We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Hotels in Kumarakom
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This is a must visit if you are in Kumarakom. Even if you are not staying here..you have to visit it once for their delicious south-indian food and the so-relaxing spa. Beautifully located..its an ultimate place to relax and chill. The property is very well-maintained with ever-smiling faces of the staff who are warm and welcoming. Thank you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    138
    25
    16
    14
See reviews for
259
308
12
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed there for 2 nights as a family with two small kids. Here is a quick summary:

Positives:
- The resort is very green and has a calm and serene feel with the trees, water bodies and the sound of birds from the bird sanctuary next door. It is a perfect place to relax for a few days far from the hustle and bustle of city life. The resort offers a complimentary 30min boat ride across the Vembanad lake every evening.
- The staff are very friendly and the service level was outstanding. The staff were always polite, discreet and very helpful whenever we asked them for anything. And that's true for the staff at reception, at the restaurants, in housekeeping and all the others we interacted with. Special mention of Mr Ravindran who organizes different activities for guests and took particular care of our two young kids.
- We stayed in a Deluxe Allure Villa which was large and spacious, very nicely decorated and with a large bathroom with an open air shower.
- We thought the breakfast buffet was outstanding in terms of variety and quality particularly if you are interested in trying out local dishes from Kerala and Southern India (which is what I would highly recommend). The continental breakfast options were more limited though.

What could be better:
- Some parts of the resort feel a bit dated and in need of a refurbishment if it wants to justify the higher prices it charges during the peak season. The pool, the kids playground, the children's activities centre, the bikes available for guests to use, the outdoor restaurant could all do with more investment.
- There were two restaurants (one outdoors and one indoor) but with the same menu which felt a bit monotonous after a couple of days. The breakfast buffet was great but the rest of the F&B experience was below expectations when compared to resorts in the region.

I would recommend the resort as a good break for both couples looking for a quiet break as well as families with young kids. For those who are not familiar with Kerala and its culture, do try all the different cultural and culinary options that the resort has to offer!

Room Tip: Choose the heritage rooms in the main building or the Deluxe Allure villas if you want rooms with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gandhidham, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The hotel is a great deal if you are looking for a 5 star and Kumarakom lake view resort and Radisson feel a lil expensive to you. The rooms are beautifully built. Especially the bathrooms. Gives a good feel of the raw nature around you. Very beautifully preserved. Taj is a great property for a pleasant stay in this beautiful location.

My rating 4/5

Room Tip: Ask for a room which has an open shower in the bathroom. I'm not sure if all their rooms hve the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 4 days in this gem of a hotel. The staff were so friendly and efficient, they quickly learnt your names and routines that they put many a five star hotel service into the shade. The rustic charm of the architecture and it's heritage sitting in the midst of beautiful grounds surrounded by amazing wildlife on your doorstep and at every turn made it so relaxing. We tried as many local dishes as possible and each was full of distinct flavours, the chef was happy to share and demonstrate his recipes. I would also recommend the 45mins fried spice therapy at the spa. We explored the area using the hotel complimentary bikes which were probably as old as the Bakers house. Our villa was well equipped, large and with an outdoor shower which was great even whilst raining! We sat on our veranda watching the kingfisher and greater fruit bat just a few meters away. Each day housekeeping left us with a little surprise which together with everything else made us very sad indeed to leave.

Room Tip: I would recommend the villas with out door showers or private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We visited this hotel during monsoon season and definitely it was one of the best stays that we had. Good food, well maintained flora and fauna, big rooms, supreme hospitality made our stay very comfortable..

All staff were very courteous with special mention of the GM Mr. Das who made sure that no one is left from his personal attention..

Overall a great property..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

Just returned from a fabulous vacation in God's Own Country and one of the highlights of the trip was surely our stay at the Taj in Kumarakom-easily the best hotel we have stayed in so far among all the countries we have traveled to around the world. The staff there pampered us from the moment we stepped into their sprawling property set amidst abundant greenery. We were upgraded to a deluxe suite which turned out to be out of the world with open air shower, a huge bathtub, a massively big room with ante-room and balcony and what not! An Ayurvedic massage at their lovely spa is highly recommended. The boat tour on Vembanad lake organized by the hotel along with the evening snacks that followed was quite awesome too as was the dinner accompanied by live cultural performances. All in all, totally value for money and we would go back there again for a longer stay :)

Room Tip: Choose the rooms with open shower a bit further away from the reception area-they are fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife were travelling with a dog (puppy) to kumarakom and searched online for a pet friendly hotel, though I always wanted to stay at the lake resort but due to pet friendly policy of Taj Vivanta we had no choice left but to stay at Taj. So we checked in and all seemed fine till we were escorted to our villa, to our surprise we were escorted to the room through a very badly stinking way ! The smell was so strong that I started throwing up while walking ! Room was good, girls at the front office were very warm and made us feel welcomed, else the staff was average. Food in general was ok ! Ala carte lunch and dinner is great idea as you get fresh food (but I presume it was al carte as the occupancy was not much !)Over all the smell in the entire resort puts you off and spoils your holiday mood the moment you step out of your room. I even had to skip my meal as one has to go through the bad bird smell area to reach the restaurant. The lake on the other end is also very dirty and not maintained at all. I wonder how Taj hotels can except such low standards as people go there for the brand and not because of the resort.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#4 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.