We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lake aside - Best to see Kumarakam Beauty” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Resorts

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Paradise Resorts to your Saves list
Paradise Resorts
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Kumarakom 86563, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Kumarakom
Jind (Haryana)
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lake aside - Best to see Kumarakam Beauty”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

Very good location to see Kumarakam Lake beauty. Good Reception.... Resort is having individual Cottages on the name of Rashis. Resort is having a well maintained swimming pool nearby lake. Resort is having its own House Boat thats gives immence difference of trip. Little swans in the lake water & in the resort increases its beauty.
A bad point in resort is its fooding.... That is not so good... Except same all is very well organized & adding beauty to the trip...
.....Overall very good resort for couple.....

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    22
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
26
19
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2010

May its because of the off-season but that does not mean that a hotel cuts on the basic services like food and healthcare esp. when they are projected at the reception. Best to be missed.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Wow, What an amazing outdoor they have!! We stayed in that hotel for a day as a part of our honeymoon trip.It is located in a place where all the other resorts reside. The Interior was good,but it is the outdoor which was amazing. The resort has individual cottages named with the Raasi stars( like pusam etc..) that was a different idea. Once we step out of the room you will face green garden with center pool where you can find the swans with water plants.

Once you walk for few seconds you would view the most spectacular view of the Kumarokom lake. The lake starts from the compund wall of the resort where you can sit and relax. This is the place where they have placed the swimming pool, so it is like near the lake you will find the swimming pool. The pool was clean and maintained well.

One thing that should be mentioned is the bathroom, wow fully tiled in black color with stainless steel white bath fittings and with a big mirror. That was superb.

Coming for Food, it was not upto the mark. We had breakfast and it is not buffet :( Only few dishes were available.

Except food, the hotel is very good :)

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2010

Totally agree with the last post that the location is fantastic, but this place needs a revamp. We stayed here for two nights of relaxation and attended a wedding nearby. It's a quiet and beautiful location. Did not try the houseboat. We had breakfast from the restaurant which had a very limited choice and was quite average. In the evenings we opted for room service so that we did not have to got the restaurant which is quite a dull place to eat. The room service menu is ok, and again they did not have many of the choices available, but i'd recommend the biriyani! The service does let it down though. Only one person spoke good english at the reception, and we struggled with the others. I could not help but feel that they did not understand me when I told them to pick up our empty plates from the room.....and so we woke up to ants on the porch on the following morning. Apart from the pool, no facilities to speak of, even the credit card machine did not function when I came to pay. On the plus side, the room and bathroom were fine.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, channel isles
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

The Vembanad Lake area has several 5 star resorts where the tranquility of the water can be fully enjoyed, but at a high price. How pleased I was then, to find that Paradise beach also gives a lake view, and even a canal outside each of the twelve bungalows, at an affordable price. The problem is that there is no effort here to encourage relaxation at this resort The accomodation is clean and bathrooms are excellent, and there is even a fridge, though very old and rusty! (Electricity only works when door key installed!). The restaurant was empty, staff sitting about, even though the windows were very dirty and the floor uncleaned. I did not feel inclined to eat there. The grounds were sparse and dry, they could be green and lush with planting and hanging foliage an the sides of the canals, and kept irrigated easily with a recycled system. The pool area and patio was again, poorly kept with broken tiles and uneven surfaces; in need of very little re-vamping to make it attractive enough to relax and enjoy the lake. The red (faded) plastic chairs mentioned in a previous review were still there (Are you taking any notice of your customers?) throw them away, get some quality sunbeds, umbrellas, lay a patio near the pool and offer some service! This resort has 5 star location, 3 star bungalows, but one star management and restaurant; it could be a really wonderful boutique hotel, the owners are wasting all its potential. We booked the houseboat the following night, which was lovely. The resort felt merely a convenient sleep-over, yet it could have been a very special combined package.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

The Kerala backwaters was a great place to visit for our 2nd wedding anniversary. However, what was not so great was our experience at Paradise Resorts, Kumarakom!
(--)

We had major issues with the:
- Cottage: size, view, quality
- Massage facilities
- Overall experience

They advertise "Well furnished Vembanad - lake view A/c cottages" on their website and the same was recommended by our travel agent. While the hotel is overlooking the
Vembanadu Lake, NON OF THE COTTAGES actually have a lake view!

The cottages overlook a narrow water-passage way which is built within the hotel premises. The water-passage is very dirty and filled with filth if you happen to stay in a cottage near their restauant. Luckily for us, our cottage was at other other end, near the pool, where the water-passage was relatively cleaner.

Further, the cottage isint really a cottage but a large room with an attached bathroom. There is no lving room area, kitchen, etc. So if you compare it to a regular hotel room, its quite large but you definately cant categorise it as a cottage.

Additionally be prepared to share your 'cottage' with atleast 2-3 lizards that freely roam around above your bed & roof.

An ayurvedic massage is highly recommended in Kerala but Paradise Resorts ensured we were deprived of that exprience. The Resort has 1 very small room only where you can get a massage and the same was so dirty that it seemed that it was last used in 1909.

The staff & service are just about average and what amazed us was that inspite of the restaurant being open till 9:30 - 10:00 pm at night, the staff kept following up with us from 7 pm itself everyday to place our dinner order. We received atleast 2 staff visits & 2 phone calls to place our orders! Guess more would have followed had we not placed the order by 7:30 everyday.

MOST IMPORTANTLY: Inspite of booking & paying up many days in advance through our travel agent, on reaching the resort we were informed that no cottages were available. Hence we had to spend the 1st night in their House boat docked within their premises. The staff were not even sincerely apologetic about their mistake and apparently made up by offering us a complimentary dinner that night!

The only good part of the resort is its location & its pool. Its right beside the backwaters lake and you get to watch a beautiful sunset everyday.

Everything else is a big thumbs down!

  • Liked — The location and the view of the backwaters
  • Disliked — The cottages & staff
  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

The resort is a small 12 room property on the banks of the Vembrand lake. It is next to Zuri resort, but of coz cannot be compared to it. The resort has a very small pool and not much activity or space. The view of the lake is hidden due to the house boats docked all the time. The rooms are large, comfortable, bathroom is clean and spacious. The service could be tad better. We asked for mosquito repellent which never came. Food is average, may try out better places outside. 'Tharvaad' - a local toddy and food joint has excellent choices at very reasonable price. Its near the bird sanctuary.

The best part of the resort is the view of the lake. The hotel however has made no arrangements for the guests to sit and enjoy the sunset there. Few plastic chairs are placed, but are so dirty that you don't feel like using them. The hotel and its staff is more interested in pushing its expensive speed boat rides ( Rs. 2000 for a couple for 2 hrs).

The best thing to do here is to take the house boat. Its expensive too, but is a treat of a lifetime. Service at the boat was very good. They pamper you well and show you around, cook good food as well. But do not buy seafood from the houseboat, they are very expensive and not worth it. (paid 900 rupees for a kilo of prawn, that were cooked horribly in the end) Make sure you carry DVDs and music Cds for this ride. Also carry own liqour on the boat.

Overall liked the place due to its location, house boat, excellent rooms. Service however needs to improve.

My take - Above average to Good !!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Paradise Resorts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Resorts

Address: Kumarakom 86563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 24 Hotels in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Paradise Resorts 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WELCOME TO PARADISE RESORTS.Imagine being lost in a far away place surrounded by mirror-still lagoons, lush greenery, whispering solitude… Imagine being on a dreamy cruise with your loved ones along calm and serene waters that never seem to end. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Paradise Resorts reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Hotel Kumarakom
Paradise Resorts Kumarakom, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Resorts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.