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
52 attraction reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Nice boattrip but.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Nice boat trip but very crowded, hundreds of other boats at the same time, make if a bit to touristic. One time is enough.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“amazing views!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

The most romantic journey we had! Enjoyed the sunset on the boat with Thumbs Up in our hands...unforgettable!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kerala Backwaters also viewed

 
Alappuzha, Kerala
 

Been to Kerala Backwaters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kerala Backwaters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.