We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a heaven on earth” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“a heaven on earth”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Staying in this hotel is an incredible experience ..
The warm wellcome adds the wonderful surroundings..the historical main building and the new additions are in harmony and one feels happy and relaxed the moment you step into the hotel and gardens..

The location is perfect ,the pool ,the spa,the cafe,the service everything makes you special ..
the rooms are welll designed and decorated ,the veranda looking at the pond and lilies makes you feel to stay here forever ..
The hotel is on the lake and once you step out of the hotel there are backwater villages,rivers and daily life allround
Wish to go back and stay more

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review and feedback of the resort.
We are extremely glad that we could make you feel the way you did
The hotel is a pictereque representation of Kerala both in character and in service.
The designs that we have chosen are also done in order to blend with the feel of Kerala
Kerala is popularly known as 'God's own country' and we try and represent that in spirit.
We look forward to welcome you back to the resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    148
    29
    16
    18
See reviews for
280
331
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goa, Goa, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is one of the most picturesque resorts... a small boutique property which was brought back to the limelight about 5 years ago with some very lovely touches by Vincent the then Gm.. today is one of the most sought after resorts in Kerala. had the opportunity to stay twice and must say loved it each time... they say that a hotel is not only about the builiding but what makes it most exceptional are its people....

The resort now headed by the ever smiling GM Sibi and his trusted team have gone about in a quiet way to ensure this resort maintains its high standards.

Some of the high lights here is the activities for the children, the evening Chaya kada, the boat ride on the houseboat... the diyas being lit all along the water body by local ladies and the eveninig entertainment...

The suites with the lap pool are a delight... the recently renovated bakers bungalow is also a lovely experience....

oops forgot to say they have the charming Aaron at Front desk to look after all guests and Ravi who makes sure your toddlers have a wonderful time... they even take your toddler to send a postcard to the local post box/office...

all in all a great place for a quiet peaceful holiday....

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and feedback of the resort.
We are glad you have experienced us twice and that we have been able to create memorable experiences for you on both occassions
Thank you for the kind words of appreciation for all our associates.This will only encourage them to do create even more memorable experiences for our guests in future
As you rightly mentioned,we do try to engage the kids a lot more since we understand how much that matters to the parents
We do look forward to welcome you back again very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Since the day I heard that our ex PM Atalji had stayed in this property, I have been wanting to there. Last week, I had the pleasure of spending a night there.

I had booked a Deluxe Villa but, upon arrival, they upgraded us to a Pool Villa. That was really nice of them, and I thank them again for this gesture.

When you enter, you see a large lagoon with a big large tree in the center. You can go boating in this lagoon. Beyond that is the swimming pool, and then the villas, and finally the Vembanad Lake.

Our villa had a direct view of the lake. The room was one the best I have seen in the Taj bouquet.
The personnel at Taj as we have come to expect were professional, friendly and attentive to your requirements. I had the pleasure of meeting a smart young lady who has just joined the Taj group. Ms. Delin was very enthusiastic, and is a true representation of the Taj Brand.

I will recall this stay as one of my most cherished memories. And, of course, I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your praise and generous feedback of our resort.
We are indeed glad that you have mentioned that the stay with us has been one of your most cherished memories.That in fact encourages us to strive even harder to make our guests happy.
As you have rightly mentioned ,long back Prime Minister Atalji chose our resort as his chosen destination to rest and recuperate.
That by itself ensured that Kumarakom became a very popular destination on the rourist map of India.
We do hope to welcome you back to our resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lahr, Germany
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We booked 3 nights in a superior charm room/little villa (4*), which is located nicely on the shore of a little lake. These rooms are quite big and have all you need for recovery. The last night we were upgraded into a superior villa with own pool. Wow, this is awesome (5*)! This is how maharanas must have lived.
The whole resort is very peaceful and quite – a perfect place to relax. Very friendly and supportive staff. They organise nice little events like come-together at the backwaters shore, boat rides or trecking to nearby villages on a nature trail.
Overall feedback: If we’d come back to India, we definitely will go to this lovely place again!

Room for improvement:
Wine list is limited. There are some fairly good Indian red wines like the reserve qualities from Sula and/or Grover wines. They are not available here.
And: Food (3*) seems to be a bit too much adapted to international guests. We like it more authentic!
Spa area is quite basic, but nice people there.
Internet access (WIFI in room) is very expensive – should definitely be complimentary on this price level!

Room Tip: Allow yourself a superior villa with own pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback and warm note for your stay at our resort.
We are indeed glad that we could touch you to the extent that you are encouraged to come back and stay with us whenever you plan a trip to India.
We are glad you felt like a king.
We understand that vacations are special times and they come by hard.Therefore we make every effort to make them special.
We look forward to welcome you back very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Property is situated in the lap of nature.what makes it more special is the hospitality of the staff specially I want to mention Mr Rodriguez at reception and chef Aneesh who took great care of us.Rooms are amazing if u have the budget stay in pool villa it's worth it.Surrounding are very quiet and serene as it is located on the bank of vembanad lake.do take speed boat ride as it is very thrilling.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of the resort and the admiration of the services.
We are indeed glad that we were able to provide you with a memorable experience.
As you have rightly mentioned,here we are in the lap of nature and that is what we promote as our unique selling point because that is not easily replicable.
We are really glad you enjoyed the service of our associates .
We look forward to welcome you back as also your near and dear ones back to our resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed here in sept n hence I got a good deal(off season). The overall experience was good. I loved the serenity n peaceful kumarakom. It's a hamlet surrounded by vembanad back waters. Go here only if u are looking for a quiet n lazy vacation. Vivanta by taj lived upto their brand. The management was warm n hospitable. They gave us complimentary cake. and while on our way back packed a boxful of complimentary sandwiches. I loved their lake view cottages. The lake has almost all the migratory birds. We got a free upgrade to their suite cottage. Simple loved the luxury of the suite villa. It has private pool. The resort offers small activities like fishing, fish, geese, rabbit feeding, kids activities, boating and boat ride in vembanad every evening. The resort is beautiful and close to nature.

Room Tip: Go for the lagoon facing cottage if u love nature n birds. Will be a treat to watch them right from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I write this on the last night of our stay with the hotel at the end of our honeymoon. Having stayed with at the Vivanta by Taj in Kovalam we were open to options in Kumarakum but eventually chose this hotel knowing the group would be lovely; we have been blown away by the staff and experience!

On our first night here they kindly upgraded us to a beautiful villa which was well kept and exactly what we wanted. I do need to clarify from one or two previous comments that there are infact 3 restaurants and a jiva spa here... admittedly service at the pool bar was a little slow but the staff as amazing at doing the best they can with the tools given by the owners of the Taj chain. I feel that any negativity should be directed at 'head office' rather than the staff and management on site at this hotel (given they're doing an outstanding job!)

I will concede that the hotel could use a little TLC but equally highlight that the one of the many reasons to stay here is the 140 year incredible heritage, service and views! The staff were amazing and on our last night we were upgraded to one of the best rooms in the resort with a private pool which truly made our honeymoon!

Overall I cannot say enough to stress that whilst of course others are entitled to their opinion, my wife and I make a point of staying with the best hotels and groups in the world and whilst (as I have mentioned) this hotel could use a little updating in places... the fact remains that the staff and overall experience has been truly outstanding... thank you Taj!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.