We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom to your Saves list
Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 25 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Salem, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“just wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

from the minute one arrives to the moment one leaves the service is wonderful
food terrific & dining room is honest about the spicing as one of us was sensitive
very relaxing
nice ayurvedic spa
grounds are gorgeous
laundry was done and presented back in the room folded and in a basket is such a way that you wanted to send everything to them
manager lovely man who was incredibly helpful and accomodating

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the great feedback that you have provided for us.We are indeed delighted that we could create a memorable experience for you at our resort.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    148
    29
    16
    18
See reviews for
280
332
14
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Kumarakom is a great place to visit for a break but the best part was the hotel. Used to be called Taj Kumarakom but now Vivanta by Taj Kumarakom. Great staff, lovely GM and food was as good as the rooms/ villas. Would recommend this to anyone staying in Kumarakom.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noida, India
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2011

Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Before anyone visits Kerala remember that for foreigners where there is little sunlight or lagoons or the like it might be a novelty but anyone staying in tropical climates like say Delhi will not find it to be a out of the world experience . The only plus point is that the people of kerala are intelligent and helpful ,that is why i guess it makes it a worthwile place to go

We would like to share our experience and mind you all this actually happened and could be construed in either way
1 When we reached at about 7 .30 PM after a hideous journey – the roads are bad – the first thing that struck me was the use of yellow light bulbs all over .Believe me we have travelled a lot around the world and CFL lights –white lights- perks up the atmosphere too .Yellow light only manages to hide the flaws ..... Also it would be nice for the environment if they convert to CFL

2 The staff is polite and cordial
3 The front roof in the verandah of the room – on the night of our arrival- had a rat really very big one . In fact I have never seen such a big one though we are used to dissecting them in medical school .The housekeeping came and on realising that it was actually not in the room – said that most likely it was a tree rat !!? Never heard of that one in my life .Thankfully apart from a few lizards nothing else happened subsequently
4 The surroundings of the room were lovely and so was the room
5 Now we come to the activities in fact the list of 101 things to do before you leave kerala had items about which the staff did not know ….

My wife called and asked about night fishing , what is a meter tea and twenty other things which the staff were not aware of ..…..

6 The Nature walk in the nearby bird sanctuary was another interesting experience .My wife went there and before going we asked the front office , how much time would it take and how far is it and would any money be required . The staff told us that it is a 2-3 minute distance and no money is required … It was a 5 km walk and the guide hired halfway suggested that a boat ride should be taken .. it will avoid walking n more birds can be seen that way.. cost Rs 100 per head.. , where it went we all know.. The morning experience was good though

7 It would be better if a walk is organised in the property which has enough flora and fauna
9 The boat ride in the evening …. Should have someone giving a commentary … at laest we know what we are seeing ?

10 There was a problem in the plumbing with a admixture of the cold and hot water



Now come to the good things
The good things of course are many very polite staff , very slick property , clean spacious and lovely property… and your staff (Gauri and others pampered our daughter crazy ..)
It would have been nice if there was some artifactual stuff in the Bakers House … its just a dining area and a administrative block

A few things we still did not know form the list of 101 activities

1 romance the bakers bungalow ? there is nothing in it

3 Do night fishing…..

5 Relish a Elasadhya

11 wear a kerala sari …. We asked the reception …… “ you will have to buy it first …”

18 drink a meter chaya

21 visit kuttanad

25 star gaze ,,, do u have a working telescope

31 cruise to alleppey

34 quench your thirst with Karingali vellam

45 spot paddy chakrom

46 watch a petty and para operates

47 ride by a organic farm

76 buy a palmyra fan…

I know you must be wondering what we were doing with the list …. If someone stays for 3 nights they will realise there is nothing much to do so we saw the list….


The saving grace is that the duty staff on duty decided to upgrade us to the royal bungalows which our daughter was not keen to move in .So that speaks
volumes of the graciousness of the Taj …
The view from our room overlooked the lagoon and that was probably the best part of the stay ..

We went it jan the best season it was hot humid and sultry ,,,, so for Indians go to Kerala with zero expectations ...
--

Room Tip: Take the room overseeing the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback.
Whilst you did mention that you enjoyed most aspects ofyour stay with us,we are sorry to note that there were some aspects that you were still displeased with.I do aplogize for the fact that the staff members werent able to help you out with some of the aspects on the list of '101 things to do'.
We have indeed designed that list with a lot of effort to design activities for our guests whereby they could keep themselves engaged.
Thank you for the graciousness of the staff that you have mentioned about also.
Do look forward to welcome you back sometime whereby we would be able to make up for the aspects skipped out.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We chose the Taj Kumarakom based on our friends' recommendation. It was perfect in every way. The Taj service is always outstanding, but this was the best we've ever experienced. The staff was so incredibly kind and thoughtful to our children, especially Mr. Ravi and Mr. Arun. The Manager and the rest of the staff are justifiably proud of their hotel, and it comes through in everything they do. Our kids can't wait to come back next year. The setting is lovely and peaceful, the rooms are gorgeous, and the amenities terrific. Did I mention the service? We'll be back. Thank you, Taj Kumarakom, for a wonderfuln holiday!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, June 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback that you have provided for our resort and the staff members.
The service that we provide differentiates itself through the individuals who provide this service.
We know the relevance of vacations for each and every guest who comes to our resort.We thereby try to make it memorable for every guest in whatever small manner that we possibly can.
We look forward to welcome you back to our resort very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

We our a family with one teenagern one 7 year old.We stayed at Taj for two days in the superior charm cottage and every moment was well enjoyed! (if u want privacy go fr the villas n if u want to be a part of hotel activities then i'd recommend the charm room).The property is a little old(part heritage) but well maintained though i feel the room could do with a little more furniture. However these were only the first impressions n the excellent service made us forget all about it. I would especially mention the activity coordinator Mr. Ravindran who ensured that the seven year old was fully occupied throughout the trip and troubled the parents little.The service makes this stay extra special- from the complimentary evening tea with delicious banana fritters. the evening cruise n games,cleaning the room twice daily and providing us with fruits n chocolates in the room.Every member of the hotel has a smile on their faces.The place has a lot activities to do-boating, fishing, cycling(u can keep them with u throughout ur stay n explore the property on it, bird watching, dance performance n live music in the evening, cookery class, pottery class n so on.The property is well located n really green and beautiful replete with fountains n lagoons.At night they light earthen lamps throughout the hotel which has a mesmerising effect.The food though looks overpriced at the first look but when u order u realize that u end up spending less than u thought because of the various surprise elements.There were a Gujarati couple who complained abt the food but next day i heard them appreciating the chef for adapting the dishes according to their tastes.The pineapple n banana jam n fresh fruit juices in breakfast were really nice(actually the entire breakfast spread was really balanced n healthy).This experience binds the professional n luxurious hospitality of a hotel with the warmth n customized service of a homestay!!

P.S:do try their amazingly delicate coconut mousse with homemade coconut icecream!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your warm and heartfelt feedback.
We are indeed glad that you had a memorable time with us.As you have experienced, we believe in creating memorable experiences for our guests because we realise that vacations are cherished moments in ones life and are indeed special
We do hope to welcome you back to our hotel yet again very soon.

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GURGAON
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

It was my husband's birthday and we wondering where to go on a lovely romantic vacation.

Some kerela tourism ads caught our fancy and we decided on Kumarakom for a peaceful getaway. We even decided on splurge a bit and booked ourselves in the Taj property in Kumarakom after being entranced by the pictures

TheTAJ kumarakom turned out to be those rare places which is even more beautiful in real life than in pictures.

From the time you walk in to the time you step out you are subjected to exceptionally delightful service. We were offered a delicious coconut drink on arrival with mithai.Every evening when we returned, the housekeeping apart from cleaning our rooms left some little gift/token on the bed always...be it some sweets, some soothing ointments or flowers. The room where we stayed was draped in splendor. Regal Reds and Oranges with mahogany interiors made us forget the hustle and bustle of city life immediately.

The food in the hotel was amazing. The cuisine was well balanced with North Indian, South Indian and Continental delicacies. The chef outdid himself in the deserts. Will highly recommend their buffets instead of ala carte as they really outdo themselves in the buffets. Lots of options are available plus they are reasonable also.

The best part of the Hotel was the various activities planned for the guests. They were cookery sessions with the Chef, pottery making classes, speed boat rides, ayurveda / yoga lessons - you could take your pick! The spa is also great and at the end they give us this lovely paste made of some green dal which makes your skin deliciously soft.

What put this hotel at the top of my list was the little lake in the centre of the hotel which is lit up with hundreds of diyas in the night. Its breathtaking sight. The hotel also is close to the lake and its own houseboats wherein they host evening teas...another fun activity for guests...you can a pleasant walk through a nice woody area of the hotel to the lake, enjoy the view of the lake amidst the setting sun, grab garam chai and snacks...and end your day perfectly!

If you can spend a bit more, go for a villa with a private pool...they r gorgeous. All in all - this is one property in India that you SHOULD NOT MISS. Promise you that you will always remember your stay. Have stayed at other Taj properties too but this one beats them all

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the excellent feedback that you have provided for our hotel.
We try to have something in store for guests of all nature be it the ones who want to enjoy a private romantic holiday or the ones that want to get away with their family or guests who want to have a small reunion away from home.
We are delighted that we could indeed make your special occassion even more special.
It is only possible because of the wonderful people I have on board my team here.
Do look forward to welcome you back to our hotel very soon

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

I took a vacation after 4 years. The life was getting full of pressure and vivanta by Taj- kumarakom was the exact medicine- which i required.My suppleir awarded me this vacation and the agent did all teh right things. The hotel was great. simply great. They were very caring, and showed great tolerance to my naughty son.All of 22 months old- he kept making freinds and chasing the hotel staffs- and they were very tolerant. The food was great. My wife loved the breakfast the most.Hotel people were always very accomodating- even if it was our request for hot milk- upteen times for my son. The great activities arranged by Ravi, the sunset was very enjoyable and the complimentary- backwater cruise was most enjoyable.The side trips- to kollam and kochi were enjoyable too. The drivers of hotels were also very good. I will like to go there again- when i have my next vacation

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibi_Mathew, General Manager at Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, responded to this review, April 10, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback that you have provided.
We strongly believe that if the children are taken care of during the holiday,then the vacation of the parents are made.Thereby we do everything possible at our end to make the children comfortable and more often than not they are extremely comfortable in the open settings that we have in this resort.
We are glad you enjoyed all aspects of your stay .We do look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Thanks and regards
Sibi Mathew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom

Address: 1/404 Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686563, India (Formerly Taj Garden Retreat)
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#5 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom 5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kumarakom is a popular tourist destination in the Kottayam district of Kerala. Located on the picturesque Vembanad Lake, Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, Kerala, is a 30-minute drive from the Kottayam railway station or an hour's drive from Cochin city. Kerala's backwaters surround the 140-year old colonial bungalow which houses this resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Hotel Kumarakom
Taj Garden Retreat Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Taj Garden Retreat
Vivanta By Taj - Kumarakom Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vivanta by Taj - Kumarakom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.