We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“relaxing trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Save Saved
You added Coconut Lagoon to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coconut Lagoon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 hotels in Kumarakom
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“relaxing trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just as good and peaceful as our first stay 5 years ago, even though the surrounding backwaters are alot more busy. This does not have all the trappings of other 5 * hotels like room service and TVs in the rooms and the bathrooms are outside, but that just adds to its charm.
The no tipping policy (give one amount to be split between all staff at the end) really helped us relax and the hotel grounds and surrounding areas are absolutely beautiful.
All the staff were very helpful and friendly and the on-site naturalists really enhanced the stay with information about the local birds and butterflies. The pool was well used by our teenage kids and we enjoyed hiring a small boat from the hotel to explore the local area.
My husbands birthday was marked by the hotel staff by decorating our table in the restaurant and presenting a cake at the end of the meal with ALL the waiters singing happy birthday to him.
The grounds were not perfect due to the time of year and when it rained it really rained but all in all we were sad to leave and would deffinately come back. Perhaps next time we would opt for the pool villa as these have a much better veiw of the lake then the garden cottages.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

603 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    411
    144
    29
    13
    6
See reviews for
159
283
16
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This was a slice of paradise in God's own country! From the minute the boat arrived to whisk us off to Coconut Lagoon we were in for a treat, we sailed along the backwaters of Kumaracom and our arrival was hosted by beautiful flute playing, posies of flowers and coconut water refreshment as we checked in. We arrived late afternoon and sadly due to a road strike our driver had informed us we had to leave by 4.45 am to travel to our next destination before the road block! We therefore had to pack in as much as we could within that evening and we certainly did! Our son took to the pool while we relaxed beside it, he then went Kiyaking, one of the payable but cheap amenities, while we strolled along the river bank and sat awhile taking in the scenery. This was followed by a delightful sunset cruise, accompanied by our flute player, adding a romantic and mystical touch. The staff were delightful, especially the lovely young lady whose name I unfortunately forget but her name began with G and she came from Apelly across the water! My husband and I then rushed off to catch the yoga session which was surreal, forget piped birdsongs while you meditate, this was the real thing! The Yoga man(Yogi?) had the most relaxing voice I have ever heard, while he practically sung his yoga instructions. I've rarely dabbled in Yoga but I could have become a devotee here! Meanwhile our son took another dip in the pool. Our evening finished with a lovely buffet meal in the outside candle lit resteraunt, delicious meal, attentive staff and the Indian souavignon blanc was perfectly acceptable. The place itself was full of tiny canals bridges and walkways as we meandered back to our little bungalow by the river, clean with wooden interior, a bit olds worldly, with a bathroom that hosted a banana tree! I could have stayed for ever, or at the very least an extra day or night. If I ever come back to Kerala I will definitely return! Heaven!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

We love our stay at coconut lagoon. Very interesting place, good food, loved there cardamom tea. Very nice and serene. Rooms are big spacious all wooden .... Open bathrooms looks very pretty.... We were thr during November it was raining lightly. The only problem I faced was in the pretty open bathroom thr wr snails crawling it freaked me out at times, but I cannot complain I was thr during rainy season. ... My husband is a television freak.... And yes thr is no television only one in the convention room which I thought was the best part but my husband hated that idea. Spa is excellent my skin completely changed thr, it was glowing. They take you out for a river cruise as well. I'll surely come back to this place.... Totally loved it.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Coconut Lagoon for one evening and thought it was the perfect soft landing after a peaceful houseboat trip on Kerala’s sleepy backwaters. We thoroughly enjoyed our visit and our only regret is that we didn’t stay an extra night.

Location/Service
The property is primarily accessible by boat, making it convenient for our houseboat captain to drop us off at the perimeter of the well-kept and picturesque resort where we were immediately greeted by a staff member. From the time we arrived on the property to our departure, the staff was very attentive and did everything they could to make our stay pleasant and memorable. We were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel was able to accommodate our very early morning check-in.

Room
Our lovely duplex was located in a semi-detached cottage: the bathroom and small sitting area were on the lower level and bedroom loft was on the top floor. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean and the outdoor shower was a nice touch (with the exception of mosquitoes at night).

Dining
We allotted extra time for meals as service was quite slow at both restaurants. We enjoyed breakfast and lunch at the main restaurant and appreciated the healthy and wide range of options, including fresh-squeezed juices and the pickle/chutney bar. We also enjoyed our dinner and the live music at the seafood restaurant and would suggest sitting under the thatched roof to avoid the bugs and having an early dinner to avoid a long wait.

Amenities/Activities
Despite only being at Coconut Lagoon for a short time, we were able to enjoy many of the activities that the resort offered. We appreciated the number of free activities (and the reasonable cost for those with a fee) as well as how accessible the activities were to guests. The sunset cruise was well worth the time. The cooking demonstration, guided butterfly tour, and bird watching tours were enjoyable and informative. Sunrise yoga was relaxing, but not particularly vigorous since the class accommodated all levels. The gift shop offered reasonably-priced souvenirs and cookbooks. The pool was mostly enjoyable, but we noticed some adult guests grumbling about the number of noisy families with small children carrying on while in the pool (overall, we did not find this to be a problem on the rest of the property).

While we enjoyed most of the activities and amenities, there were a few disappointments. We found the Ayurvedic treatment at the spa disappointing and less than comfortable after getting a rushed consultation with the Ayurvedic doctor and witnessing some internal confusion between the staff. Also, the early morning martial arts exhibit was less than impressive and consisted of hotel staff doing morning warm-up exercises.

Summary
Whether you decide to relax on a waterfront hammock or fill your schedule with activities, Coconut Lagoon is a lovely and tranquil place to spend a few days while in Kerala. If you schedule smartly, you can take advantage of many of the activities during your stay, while still maintaining a relaxed pace. I would highly recommend a stay at this resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Sttayed at coconut lagoon in April, though the weather was bit warm, the stay at the hotel was very comfortable. It is an amazing place. Needs quite a few days of stay if u really want to enjoy it thoroughly & unfortunately i didnt have that time at hand. The cottages made from wood salvaged from old traditional kerala homes are just amazing & give a very warm & rich look. lots & lots of open space is the USP.However one thing was a little put off, the nooks & corners of the room had lot of unattended dust & cobwebs which do not expect when u pay such a heft price for the room. Definitely want to go back & enjoy the place at leisure.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Great place. Full board deal should be considered because you can only get there by boat so nowhere to go. Only one restaurant to eat in during low season

Beautiful butterflies and birds. Rice boats floating by and bungalows separated by canals. Lots of people to wave at.

Bird and butterfly walks are lovely. Yoga by a padi field enclosed in a ( necessary ) mosquito net. Traditional Indian music at night. cookery class and more

Children looked very happy

Therapy centre not tried

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

+1 Wonderful location
+2 Boat ride from Jetty to hotel
+3 Inviting with flute
+4 Friendly front desk
+4 Wonderful invitation with tender coconut
+5 Beautiful rooms (with open toilet, bed room above, nice sitout, etc.)
+6 Good vegetarian food
+7 Excellent location
+8 Good swimming pool
+9 Sendoff with Tabla music
+10 Geethu, the naturalist, with a pleasing smile

Room Tip: Opt for rooms on the lake side to have a serene atmosphere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Address: PO Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.