We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kumarakom Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Kumarakom Lake Resort to your Saves list
Kumarakom Lake Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Kumarakom
Harwell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Beautiful resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent just one night here while exploring Kerala, wished we could have stayed longer. We had a lovely room, very nicely decorated and clean. Just had to step out of the door for the pool.
The location and the grounds are really beautiful. The restaurant had a good choice of dishes, and those we chose were very good. The staff were very friendly and helpful, Overall a super stay and would love to go back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    742
    196
    54
    11
    16
See reviews for
336
442
16
35
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

The property is great, our room (except for the less than effective AC) was nice but the poor restaurant food/service let us down. After two bad meals we chose to dine at the neighboring Taj. We saw another family from this hotel there so I am guessing we were not the only people disappointed with the food.

To be fair, the service at Taj wasn't great either but the food was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Oak, Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Kumarakom Lake Resort was a dream holiday for us. We went there for a quick 3 day honeymoon after our wedding and the resort was just what we needed after the crazy festivities! Not only is the scenic beauty a soothing balm for the soul but the staff adds to the beauty of the experience with personalised touches in the rooms, fun activities such as pottery and mat making and backwater cruises. Never before have we stayed in a place where the staff is genuinely happy to be a part of the establishment and this spills into their interaction with the customer which is always congenial, helpful and warm. It's an ideal resort for a relaxing holiday with all the little touches that luxury is meant to be made of.

Room Tip: Definitely go for one with a private pool...totally worth the indulgence!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We went to this wonderful resort as a family and truly enjoyed ourselves... - the staff is very hospitable.. helpful and considerate... the property is just beautiful !! - the pool at the back of each room is so wonderful and the outside bathroom - rustic look and wooden construction of the rooms is awesome.. --- the lake boat tours were convenient - restaurant is awesome - both the main one and the seafood specialty restaurant.. - and well done landscaping with rabbits and fishing and spa available right there..- I highly recommend it !

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This is undoubtedly a very pretty resort. We had a lake view villa with pool and we could not fault it. The room was airy and decorated beautifully and the pool was a good size. We used the infinity pool and the view was stunning, as the houseboats slowly drifted by.

The hotel was very quiet during our 2 night stay and as a result there appeared to be more staff than guests, so to keep the staff occupied the hotel arranged a rather entertaining boat race between the staff -it was very funny and entertaining! However, as there was not a lot of guests we found that when we were having our meals, we were constantly being watched and asked if all was okay - just a bit too much attention but understandable. The food was okay, however, the drink was way over priced - not a good touch at all. Bring the prices down and people will buy in!

During our visit to India, we stayed at 4 hotels and the 2 most expensive charged us for the use of internet - this is again gave us the feeling of being ripped off. If the less expensive can manage to provide this services free of charge then why can't you?

We enjoyed the afternoon tea and snacks and also took part in the sunset cruise. The staff were very friendly and went out their ways to make our stay most enjoyable.

We would recommend this hotel to someone visiting the area, however, would let them know of the over expensive charges and this may put them off visiting.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

We travelled via Cochin. Total of 6 people . Great location on the banks of lake Vembanad. A huge lake. Resort arranges for a cruise on the lake every evening. Very clean , well maintained rooms, staff very helpful. Villas are very well planned with pools attatched ( a nice novelty). It doesnot have anything around for sightseeing accept Bird Sanctuary (Sr. Citizens and couples with small childres pl. give it a skip) walking is around 5 kms. They have a lot of activities like mat weaving, pottery, an aryuvedic spa / massage centre, which is also very good.
Yoga & Gym also available.Fishing also can be done at the resort itself!!!! Inshort a great place to spend a relaxed holiday with family/ friends. Only be careful while booking your resort
as there are price variations / different schemes e.g. early disscount, 3 day stay 4th night free etc. compare everything properly and book so you get the best rate. As after we booked we realised they had three different categories they did accomadate us with afresh booking and we saved on a huge disscount . All in all a nice holiday to remember.

Room Tip: Meandering Pool Villas are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have been to this resort on my honeymoon in July 2012..It was just out of world experience..!!! we were there for 5 days...the suites, location of resort, service, food everything was just awesome...we were so satisfied with the amenities they offered us...they have a very good pick n drop facility to n from air port...we loved the way they welcome us with the authentic drink of Kerala.. we stayed at Heritage Lake View Villas with Private Poo..it was amazing...the best part was it had beautiful view of the lake..u feel so calm n relax..my husband loved their b'fast n the evening snacks..their service z very quick..we had prob wid our bed..the moment we inform they immediately replaced it..they do have houseboat which is again awesome...their infinity swimming pool and evening cruise just beautiful...Rejuvenation and Ayurveda was so relaxing...we didnt even come out the resort as it had got all facilities...all n all it was the perfect package for the our Honeymoon..we will definitely visit this place again...:)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumarakom Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.