We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVELY HOMELY HOMESTAY!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom to your Saves list
Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Near Nazareth Church | Kumarakom P.O, Kottayam, Kerala, Kumarakom 686563, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 14 Kumarakom B&B and Inns
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“LOVELY HOMELY HOMESTAY!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Dear All,

I been to Kumarakom for my anniversary trip in the frst week of July. I had booked this place 3 months in advance and was really impressed by the booking response - email cycle.! It was very prompt and crystal clear!. Mr. Ullas son of Mr. Babu , residing in Kuwait takes care of all online bookings personally and promptly.

I used to get quick replies to my emails say about 2 am in the night !;)...

This is place is really beautiful and a perfect Homestay!... Uncle & Aunty and 'Lalchan' are such lovely people who gave us a warm welcome and yummmy food!

Food was truly awesome with lovely fish fry , fish curry and kerala taste!

Rooms are good , not too large but somehow the orientation and planning of room access is nice. Bath rooms are good and clean .. just that plumbing part needs some care!...We stayed in a room which had access to the kitchen - dining area thru the back door and front canal- garden facing!!..

We also met this auto guy who knew Uncle ; hence he helped us travel instantly to various places just by a call' ... we would call him and he would appear in 10 mins... Mr. james (98467 41984) really a nice guy!.. last day he dropped us to kumarakom station 15km away..

Overall coconut creek is a lovely family and child friendly place!>.. amazing food,,, good service...

The staying rooms are disconnected from the house and accessible just thru a passage and a doorbell !!.... hence u will not feel ur staying in somebody’s place!.. the other half of the area is just meant your self .....The homestay has 3 rooms ,, hence time your dinner times according to your expected hunger time ... Mr. lalchan would help you and is very punctual with your meal timings!..;).. ..!!...

it’s an ideal location for families ,, especially when you have small children for whom you will like to have access to a kitchen like place.. unlike resorts... Hence you will like children to have home food, access to milk and warm water etc... anytime!!...than resort made food!!


I have asked uncle to have a swimming pool next in the back yard!!...Lets hope it comes on soon!!... ;)..

Leslie.
BLR.

Room Tip: take the room with the canal view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    76
    15
    4
    6
See reviews for
110
80
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My family and I were not sure what to expect prior to our arrival here but all our fears were proven unfounded later. This is a traditional looking house with two sections, one occupied by the owner and the other rented out to guests. There were three rooms; each attached with its own bathroom, a kitchen & dining and a lobby with a wooden swing. The rooms were clean and comfortable with tv & air-conditioning. The bathrooms were clean but the showers could have been improved. The lawn is spacious and clean, with its own "backwaters".
The hosts were very polite, helpful and generous. Food was delicious and served piping hot. It is close to a lake with a breathtaking view of sunsets and houseboats sailing on it, and there is also a church & a convent nearby.
It's very serene, spacious and the kids loved the swing. You'd experience bliss and peace here but do bring your insect repellent. Expect to be woken up early by the church bells. In brief it's a very laid back place and suitable for those who want quiet and peaceful holiday.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tvm
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

my husband and i was looking for a quiet place to be together with good room facilities and great food.we loved the place though we spent only a day there.the room and bathroom was very clean and services prompt.food was great and served hot without delay.the hosts are wonderful people.we felt like we were really welcomed to a home.this place offered good grounds to walk about and enjoy the beauty of the backwaters other than in a boat.we could even enjoy the views directly from our room.we had also availed the service of a house boat from here which was also very enjoyable with good staff.all the meals we had were kerala style meals which were very tasty.all in all it is just the place to stay if you want to avoid the mess of hotels but with all the facilities catered to your needs...we had a little trouble with power and space but nothing to complain about.it was everything we wanted at the time..

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We arrived at 10 30 pm tired after a long journey, but the owner and cook were waiting for us with hot and yummy dinner. Its a beautiful property with clean rooms and you get yummy home made food. Its very close to the lake..about 2 mins walk..we could spend only a day at this lovely place..but loved every minute of it..wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

It was our first home stay in Kerala & all of us loved it. The food served is good and very homely. Lalachan takes extra care to see that food is served in time and is a very pleasant person. We enjoyed our stay and would like to visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012 via mobile

It was my first visit to kerala.we had visted munnar,thekkady and kumarakom.we enjoyed lots in kumarakom only bz nature beauty of backwater is awesome.we stayed 2 days in coconut creek.the food is so delicious.we had done backwater cruise in houseboat which arranged by host Mr.Babu.after our tour experince my colleagues who is working us in Kuwait now want to visit kumarakom and coconut creek next vacation.this place is good for family stay.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

The room was simple but clean and all you need for a stay in Kumarakom. The location is good as it is only 2 mins walking distance to the lake but it is far from the "city centre" of Kumarakom. The food was ok but nothing special.

What I could not understand were all the comments about "they made you feel welcome and like home" as nobody there really talks English and therefore a conversation was not possible.

We also booked a one night houseboat trip which was ok but not more. The crew was really nice (although they also hardly spoke English) but the boat was old and dirty and we both got sick from the food that was served. The trip itself was amazing, the nature is stunning and we stopped at a village which was really interesting. However, I would have preferred shipping through the small river arms rather than cruising over the lake...

I think if I would go to Kumarakom again, I would invest in one of the Lake resorts that offer cottages directly located at the lakeside. Even is is more costly you have the backwaters right in front of you and this is the reason why you go to Kumarakom!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom

Address: Near Nazareth Church | Kumarakom P.O, Kottayam, Kerala, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut creek farm and homestay kumarakom is a NATIONAL TOURISM AWARD WINNER for best bed and breakfast in India. Also coconut creek is a TWO time kerala STATE TOURISM AWARD WINNER for best homestay in kerala.Our unique factor is from kerala only coconut creek kerala homestays have received national tourism award for best homestays in India.Also coconut creek kumarakom bed and breakfast is the only one diamond category homestay in kumarakom approved by kerala tourism department. We provide kerala houseboats in kumarakom and alleppey too.Our awards and recognitions :-National Tourism award for best bed and breakfast in India from first man of Indian Honorable Indian President & kerala state tourism excellence award winner for best homestay in kerala for Two time,Holiday IQ Awesome Food award,Holiday IQ Awesome Location Award,Trip Advisor Excellence award for Three time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Odigeo, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Creek Farm And Homestay Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Creek Farm And Homestay Kumarakom Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Creek Farm and Homestay Kumarakom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.