We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kumarakom - where the Gods unwind” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kumarakom Lake Resort

Save Saved
You added Kumarakom Lake Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kumarakom Lake Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 hotels in Kumarakom
Bangalore, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Kumarakom - where the Gods unwind”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

the hotel brochure said "perhaps the only paradise on earth", and i couldn't but agree ....the resort has won award consistently over the past few years as the India's leading resort and you have to stay here to experience the exemplary service. Here luxury reigns and heritage dwells, seamless blend of both. We both stayed in one of those meandering pool villas ... this must be a delight for kids! drift back in time with the traditionally styled interiors (i loved the construction of the doors, and those old electrical switch outlets perfectly blended with the style) and traditional mouth watering kerala culinary delicacies (appams and stew, karimeen, konju, mutton roast) .... great cuisine, lovely spread, forget the name of the sea food restaurant where we dined but it was out of the earth.... had a great Ayurvedic massage in the morning, it was pure bliss. We surely would return again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

897 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    651
    179
    45
    10
    12
See reviews for
296
402
12
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
calcutta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

At Kumarakom, we stayed for two days at the Kumarakom Lake Resort and the next two days at the Taj Kumarakom resort. At the Kumarakom Lake Resort we stayed at the Heritage Lake View Villa with private pool as also at the Taj Kumarakom we booked the luxury pool villa. The villa and the pool at the Taj were larger. The Kumarakom Lake Resort also has a Presidential villa which was more spacious and with a larger pool, but this was booked during our stay. The Taj property is more sprawling and lush with more privacy. The Lake Resort is more manicured and has more opportunities for interaction with fellow guests.
When we arrived at about four in the evening we were offered tea and snacks gratis at a pavilion in the gardens in keeping with the Kerala hospitality and in the authentic replication of a Kerala tea shop and were taken on a boat cruise along with other guests. The melodious tunes of the flute player and the lush Kerala countryside made the cruise an unforgettable experience.
We had dinner at the Ettukettu which offered a dinner buffet consisting mainly of south Indian food rich with coconut and spices. For those who do not have a taste for south Indian food, other options were available.
The next morning we tried the Rejuvenation Massage which was done on the traditional wooden massage table typical to Kerala and followed by steam. Very relaxing. Other massages available, tailored to suit every age and ailment.
The swimming pool was disappointingly small.
For the energetic, the resort arranges all sorts of activities like indoor and outdoor games, sightseeing trips and cultural shows but we were in a mood for romance………..

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

rooms with attached pools..outdoor showers...awesome surroundings..as green as it can get...so romantic..things i wld like to see change if i could?..yes the food could get better -there is ample variety but not upto expectations when compared to the rest of the hotel..overall just the break we needed from our stressful lives back home and perfect end to our Kerala vacation...will definately be going again next year

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

This was I think the nicest of the hotels we were in during our recent trip to Kerala (see also reviews of Old Harbour Hotel and Marari Beach).

We had two nights, one on a house boat in the back waters, the other in a meandering pool villa. The place is spotlessly clean and the service is good. The house boat was superb, the resort operates a number of varying sizes. Villas arranged around a shared pool is a fine idea, similar to the same at the Oberoi Udaivilas in Udaipur - though not as swanky obviously.

The food is a little inconsistant perhaps, but we found no problem finding many tasty dishes at every meal and generally most of what's presented is fine. During our stay at least, the grumbles in other reviews about the food are either over done or they have made significant improvements.

Where things went awry was when it came to joining and leaving the house boat. This proceadure needs some re-working and smoothing out. I would suggest that if arriving and going straight to the house boat you either arrange (with the resort) all the food and refreshments you want on the boat in advance of your arrival or arrive with enough time to place your order to ensure your noon departure is not delayed. We ended up leaving 2hrs late despite arriving 45mins before the planned departure time. We now realise it is perhaps asking too much for them to be ready things in 45mins. But we had not been advised to arrive in advance or what was required. They didn't exactly move quickly when we arrived either.

When we arrived at the dock the next morning and disembarked from the boat, at the expected time, there was no one there to meet us and take us to our rooms. We felt we'd just been abandoned. We made our way to reception, where they seemed surprised to see us and even more surprised that we wanted to check into our rooms. These were not ready we were told. The hotel has promised to look at this and make it work better - they cannot dump you at the jetty at 9am and then make you wait until 2pm to check into your room (which we didn't btw - though I suspect many do). Alternatively the boat should arrive at the jetty later. This whole thing was a farce frankly. It was as if it was their first day of operations and we were all finding out together how things work.

They were very attentive after this and the meandering pool villas are perfect. There is one villa much better than the others - it has its own little garden and sitting area which is a great spot for the spectacular sunset - contact me for the room number.

This place is much nicer than Marari Beach and I think better value. Somehow I believe they will solve their problem with guests arriving from their house boats.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

The resort is amazing. We stayed at the Pool Meandering Villas. Placed at the backwaters the view is out of this world. You are very close to nature! We were 4 families and had a lot of fun. Neat and clean place! Highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

This was our first time to south India and we were totally spoiled. The resort was fabulous, all-inclusive so nothing to worry about. Beautiful grounds, great service, awesome room with private access to the pool. All the activities were great: palm reading, clay pottery, caricatures, and the sunset cruise was a real treat. the food was very tasty and plentiful. I highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back!

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

We spent two nights at the resort and one night on their houseboat. We loved the entire experience. The setting is remarkable - the grounds, the lake, the backwaters, even the meandering pool and the villas. The only issue we had was regarding inter-staff communication. Somehow, when we confirmed something with one staff person (our destination on the houseboat, our dinner order, etc.), if the action required a second person to execute, the message didn't always make it from person A to person B. Everyone was very willing to help, but we could have avoided some heartburn and some tense interactions if there was better organization / communication amongst the staff.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumarakom Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.