We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If idling away is your idea, then this is the spot - but good time to visit is before Oct” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kumarakom Lake Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Kumarakom Lake Resort to your Saves list
Kumarakom Lake Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“If idling away is your idea, then this is the spot - but good time to visit is before Oct”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Excellent experience at Kumarakom Lake Resort.. decent service, idyllic in nature - because there isnt anything to do in Kumarakom. But the resort is good to stay for 2-3 nights.

The positives
- Not too far from the nearest airport (Cochin)
- Good rooms, the pvt pool is good in the heritage villa
- If not crowded, the areas by the lake are good for spending the evening
- the sunset cruise is a good addition as well
- Food is decent - though gets a bit repetitive if you stay longer
- Service isnt world class, but acceptable.

The negatives
- The insects that could come in the open-air bathrooms.
- The price in the peak season is fairly high
- the lake side has very few hammocks, only 2 - so when the resort would be full, there wouldnt be enough place by the lake side
- Nothing much to do in the town of Kumarakom aside of the resort and the sanctuary - so if you arent the types who can chill in the same place for long, then this might not be your type of a resort.

All in all, the peace by the lake is awesome - so going during the non-peak season is advisable.

Room Tip: Go Before Peak season sets in - and check for the weather - rains might not be too pleasurable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    804
    224
    62
    14
    20
See reviews for
368
493
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (397)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

I so want to give this a five star rating. The atmosphere and sheer beauty of the resort should be short of no lesser score. However, the drawbacks in the end were too many for me to be able to rate it five stars.
The trip was a long weekend stay with the family of four (two girls of 6 and 8) and we did the booking with the hotel directly over the phone and through email which worked fine and the sales person was very helpful and we ended up booking a heritage villa with a private pool including transfers and breakfast.
The problems started right as we arrived at the airport when the transfer that was reconfirmed just the day before wasn't there when we arrived so after calling the resort and waiting for 30 minutes they manage to get us in a cab that took us to the hotel. This is not why I pay twice the amount of a normal taxi to get airport transfers arranged by the hotel.
When we arrived the staff was very apologetic and gave us some snacks to eat in the room.
The other main problem is that unless you speak to one of the supervisors whether it comes to the restaurants or anything else you are likely to be disappointed because they are not trained to a five star level. Maybe some of it was due to the fact that the low season was just coming to an end but you still expect the best when you pay more than 300USD a night.
The pool area is small but nice. The pool is quite shallow but with small kids that is probably only an advantage. What was I pity though was that the pool bar / restaurant was in terrible shape and the service was absolutely horrendous. There was a small but quite alright menu to order from but it took ages to get and the glasses the drinks were served in were dirty. Again something you don't expect at a five star resort. When I asked why the service was so slow it got it explained that due to Kerala legislation they were not allowed to serve beer at the pool. Why have it there on the menu then?
In the end we had a nice stay. Not too much to do outside the resort, no restaurants or shopping unless you use a car but for pure relaxation it works well.

Room Tip: Probably not worth spending any extra money on a sea view villa when the view is pretty much blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The reason why i say this hotel to be of a different experience, is normally you dont go to the toilet in the open. But here you do, and even then you have privacy.
I would just say, that they are one of the best hotels i have stayed in. Great Rooms, Good food, great lake view.

Prefer the resident rooms over houseboats.

The rooms are not big on the downside.
The 3rd bed which comes along is only suitable for a 5 year old.

Overall a really nice lake resort.

Will recommend it to couples.

Room Tip: Always choose a Room with private pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

From the beginning our stay here was just amazing-I visited with my son in early March and we had 2 of the meandering pool villas which exceeded our expectations. The staff looked after us superbly . To sit outside with a cool drink on one of the planters chairs alongside the pool was just so relaxing. We went out on a rice boat on 2 days running as it was a lovely way to see all around the lake and much cooler than staying on shore. We would watch the sunset from the lakeside bar before having a delicious meal in one of the restaurants. One of the highlights was watching the man with a long pole with a piece of cloth attached to it wandering around the lawns at tea time. Finally we had to ask what he was doing and it turned out that his job was to scare the crows away from the people who were taking afternoon tea! a little bit of Paradise and I would certainly go back adn recommend it highly. The only thing that slightly let it down was that we had to pay for WiFi which at these prices should have been included.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Me and my wife booked a houseboat for one night. From the minute we checked in, it was an amazing experience. The staff were polite and friendly, always there to help. The food was delicious. The rooms in the houseboat were very comfortable. Nice beds, you could sleep on them for ages. The home theatre was really cool. I could go on forever. Everything was faultless.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

our reception started with chilled coconuts and went quickly downhill from there - the lady at reception was rude, and she openly lied to us on a number of occasions during our stay - firstly she refused to show us other rooms, saying they were full when there was a sign saying they were only 76% full, so we had to stick to the most expensive room they had allocated for us, which had an open bathroom - not suitable for three friends sharing...

then she lied when we asked for a phone charger, she said she would check, and then said no - turns out they had five chargers for blackberry phones...the manager was very helpful, but every time we had to deal with this women she was obstructive and dishonest

for an expensive 5 star hotel you expect amazing service - it ruins the stay if you are badly treated and we felt badly treated as soon as we got there

but the rooms and the infinity pool were beautiful - sunsets over the lake

Food in the seafood restaurant was excellent, wine far too overpriced, and what kind of 5 star hotel has a buffet? is it just me, or do you expect more...

in talking to others our experience was not unique - so my advice - do not stay here - it is not worth the money to be treated so bad

Room Tip: who knows - we were not able to see more than the most expensive heritage villa - it had an open air...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
klresort, General Manager at Kumarakom Lake Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for the review.My sincere apologies for the shortcomings on our part , particularly from the lady staff.I have taken up the issue with the staff and the Front Office Manager and assure you that such incidents are not repeated in future.
Thank you for staying with the Kumarakom Lake Resort and look forward to have you stay with us.
with best regards
Joseph G Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Went in December/january for our honeymoon. We were upgraded on checking in into the presendential suite, a splendid surprise!! Thank you!
The private pool had a few dead insects (at no fault of the resorts) but a pool boy was sent to clean the whole pool as soon as we bought it to there attention. The sunset views from the pool are breathtaking!
Food was good although slightly pricey..and we got a complimentary moonlit dinner. There are two very good restaurants on the resort and for those wanting to taste more of the culture, the reception happily organises for a taxi to take you to one of the more traditional local places!
The staff were excellent!! We got overcharged on one of the massage packages, within minutes of us leaving one of the managers rang to apologise and although it was only about 2000 rupees (£25), a member of staff was sent on a motorbike to catch up to our taxi and repay it!!

Overall, well exceeded expectations!!
Hope to go back!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kumarakom Lake Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kumarakom Lake Resort

Address: Kumarakom North Post, Kumarakom 686 566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kumarakom Lake Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kerala's leading resort by the side of famous Vembanadu lake, the largest backwaters of Kerala, located north of Kumarakom. An ideal backwater resort for honeymoon holidays, leisure holidays, family vacation, etc. All the villas are centrally air conditioned - There are 7 lake view heritage villa with plunge pools, 15 Heritage Garden view Villas with plunge pools, 26 meandering Pool Villas, 9 Luxury Pavillion Rooms with heated Jacuzzi, 2 Presidential Suite with private Pool and 4 Air conditioned House boats with 7 rooms. Air conditioned Conference hall with 85 Pax theatre style seating facility available. 100 seater restaurant with traditional Kerala architecture, 45 seater seafood restaurant with bar available. Kerala's traditional Ayurveda, Yoga, and backwater cruise facility available. The entire resort is Wi-Fi enabled. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelClick and Odigeo so you can book your Kumarakom Lake Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kumarakom Lake Hotel Kumarakom
Kumarakom Lake Resort Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kumarakom Lake Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.