We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kumarakom Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kumarakom Lake Resort to your Saves list
Kumarakom Lake Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

This is the best resort in the area. It is better than other properties as it offers a great view of the lake. It has a great spa and a wonderful holiday destination with the family.

The resort is big and world class. You have many activities that you can indulge in.

Food is nice as well.

During certain months - the wild weeds would grow and obstruct the lake access and view.

It also offers many opportunities to indulge in activities like boating, cycling etc.

Most of the villas have a private pool which is very interesting and you can spent hours in the pool with in the boundary of your room.

Worth the money spent.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    805
    224
    62
    14
    20
See reviews for
368
494
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (398)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Beautifully situated hotel overlooking Lake Vembanad. We had a room with direct access to the meandering pool and an "outdoor" bathroom. We arrived here after an overnight stay on a houseboat. Staff very friendly and courteous. Restaurants very nice and the food was superb - plenty of choice. Looking forward to returning here as it certainly has a very relaxed atmosphere.

Room Tip: Access to the meandering pool is wonderful - not too deep and ideal for a quick refresh.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed for 9 nights in the Kumarakom Lake Resort and had daily ayurveda treatments. The ayurveda treatments were very professional and relaxing (massages and medical treatments). We felt rejuvenated afterwards!
The hotel is authentic. We liked that it is not too big and does not feel crowded even if it is fully booked. The staff is very friendly. The daily sunset cruise is amazing. The other backwater tours that can be booked through the hotel can be recommended!
The view is gorgeous!
We were surprised that the hotel manages quite well to keep any mosquitos off the hotel area even if the hotel is located right at the lake.
The fish restaurant is particularly nice.
An overall wonderful and relaxing experience!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurgaon, India
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Although m little late in writing the review but i can't resist to write about this wonderful resort,
i visited their around early march 2012 for my honeymoon.
Although it was a part of our tour in kerala where we stay for only a night but the hotel facilities and excellent service made this stay, a stay to remember. i wish i could have stayed for more but package itinerary was such tight i had to move to kovalam the next day.
I really appreciate the restra service and quaility of food here, and give special acknowledge to restra manager Harry(i guess his name) which payed us the special attention and specially arranged for north indian paranthas for my wife.
I ll also acknowledge the fact that the room which i opt was really big and jacuzzi in bathroom was simply amazing. I would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay for more whenever i visit kumarakom next time.

Room Tip: I opted for Luxury pavilion rooms. Wonderful big rooms with jacuzzi bathrooms. If possible try for f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Excellent is the only word to describe this property,staff, food and ambience.on par with any properties in the world.will definitely go again with family.evening cruise is heavenly.we took it every day.massage in the spa is better than the one we had at chiva som in hua hin.food was excellent.the staff was very helpful.we had booked a pool villa but changed it to a room with jacuzzi .the bathroom was air conditioned and had a jacuzzi the size of a double bed.have stayed at the best of hotels all over the world but this takes the cake.

Room Tip: Rooms with jacuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Heritage hotel situated on banks of lake- 2 hour drive from Cochin airport. Get away from it all type of resort- tranquillity and serenity. The rooms and suites have outdoor bathrooms- some with plunge pools. The food is average - speciality seafood restaurant and main restaurant which has a buffet selection - mainly vegetarian but quite comprehensive. I would definitely recommend a spa experience as Kerela is famous for the Ayurveda treatments. The hotel manager and staff are really willing to please.
There is a palm reader,astrologist , caracaturist ,magician who are available for guests to consult. Also great traditional tea and local treats served at tea time for guests to enjoy. A trip on a houseboat is a must!!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This place has the best service I've ever experienced, and I've travelled A LOT. The only reason it's getting a 4 star is mainly because it's a wonderful place but not exactly in the BEST location. If you want to stay within the resort, though, I think it's definitely 4-5 stars. It's small and the history/heritage of these rooms is very interesting. The food is different every lunch and dinner - which is very impressive...and it's delicious! They also have free activities like pottery making and weaving and a boat ride around the lake (although the lake is quite boring...) They also have an ayurvedic spa/treatment centre which I've gone with quite often. It's an intriguing, old custom of India and it was certainly fun to try out. Overall, very very happy with this choice.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klresort, General Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review.We are happy to know that you were very happy with our services and facilities in particular your appreciation of Ayurmana,food,and other activities greatly appreciated.
Thank you for choosing to stay with Kumarakom Lake Resort and look forward to have you back with us.
With best regards
Joseph G Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumarakom Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.