We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely resort & rooms ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kumarakom Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kumarakom Lake Resort to your Saves list
Kumarakom Lake Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Kumarakom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely resort & rooms ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of our honeymoon. The room was lovely and had a massive bathroom with a jacuzzi. Unfortunately the jacuzzi was too cold to sit in and had no way of heating it. The food was average and expensive compared to other hotels we stayed at, especially the wine. Overall it was nice!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. We have noted your suggestion and ensure you the same will be looked into.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    198
    54
    11
    16
See reviews for
338
446
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We checked in just over an hour before Prince Charles and Camilla checked out, so a hectic arrival. The resort is beautifully laid out and maintained. We stayed in a heritage villa with private plunge pool and outdoor shower -all really luxurious. Although we had spent a night on a houseboat, we hired an early morning boat to explore the backwaters which was wonderful. Fantastic place to relax. The food was a bit disappointing but overall a wonderful place.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback.

We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us and the services were up to your expectations.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

We recently went to kerela for our anniversary celebration, and kumarakom was a must visit in our itinerary. The obvious choice was kumarakom lake resort. And when we arrived there, it was completely a paradise. On the Vembanad lake, the proplerty is a heaven.It was all together a different world, the ambience was amazing,, it was huge. There were so many things to do... potterey, weaving with bamboo leaves, indoor games, fishing, sunset cruise, or simply lying on the hammock. The dining, Ettukettu, was also very good and there was a cultural play while dining too. The villa was luxurious. The place in its is so involving n mesmerising. KLR is the perfect place to unleash the mojo. Highly, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It is positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

We booked a Heritage Villa with Private pool.. Upon arriving our immediate experience was actually bad.. The private pool in our room was not cleaned and the AC was not working. Upon calling the front desk.. these issues were quickly resolved.. And the remaining of the stay was splendid!!.. The resort is vast and spacious for walks..

The resort arranges a daily evening boat ride, which is quite relaxing.. you can also hire a private speed boat which was really fun...
Free tea n snacks are served in the evening by the lake side.. Lot of guests interact with each other here.. They have cultural programs in the evening too..

The food standard is quite average here.. Nothing bad but nothing special to make mention either.. The resort has buffets for all 3 meals.. and i suggest you go for them, since the in-room dining is really expensive..

What we loved the most: Lazying in our private pool with drinks through the day.. The long walks around the resort.. The speed boat ride.. The atmosphere of relaxation around the lake!..

Things to know:
1. The rooms with private pool have the pool and washroom outdoor i.e. like a courtyard covered on all sides but open from the top.. we found this kinda weird but were quickly comfortable with it!..
2. The gift shop in the resort has sky high prices for its goods, do venture out into the surrounding towns to find better prices..

Room Tip: The pool villas are worth the price if u love lazying in a huge private open pool with Jacuzzi for l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay with us and sparing your valuable time in filling up the feedback form.

With regard to your feedback we notice that there are certain areas that have scope for improvement. Please be assured that the feedback given by you is being looked into.

Thank you for staying with us and I look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surat,Gujarat
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I REALLY ENJOYED A LOT WITH MY FAMILY AT KLR DURING MY STAY. ITS REALLY THE PEACE OF MIND PLACE WHERE YOU CAN TAKE EVERY BREATH VERY FRESH.ALSO WE ENJOYED THE BACK WATER SIGHT SEEN DURING OUR STAYED AT KLR.ALSO THERE ARE OYHER MULTI ACTIVITES AVAILABLE IN THE RESORTS WHOLE THE DAY.THERE IS ALSO CULTURAL PROGRAMME EVERY EVENING ORGANISED BY RESORT MANAGEMENT.AND THAT CULTURAL PROGRAMME WAS FANTASTIC WHICH REFLECTS REAL INDIAN CULTURE.ITS ALSO NEAR TO THE COCHI AIRPORT ABOUT 3 HOURS FAR AWAY FROM COCHI AIRPORT. SO GOOD CONNECTIVITY TO REACH THE KLR AS WELL.
Bird Sanctuary Visits, Sightseeing Trip to Kottayam, Cycling, Village Walks, etc are some of the activities that can be experienced around the resort while at the resort guests can enjoy evening shows of Kerala's traditional dance drama and music, have a game of billiards, try a hand at fishing, learn pottery or weaving, so go on, take your pick!
These villas at Kumarakom Lake Resort offer exotic and exclusive indulgences as each plush villa, built in the style of the traditional homestead of Kerala, has its own private courtyard with a private pool and Jacuzzi, ensuring the creation of fabulous memories. Moreover the villas offer a dazzling view of the exquisitely landscaped gardens and the clear lotus-strewn canals

Room Tip: ROOMS AND QUITE WIDE AND HAVING PRIVATE POOL.These villas at Kumarakom Lake Resort offer exotic and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. It is positive feedback from our guests like you who inspire us in our pursuit for service excellence.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Breathtakingly beautiful. Built next to the backwaters and has been meticulously crafted. The rooms are built ON a man made lake and give you a very relaxing feel. The resort has boating in the inner lake and speed boating on the backwaters. The latter we could not avail due to the speedboat having broken down. The staff was very courteous and helpful and made the stay very pleasant. Out of the two days we spent there, we were the only couple there on one day and they pampered us very much on that day. The machines in the gym need maintenance and so do the boats with outboard motors. The food is slightly higher priced. They have no facilities for the car drivers which is not good because tourists will always come in a hired taxi/bus. It was slightly warm on the backwaters but we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Every room is good. Inform in advance if unable to climb stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Guest ,

Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback..

We are glad you had a pleasant stay with us. We have noted your observations and will be definitely looked into.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.
Warm Regards,
Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

It was a very good experience. I had travelled with my family for leisure, its one of the best property in kumarakom. I had stayed in Mandering Pool Villa which was a new experience. The hotel staff out there are very humble and caring.

Room Tip: Go for Mandering Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanjay V, Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear Guest ,
Greetings from Kumarakom Lake Resort!!!

We would like to thank you for sparing your valuable time in giving us your feedback. We are glad you had a comfortable stay with us.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to having you back at Kumarakom Lake Resort.

Warm Regards,

Sanjay Varma
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumarakom Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.