We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good one” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort to your Saves list
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort
3.0 of 5 Ranch   |   Kumarakom North P O, Kumarakom 686563, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

This was the first time I booked a government property during my trip with lots of hesitations. But to my surprise, the experience was good. We visited this resort on 8th Nov'13.
The resort location is very good with a real scenic beauty of backwaters. The resort has also developed internal canals and most of the resorts are over the canal. It means there will be a canal just beneath your room. The water in canal is replaced on daily basis so if you are worrying about the stagnated water, it will not be there. The food was good with lesser amount of oil.
The rooms were good, spacious.
The only discomfort I had during the stays is the massage. I had a massage there but to my surprise, I got jammed shoulder and neck for 2 days after the massage.
Everything else was good.

Room Tip: Choose the canal view rooms just over the canal and not beside the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    120
    33
    15
    8
See reviews for
120
105
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

we booked this property after a lot of research on the various properties available at kumarakom.Initially we were a bit hesitant as it was a government property so weren't sure about the condition of the rooms and their service but after going through a lot of reviews and the worth for money we decided to take a chance.I should say we were not disappointed,the property was much more beautiful and well maintained than we expected,the canal view room which we had opted for was spacious,bed and linen were clean,bathroom was pretty good,food was good and the staff were courteous,Being located in a bird sanctuary we did spot a few birds in the property,the view of the vast vembanad lake,the sights of houseboats cruising over the waters,the boat ride in the rain was all too magical.
Only drawback i felt was that they could have maintained the activity room well with some good play equipments and could have arranged a bonfire with light music or some native folkarts which could have made the stay even entertaining.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This the one of the best resort of KTDC. The Staff is very cooperative. I forgot my shirt during my stay. they courier the shirt to me.
Resort location is very good. One can directly check in by house boat in the resot.

Room Tip: There are three type of cottages. canel view, lake view , superior lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

By visiting two govt. owned property in kerala, I changed my opinion about an indian govt. owned
property in kerala. It is as good as a private property. The food is good but limited so I have to think it is something to do with govt organization. Food are mainly kerala food but as I have no complain as the saying goes while in Rome do as Romans do. Cottages are well maintained and clean. Tea makers was in the room that was good as I am tea addict.It is beautiful to watch in the morning

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Waterscapes is an excellent resort with good scenic beauty. Accommodation is in cottages with canal view or lake view.The restaurant over the lake is a good place to have food and relax. The service is ok. The location is adjacent to bird sanctuary and is cool because of lots of tress and here one gets to experience the charm of Kerala backwaters.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chhindwara
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Simply superb place for a relaxing holiday excellent property nice helping staff good food, my kids enjoyed fishing in the evening. ......bad part is their ayurveda massage worst massage I ever had they are inexpert.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great location, nice ambience sum up this property. Many tripadvisor reviews trashed the service as indifferent but we had a perfectly pleasant experience. The restaurant serves up pretty good North Indian fare however they have absolutely no vegetarian Kerala dishes - a big minus in my opinion. I don't go to kerala to feed on naan and paneer butter masala. We didn't use the pool but saw other families that did and it seemed very clean. The rooms are not luxury standard and have a distinct "sarkari" feel to them. The bed linen and towels could be much much better. However overall a lovely quiet place to stay in. Would go again if I visited Kumarakom.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort

Address: Kumarakom North P O, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterscapes Ktdc Backwater Hotel Kumarakom
Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort Kumarakom, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Waterscapes KTDC Backwater Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.