We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My anniversary was made very special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kumarakom Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kumarakom Lake Resort to your Saves list
Kumarakom Lake Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 24 Hotels in Kumarakom
Pune, Maharashtra, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“My anniversary was made very special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I was simply enchanted by the welcome.. to start with - you see a smiling face guy - Kavi coming with a cool coconut drink.. you feel like you are really pampered.. The hotel staff surely takes an extra brownie point for their hospitality and service and very warm greeting. Decor of the room was fantastic and instead gave a very homely feeling. I highly recommend - luxury pavilion room... Food spread was awesome. beautiful surrounding.. All in all a very marvelous stay and would surely visit soon.. And thanks to Sandip Singh, Sonu kurah, Veena, Thomas, Neethu , Saritha, justin, Jewel and Kavi whose hospitality was outstanding. I wud surely recommend this to all my friends.

Room Tip: Try Luxury pavilion room with jacuzzi.. its mindbogling..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    746
    198
    54
    11
    16
See reviews for
338
446
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (362)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

This resort sits on the shores of Vembanad Lake.
There are two room selections: one is the pool side rooms, the other the garden rooms.
Depending on your likes and dislikes, the pool side rooms all have private access to the vast meandering pool system.. Simply step out of your door and walk into the pool.
The bathroom is outside the main bedroom (fully walled and private) but comes complete with banana tree!

There is also a series of canals through the hotel grounds where you can try your hand at fishing. As we were told, 'Just ask the coconut boy for a rod'.
Every afternoon, tea and snacks are served in the gardens. The setting is meant to replicate a traditional Kerala tea stall and serves masala tea and Indian snacks such as pakora.
The restaurant food is excellent!

If you like a drink, be prepared to pay for it or bring your own.
Prices for alcohol at this hotel are 50% more than the average price we paid during 5 weeks in India and 250% dearer than the cheapest we paid.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great in the hot climate of Kumarakom. Step out the door into your private pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

The resort spa is filled with welcoming goodness. The staff are extremely helpful and friendly. The rooms are a cool blend of traditional and modern facilities.. authentic kerala food, with a variety of other cuisines to suit your pallete ..the spa treatments are excellent.. overall a true taste and feel of kerala in its splendour..

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Our stay at the Kumarakom Lake Resort was a wonderful, relaxing experience. Other reviews can explain the luxurious experience of staying at this resort. In particular, I want to commend the restaurant staff for being so attentive. Throughout our experience, we were attended to by the same staff members. They went above and beyond to make us feel welcome and to accommodate our every need. At one point during our stay, my husband and I were explaining to one of the restaurant managers about our love for a particular fruit (jackfruit) that was in season in Kerala, but that we had not found in any of the restaurants. (Jackfruit is not the type of fruit that you can just buy off the street - it's large like a watermelon and has to be cut into pieces with a machete.) Even though it was not typically served in the restaurant, the manager asked one of his staff to go out into the village and purchase a jackfruit just for us. He even made the extra effort to monitor the fruit as it ripened, so that we could enjoy it at just the perfect time. That, to me, is impressive service. This is just one small example of the great service we experienced at Kumarakom. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who is seeking a relaxing place to experience the beauty of Kerala.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed 14 nights taking Ayurveda program and doing sightseeing. Kumarakom Lake Resort was well beyond my expectation.

It was my first time visit to India, and initially I did not expect too much about the services due to the service-level I received in other overseas countries before.. However, I changed my view; the staffs here are very helpful, friendly, and can make good suggestions to make the customers’ stay better. They remember my name, even tried to greet in my language. Food there was great, and I did not get bored eating there at all during my 14 days stay, because the staffs always suggest what to try out and can cook customized dishes too.

The buildings of villas, Ayurveda center, reception desk and restaurants have very classic looking. One of the staffs explained to me those were dismantled from various regions of Kerala, brought to this premise and built again.. And wow, those are more than 100 years old, so you can enjoy very traditional atmosphere in the resort (note that the facilities of the buildings are modern, not 100 years old). Feels great when having a treatment at Ayurveda center; inside the house of traditional architecture, and with fragrance of essential oils.

I would like to visit Kumarakom Lake Resort again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Kumarakom Lake Resort is meant to be a 5 Star Luxury Property... this couldn't be further from the truth.

We had heard such terrific reviews about this property from people that had visited it long back that we were truly excited to head their with our daughter for her first holiday. The whole experience up to check-in was good, the staff are polite and helpful, so no complaints on that front. But we have travelled extensively and stayed at some of the best 5-Star resorts around the world (including India) that we have some basics expectations from a 5 Star Property... to list a few:

1) Food - The food here is awful. Nothing is Fresh. They have canned juices. Artificial flavouring / colour in their Food and Desserts. Tinned fruits. How is that in keeping with a 5 Star Spa Resort.

Any cocktail you ask for, despite telling the bartender to ensure it is made with only fresh fruits, comes with bottled crush for colour and flavour. Only thing fresh they serve is Fish of the day and Coconuts.

The South Indian food is of poor standard. In a place known for its spices, it lacks exactly that. I am not asking one to make things hot, but the flavouring can't be skipped just to appease certain palletes. I am sure people travelling to India appreciate flavours of the food if not the heat... why then do all their dishes lack any substance and are not even remotely authentic Keralite. The western food is equally bad. The breakfast is a nice spread of poor prepared food. Really, just travel 3 kms to the right and have all your meals at Zuri's... a holiday saver... the food at Zuri's is outstanding.

2) Cleanliness - The passage to our villa had food scattered on the floor by birds picking on the food trays that had been kept out of the rooms for clearing... they trays were cleared, but the floor never mopped... had bits of tomatos and other stuff lying in the same place for 4 days.

3) Entertainment - They promised various show's in the evening and guess what... by various they meant... classical music with different singers. Kerala has so much to offer, then why should a person staying there be limited to only one art form? 5 days on the trot... Classical music. Once again, Zuri's Resort to the rescue... they has Kalari (Kerala Martial Arts), Kathakali (Kerala Dance Form) on the other.

Just saying part of the package includes an evening performance and then subject them to the same performance every night when a property next door is offering so much more for half the price, just feels like a scam.

4) Game area maintenance - The games on offers are in a terrible state. The Snooker table cloth is torn all over and the cushion worn-out. The table tennis raquets are in a poor state and so are the bicycles.

The games room is out in the open and hot. No childrens play area / creche.

5) Spa Treatment Area - Poor maintained and just doesn't feel clean. Don't know about the treatments as just one look at it and we decided to go next door for everything.

6) No option for an indoor bathroom. At night the bathroom is full of flies and lizards, including the WC area. Your tooth brush kept in the bathroom over night has flies stuck to it and so does all the soap. The shower if outdoor, one would expect a rain shower, but NO, just your regular shower.

Once again the property next door Zuri, has an option, so if you want to show out in the open, one can, but also has the regular indoor faciltiy.

7) It gets hot, and some times, one like to sit in an Air Conditioned restaurant, why not have that option like Zuri does.

Really, this property has skimmed on nearly every possible feature that should qualify it as a 5 Star property and it is just riding high on the age old name it had and charging a premium to people who really know no-better as it may be their first trip to Kumarakom and are relying on portal or hear-say from folks that may have visited ages ago. Even the taxi drivers at the property admited that the property has deteriorated very badly in the last few years.

Honestly, will never be going back to this property again.

But will certain revisit Zuri's Kumarakom... they offer everything that Lake Resort does in terms of the ethnic experience but go beyond that to ensure a truly 5 Star Luxury feel to the property. Had we not gone and seen this property, I would have been disappointed with Lake Resorts standards, but not felt cheated; they over charge and not deliver... and though this review sounds like a promotion for Zuri, I am obliged to mention them here as they made an exception to their rule and allowed us to come and spend the day at their property considering we weren't guest's there.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Recently spent four weeks travelling in India. The first two weeks around Delhi, Agra, Jaipur and the Rajasthan countryside. Then on to Kerala, which was wonderful. The final week at Kumarakom Lake Resort was ideal. The situation is so peaceful with the infinity pool overlooking the lake. Staff were excellent and very helpful. We stayed in a Heritage Villa, beautiffully furnished and comfotable, with its own small pool, but close to the infinity pool. Both restaurants served excellent food but the seafood restaurant produced some of the best fish we have ever eaten. We also spent one night on a hotel houseboat - a lovely restful experience. A terrific place to relax and end a holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumarakom Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.