We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rustic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kumarakom Lake Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kumarakom Lake Resort to your Saves list
Kumarakom Lake Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Rustic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We were on a tour to see India. Not s spa vacation. The setting was beautiful. We did not partake in the spa offerings. The meandering pool was very nice. Our room was air-conditioned, but the entire bathroom was outdoors. The service and food in the restaurants was fair. Spa vacation OK. Two day stop as part of a larger plan to see India, no.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    224
    62
    14
    20
See reviews for
368
493
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chennai
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was one of the best property i have visited till date. To start with the rooms, very clean and tastefully designed, with all antique style furniture, wooden roofs and flooring .. the infinity pool by the lake is wonderful. we enjoyed the evening boat ride with live music, pottery, spa treatment and yoga in the mornings. With a pool in the room, pool all around, we had a feel of living in an island.. to talk about food, it was delicious and made in authentic Kerala cuisine. staff was very helpful and caring esp with my young son i got all help i could ask for.. The kathakali performance on Saturday night was the highlight!! over all I loved every bit of this place and will definitely come back!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My wife, me and our 7 month old daughter spent 2 days here. The best rooms - meandering pool villas-- best food -- sea food and punjabi. The staff is what makes this place better than the TAJ. The entire resort has 200 yr old wood in most rooms and the plantation is amazing. Definately the only place to stay at komarakom--
Anirudh zainab n Dia from Mumbai

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

KLR is a little slice of heaven.We had an incredible restful stay there.The staff are friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble.The Spa is run by people with wonderful healing energy and i recommend a 7 day stay so that one can incorp all the spa treatements.

Room Tip: We stayed in a luxury room on the ground floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A beautiful hotel on the lake. Ideal for a short stay for some R & R from sightseeing, but possibly not for a lengthy stay. Make sure you take one of the cottages with a private pool ....it's small but perfectly formed and lovely to have your own facility. It leads directly from the open bathroom and you can almost swim against the spa jets. Excellent Restaurant and fantastic buffet choices - especially indian. Don't miss the (free) afternoon tea with little bite sized snacks or the first class Ayurvedic treatments. Papaya facial strongly recommended!
You can arrive in a houseboat having cruised the backwaters as hotel as its own jetty.

Room Tip: Choose cottage with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pondicherry, India
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This is was our second visit after 6 years and the property is still good. We were upgraded with suite which was a luxury. Our friends had the cottage with the meandering pool which was a great experience. Would recommend the meandering pool villas. The ambience is excellent and the service is very good too. A special word of thanks to Sanjay Varma ( front office manager) for his warm welcome and helpful attitude. Will always come back to this place.

Room Tip: Will recommend the meandering pool villas instead of the heritage pool villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kozhikode, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

nicely tucked away a few meters from the main road side, we decided to stop there for lunch... "perhaps the only paradise on earth" was what their logo said and i was thinking that it was plain arrogance till i stepped inside... the place itself and the view was breathtaking and the staff was so courteous we were indeed feeling like we walked into heaven.. we asked for the restaurant and opted for the seafood restaurant cos it was closer to, literally on, the water... my friends went berserk going around clicking every inch of the place cos every inch was in fact beautiful.. we also asked for permission to see the rooms and the staff was nice enough to show us around... we were however not allowed near the villas, understandably, in order to maintain their privacy.. with such splendid ambiance and service, honestly, we didn't quite expect good food, and was in for a surprise... the sea food platter was delicious with the coconut rice, and they were also flexible enough to bring the mushroom and vegetables from the other restaurant for my veg friend... the baby octopus needs special mention as i was 1st apprehensive about tasting it but now am craving for more... in every way it was a wonderful experience with the only regret being that i had planned for a house boat trip and therefore couldn't stay there longer...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumarakom Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.