We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HEAVEN ON EARTH” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kumarakom Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kumarakom Lake Resort to your Saves list
Kumarakom Lake Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Kumarakom
new delhi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“HEAVEN ON EARTH”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We had booked 6 meandering pool villa for a week. . It was a out of the world experience as the huge pool was at your doorstep. The hotels facilities enabled our whole family to do activities togather. It was the most relaxing hoildays for all of us after a long time. The House boat experience was superb. Their manager Mr. Sanjay really took care of our smallest needs.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    745
    198
    54
    11
    16
See reviews for
338
445
16
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

"Kumarakom Lake Resort" was booked by us by our children...landed blind folded...but what we saw & experienced was something we had never imagined ! "KLR" is a sheer bliss...its natual environs...the infrastructure...the heritage rooms and cottages...

The service of all departments is impeccable...

Right from the doorman, to the front office...to the housekeeping staff..et al...

Food is delicious and what a variety...

Above all the love and affection with which it is served....

I am sure with a staff like that there is now,. "klr' will always be a delight to all those who stay there.

Pray it remains the way it is now - rather improves...as there is nothing perfect...there is always scope for imporvement...or else the growth will stagnate !

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Great rooms, great staff, excellent holiday. The location is amazing and very beautiful

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jaipur
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

It was really a amazing experience to stay with this resort. we booked this resort for 3 nights, When we enter kumarakom we started to think that we trapped here for next 3 days bcoz from which way we go there, there is nothng to see but when we enter in the gate of this resort, what a feeling come, can't describe in words. and for next 3 days we enjoy the best experience of our life of staying in a resort. all staff was very friendly and very very co-operative. specially house keeping staff was very good. really a awesome experience, who is going to kumarakom i recommend only this resort.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2010

Had a fabulous 2 night stay in a meandering villa with access right into the quiet, beautiful pool. Room was fabulous on 2 floors with open air bathroom. Massive bed, 2 tvs, lounge etc. Food was buffet style 1000 rupees for lunch, 1250 for dinner. Good choice of food, mainly indian and lots of veggie. Labels weren't in English though so you had to guess what was in it and how spicy it was. Room service was good and cheaper if you just want one dish. Sunset cruise is free, sunset great. We had 2 hours on a backwater cruise - boat holds six but you get the whole thing for only 1500 rupees for 2 hours. This was a bargain as the cruise is great. Houseboats were all full so if you want to go in one (4 hours minimum - 1500 rupees per hour) book in advance.
Mainly north indians were there, I was certainly the only white person and so dressed carefully when not in the pool.
All staff speak English well although they did seem as little nervous speaking to a Brit. No alcohol available on 1st of each month. There isnt really a bar, but drinks are available in one of the restaurants but it isnt really comfy seating.
Overall the place has to be seen to be believed - it is so beautiful both the surrounding area and the buildings. Great attention to detail in villa. Fabulous photo opportunities. Wish we could have stayed longer. One more thing - full body massage was to die for - 2000 rupees each for an hour. Go to this hotel for luxury you couldnt afford in England!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2010

Hi, i stayed at kumarkom for my honeymoon & i must say it was an outstanding experience. The place is so tranquille & neat. Rooms & the surrounding & the ambience is just too good. we had the swimming pool attached with our hut, the most exiciting was to have shower under the open sky covered with high walls all around offcourse :-) and the one in life time expereince was the lavish & wide b/fast, lunch & dinner menus they have. Doing fishing in the small lake running along the huts was again a b'ful experience. The evening cruises to see sun setting down in the vembanad lake will always remain fresh in my memories would love to go there again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2010

I stayed at Kumarakom Lake Resort with my mom for four nights and we had the best time. The hotel itself is simply gorgeous. The entire property sits on a large tranquil lake, and is surrounded by lush greenery, with their unique "meandering pool" which flows throughout.
We stayed in a meandering pool villa, where we could step out of our bungalow and get right into the pool. This was really fun.
The service is fantastic; everyone who works here is so nice and helpful, always with a genuine smile on their faces.
The spa was also wonderful, with a very knowledgeable and healing staff. We got multiple ayruvedic spa treatments every day and were treated like princesses.
This place is like heaven on earth and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumarakom Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.