We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Lagoon to your Saves list
Coconut Lagoon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Hotels in Kumarakom
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

From the time you boat the shuttle boat, you feel welcomed! The individual bungalows, with outside bathrooms, are novel. The rooms are quite large, well air conditioned with ceiling fan also. Coffee/tea making furnished. Dining in the seafood restaurant was beyond words fabulous! Fresh seafood galore! The staff are super accommodating and friendly. We hated to depart the next morning on our houseboat. Please, let us stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    159
    35
    13
    8
See reviews for
187
317
19
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed two nights at the end of March and found it to be a totally enjoyable and relaxing experience from our arrival at the jetty until the time we departed by houseboat for the next part of our holiday.
Our heritage bungalow was extremely comfortable and full of character.The outdoor bathroom was great.
The restaurant food was excellent and the service friendly and helpful.
We enjoyed a stroll past the local village which gave us a chance to chat to some of the villagers.
We would thorougly recommend the Coconut Lagoon as a wonderful and unique experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

This property is nicer than it looks on the website, and I have never had that experience before! We stayed in one of the pool suites and it was really wonderful, very well designed. One example, you could enter from the pool area directly into the bathroom or into the generous living room. The pool was not so terribly tiny as they can be sometimes, and best of all behind the pool and sun lounger area there was a wonderful small private porch that over looked a rice paddy/field that belongs to the hotel which attracted wonderful bird life in the morning and evening. There were also chairs on the front porch of the suite looking over the huge lake, and each unit has it's own hammock out front also.

The staff was fabulous, the property is lovely and the special seafood restaurant was great.
We wished we had more time there, the website had made me think we didn't need to stay long! A great place to truly relax and read piles of books...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent two nights here and had an amazing time just relaxing and chilling out, having spent the past 2 weeks on a busy tour of Northern India. Cottages are really comfortable and outdoor bathroom was different but a good experience. Pool area is spacious with plenty of sun loungers. Food in the seafood restaurant was amazing! Lots of activities available to guests and free wi-fi too which was rare in other hotels in India! Ayruvedic treatments were very good value, although not as peaceful as they are at home - people coming in and out of the room during your treatment and staff members chatting loudly disturbed the tranquility somewhat. Similar experiences had in other places throughout India so don't think this is specific to this hotel. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

this is out of the world experience...i don't know how they made it but whatever they did is just amazing...you feel like you are at heaven...stayed at pool villa with a full sea view pvt swimming pool and lake view with balcony at back...totally life time remembering experience.

Room Tip: take pool villa if you can afford :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We found Coconut Lagoon to be a wonderful experience. We were greeted by a man playing the musical instrument flute when we arrived. Rooms were comforatble but the surprise was the toilet open to the sky. Food was delicious. The staff went out of its way. The final touch was the staff came out to wave at us as we were leaving.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

If you like to experience India at arm's length (or should I say boat 's length) then this place is a perfect retreat. Indeed, initially, I was worried about the hermetically sealed nature of this place, but you find yourself being bowled over by the outstanding warmth, grace and hospitality of the entire staff.

The pool was excellent, with sunbeds aplenty, but it really was lovely to sit on the veranda of our comfortable bungalow and watch the varied birdlife and boats pass by. The food was very good, if a little on the expensive side (no doubt due to one's captivity) but, if you truly want to splash out, the seafood restaurant serves superb dishes, in a wonderful ambience, although at European prices.

Certainly, the range of free and chargeable activities were many and varied, including a free and delightful sunset cruise, bird watching, cookery etc... so it's fair to say that this is a quite a special place (as evidenced by Paul McCartney' s stay!)

Room Tip: Bungalows denying onto water seem the best-selling had 228, facing the backwaters. The super deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Address: PO Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.