We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellant service from Lakeview” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lake View House Boats

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kumarakom
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake View House Boats
Near Govt Boat Jetty | Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686566, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangalore, India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellant service from Lakeview”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

First of all thanks to Mr.Sreekumar and his crew( Jimmy,Kannan and Nidhin) for the excellent service they have provided.I took a 1 bedroom deluxe houseboat and Sreekumar made a complimentary upgrade to Premium boat.It was a new house boat with nice arrangements and it was very clean. We were served with Tender coconut water soon after our trip started.After an hour the boat stopped for lunch and the food was super tasty.The boat stopped near a rice field at the end of day 1 and the scenery was awesome.The crews told us the history and other details of the places we visited during our journey and they were very friendly.i would highly recommend Lakeview if you are planing for a house boat trip in kumarakom.The service provided by them was all above my expectation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    59
    37
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
45
44
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My family of 6 took the 2 days houseboat tour from Kumarakom. We have taken 1 day tour twice before (also on Lakeview houseboats) and the kids wanted to spend more time in the houseboat to enjoy.
We took a 3 bedroom houseboat and the arrangements made by Mr Sree Kumar was perfect. The cook on board our houseboat was really skilled and did a good job of whipping up several fantastic dishes.
Was told that there is a 3 day package available to travel from Kumarakom to Kollam. Will try it next trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Lake View House Boat

A cruise conjures up such romantic and exciting visuals. There is something about it that remains in the memory long after the cruise has happened. Combine this with the idea of a cruise in a houseboat and the excitement grows. This exciting holiday was available in Kerala.

The Vembanad lake stretching all the way from Cochin, (Kochi) to Alleppey via Kumarakom is literally littered with Houseboats of every kind, shape and cost. The variety stretches from a One bedroom House boat to a five bedroom Double storied boat each of them a floating hotel. The costs vary from 8000 a day to 25000 a day.

The main Jetty’s for boarding these HB’s are in Kumarakom and in Alleppey. They all follow a strict timetable and set sail around noon, which is also the check in time. Before we go ahead, please remember that the check out time is 9.30 am on the clock.

The straw thatched Houseboats are all built in a similar fashion. Upfront there is the steering wheel which you can take turns to steer the boat. Immediately behind this is a sit out and dining room, mostly open on the sides, bating of a TV set and Music system and behind this the bedrooms. The Kitchen and Pantry are at the end of the boat.

Having been on several Houseboats in Kashmir, the luxury of the boat was not surprising. The Kashmir boats however are larger. They also do not cruise. The HB’s here in Kerala all have ensuite bathrooms and are very comfortable. However please do not expect to charge your phones and lap tops as there are hardly any power points provided. Please also note that power to see TV and charge your phones is only available after sunset when the Boat is finally moored for the night.

The boats sail into the lake in a fixed route. If starting from Kumarakom, the boats will sail for a couple of hours before mooring at a nearby jetty built in the middle of the lake. Lunch will be served here and then there will be another cruise taking the guests to Alleppey on the other side of the lake.

All around are other houseboats and the lake is dotted with Fishermen setting their nets for fresh fish and for Prawns and shell fish. During this cruise, post lunch these fishermen approach you with fresh shell fish, crabs and prawns which you can purchase and ask your Chef to cook. There are no cooking charges but the cost of the dishes is not cheap. Even the Bazaar you will stop in later in the evening have the same prices.
You are encouraged to purchase the wares; other than the novelty it also saves the Boat Chef some money. It is amazing that though there is fish everywhere, the menu onboard only serves One chicken dish along with a Dal and a Vegetable dish. There is such a tight union of the boatmen that all the menus and prices are alike. A shame that the Kerala government which runs most of these boats cannot provide Keralite fare on the boats.

The cruise itself is great fun. As the boat slices across the placid waters of the lake at a fairly fast clip, one is treated to a plethora of pleasing visuals. There are the mandatory fishermen, birds of a hundred different hues and the changing scenery as you pass islands dotted with coconut palms and thatched huts.

As sunset approaches, the boats head for a different Bund made in the Lake. These bunds are slightly bigger and host several huts which are inhabited by the owners men with their families. The main purpose of these huts is to provide to each houseboat electricity and mooring.

Sunset over the lake was like a painting, with the lake set on fire by the sinking sun. Just this scene is enough to make the cruise worth its weight in gold. This is also when we discovered our biggest mistake. As the amazing sunset melded into the twilight hour, the mosquitoes attacked. Hundreds of them. There is simply no refuge in our open boat, except to escape to the bedrooms, which suddenly feel cramped and tiny.

When you plan to hire a houseboat, insist that you are given one which has a enclosed front. These boats have sliding windows which seals off the living room from the elements and the blood hungry mosquitoes. Then in air conditioned comfort you can see enjoy the galaxy of stars coming out and winking at you as you relax with a glass of whatever you enjoy most.

You can also then laze over the fish and Prawns your boatman has coerced you to purchase.

Morning Breakfast is served as you cruise back to the end of the journey. Even this segment is very interesting as you now see the same fishermen who were laying out their nests, pull them out and see what the lake has offered to them overnight.

Room Tip: Hire only the boats which have an enclosed front sitting and dining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

I booked this tour with Sree Kumar tours. We only booked 1 night and day. We booked the luxury deluxe, but were kindly upgraded to the premium boat. We were only the second people to cruise on their brand new premium houseboat.

The boat was very clean and decorated in a very modern style. We loved it. It had a sofa and glass windows, so even when you were inside you could still see the beautiful backwaters.

The cruise was very good. The chef that we had cooked us the best food we have tasted all trip. It was all freshly made and the most tasty and flavourful food we had eaten.

We stopped for lunch for an hour and the overnight stay was next to rice paddies. Dinner was served upon our request. Breakfast in the morning was served whilst cruising. I would have preferred to have had breakfast first and then began the cruise but this is only a minor thing.

Even though the house boat is very nicely decorated, it could do with some outdoor seating area. We sat out on the deck, which was fine, but if they were looking to improve then out door seating area on the premium houseboat would make the boat perfect.

All in all the trip was fantastic and a highlight of our holiday. If I had to change something then I would have liked to have cruised longer.

Booking and communication was seem less as well with Sree Kumar. On the morning of our cruise we went to his office and he then took us to the boat jetty where our house boat was.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Date of journey 26th to 31st dec2012
Places seened:kovallam, allepy house boat stay, munnar
This tour I had taken the package by a agent called as sree tour n travels owner is sreekumar I got reference though tripcrafters very usefull site it will help you about your plan so I registered this site I got the mail n call I told I want 5nights6days they had sended me mail about tour agent immediately the agent man called me about the quotation I got 3 agents n selected this tour on the basis of cost per couple .

Kovalam:best beach in south kerala n for food especially seafood I love it n visited the famous temple called as padmathan swamy temple in trivandrum as well as light house near the beach

House boat:we had taken deluxe ac houseboat only one bedroom n very very amazing one to stay we enjoyed alot n food very tasty no doubt at all I enjoyed seafood n the plumcake too , very useful for honeymoon couple even married couple never miss it you will enjoy very much.

Munnar:wow munnar is awesome places very greenish places its a hillstation visited elephant camp like elephant ride, spieces plant, martial arts called kathakala fights show, tata tea factory, rajamali called evarikulam national park, rose garden, mattupatty dam n boating, ecopoint n we didnot go to toppoint cause the package is not inculded , ayurveda massage centre mayura very professional doctor I had taken fullbody massage the massage man is very professional trainer he had given me good massage.

Accommodation:
Kovallam:sagara beach resort 3star ac deluxe
Allepy:boathouse stay
Munnar:green ridge hotel 3star standard room

Food (restaurant):
Kovallam:
Day one :night dinner In sagar beach resort very expensive buffet taste average
Day two:breakfast package included , lunch at cafe de la mar very good resort it is also called jeevan beach resort good taste n good rate veg n non veg food are tasty , evening time snacks at german backery wow super resort we had coffee n the rate is very high, night time dinner at coconut grove very good resort n good rate as well as taste is very good those who love seafood kovalam beach has many different fish I had orderd chora tuna fish crap n king prawns the rates for this season are expensive cos of season.

Alleppy:day three
Houseboat cook man had prepared veg n non veg n the tasty amazing no doubt at all I had karimeen fish it is called pearl fish in the afternoon time n night time another fish pomfret fry wow he prepared very well n good taste.

Day four
Munnar:
On the way to munnar we went farmyard resturant for lunch average food n the rate normal n night had buffet the taste is average but I had orderd fish briyani the fish salomon ney meen the taste is ok n the rate is good one thing the seafood is not fresh stock coz they store more than 3days I reguest you members dont order seafood best is vegetarian.
Day 5:we had breakfast in the hotel which is included the package n afternoon time lunch we had at sarvana bhavan super super veg meals very good taste n cheap rate n night time we had at anapoorna hotel the taste is very bad n the rate too very high .
Day 6:breakfast in hotel.

So overall the package is very good n the only we made mistakes is tht we booked the flight tickets bothways in cochin if you book in cochin n return in trivandrum then it would be perfect coz day one we are on the way from cochin to trivandrum by car which took almost 8hrs in between we had the lunch in cochin hotel acardia very good restaurants the taste is super both veg n non veg the rate too very cheap I had nan meen fish briyani .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

It tells you to board the house boat near Govt. jetty but once you reach there you may be asked to travel further 5-7kms to board the boat. The operator does not bother to inform you regarding this neither compensate your extra expenditure due to his negligence.
It promises you to show many places , but con you by making a round trip in the nearby lake , if you are not aware , you would be told that this is all you have to see. Instead of spending 10-20 thousand rupees , you can enjoy same facility with 4-5 thousand rupees for a round trip.
How ever the boat being hired by Lake view house boat i.e. Apsara was an excellent house boat with excellent crew members.
Be aware of such agencies, if any body wants I can provide the e-mails of this company where he promised a lot and the money receipt of the company where the crew of the boat mentioned the places he covered . The contact person of this company are ill behaving,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We have taken 4N 5D plan for lake view boat house and Waterscape Resorts.
Boat house was really good and enjoyable experiance for couples.
Few worrying factors in boathouse are :
1.Bed quality
2.bath water quality

Room Tip: Boat house Bed could have been better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake View House Boats? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake View House Boats

Address: Near Govt Boat Jetty | Kumarakom, Kumarakom 686566, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty lodging in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake View Houseboat, pioneers in Kerala Backwater cruise, starts its operation During 2002. We have 6 houseboats with a total of 12 rooms for renting. We are located at Kumarakom Govt Boat Jetty, Kumarakom Kerala. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lake View House Boats Kumarakom, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake View House Boats, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Lake View House Boats to your Saves list