We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“simbly superba!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coconut Lagoon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Coconut Lagoon to your Saves list
Coconut Lagoon
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Kumarakom
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Mumbai
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“simbly superba!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

simbly superba!! thats how the locals say it.awesome backwater resort in kumarakom.everything at the resort is worth a mention the rooms are huge bathrooms lavish with open air shower. the rooms decor is ethnic kerala style architecture. there are so many activities at the resort that you really feel two dayts not just not enough!! please book for a minimum of three nights. the food is delicious and has a great variety and spread.overall a big thumbs up from us!!! would surely be back soon.

Room Tip: choose the pool villas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    523
    178
    39
    14
    8
See reviews for
196
360
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zürich, Schweiz
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Coconut Lagoon is an amazing place. Imagine a resort in the middle of countless canals that indulges in the luxury to harvest the rains to improve the water quality in its premises?! Not only water is collected, so is the waste. With the leafs of the countless trees the resort creates its own cooking gas. These are just a few of the elements that make this hotel so outstandingly "green".
Nice, large rooms and suites and great food are the other attributes, why a stay becomes yo memorable at the Coconut Lagoon. Loved every moment of my stay and am truly impressed of how luxury and eco sensitivity can be combined to make its guests feel at home.

Room Tip: The Heritage Mansions are old traditional rooms with a separate living room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

3 friends and I spend some days at the Coconut Lagoon hotel in Kumarakom, Kerala, on our way to the backwaters. I had already heard positive feedback about this place, but it totally exceeded my expectations! The place is breathtaking (private island next to beautiful Kerala Backwaters, next to a rice field and coconut forests), the facilities are super original and well maintained (build on a Historical Landmark, each room is a private villa with really cool open-air bathrooms), the food super tasty (authentic Kerala food), and the service exceptional (they receive you with a flute “recital” and coconut natural water). Also the hotel is eco-friendly and has many cool activities (Yoga at dawn in front of beautiful rice fields, cooking classes of Kerala food, etc.)
Definitely a magical place that I will never forget!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

We have stayed at this wonderful resort twice and will be back just as soon as we can. Arriving on the boat Darter gives you the first taste of just how special this place is. The food is wonderful and the service superb - attention to detail and genuine care makes this one of my favourite places anywhere. Take advantage of the free activities from a trip with a botanist to the butterfly garden to the sunset cruise - a very special place indeed.

Room Tip: The bungalows nearest to the backwaters are lovely - you can sit on your balcony and watch the river...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
144 helpful votes 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hotel is a little piece of heaven and I was terribly sorry that we could not stay longer. Our bungalow was lovely and peaceful, the gardens and scenery spectacular and the food abundant and delicious. The staff were helpful and charming and fell about laughing at my husbands efforts to wear the local "mundu" which kept falling off. We had toleave to go on one of the houseboats but my suggestion would be to ignore the houseboats and just stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

Coconut lagoon definitely has a traditional kerala charm to it. Right from the architectural brilliance, the location and the layout. The food is a mixed cuisine where they serve the kerala traditional dishes along with the western cuisines too. The buffet spread is quite varied and a good choice too.

The rooms are comfortable and does not have TV. You may look at it either ways...for us..it was definitely an advantage..as we were there on a weekend getaway and not to watch TV ! There arent much activities to do around the place.. but its amazing for a lazy stroll across the paddy fields or by the lakeside. You also get to see a good variety of butterflies and dragonflies in their gardens. For the animal lovers, they have cows, calves, goats and a kid.. The animals are very friendly and actually come towards to you to be petted !

The staff is very courteous and very very well mannered. They ensure you a maximum comfort during your stay. The pool is well maintained and a lazy dip during the hot afternoons followed by an amazing buffet lunch and an afternoon nap does wonders in relaxing you ! The sunset cruise with an artist playing the flute in the boat was really overwhelming !

Overall, me and my husband had an amazing weekend at the place and really looking forward to going there sometime soon again ! It was definitely a weekend getaway which we are going to fondly remember all our life !

Ps: Being a newly married couple out on a visit to this place, the staff threw in a few freebies for us like their honeymoon special cocktail drinks during our lunch and dinners there !

Regards,
Deepthi & Akshay

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cgh_earth_experience, Vice President Marketing at Coconut Lagoon, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
Dear Deepthi and Akshay,
Congratulations on starting a new life together. Am glad your stay at Coconut Lagoon was enjoyable. It is obvious from your review that you took the time to try your hand at several of the Coconut Lagoon offerings and am glad you were able to connect with them positively. We do hope you will come back and visit some of the other properties of the cgh earth experience hotels, maybe to celebrate a year of togetherness. We look forward to providing you with many more memorable experiences.
Once again I thank you for sending in your review on Coconut Lagoon
Regards,
Anjali Tolani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennett Square, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We were thrilled with our stay and would go back again, longer next time. Staff was wonderful, friendly. Cottage was great, food amazing. Location beautiful. This experience was perfect in every way, except that we had to leave. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Coconut Lagoon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coconut Lagoon

Address: PO Box 2, Kumarakom 686563, India
Location: India > Kerala > Kumarakom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kumarakom
#1 Family Hotel in Kumarakom
#3 Business Hotel in Kumarakom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coconut Lagoon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coconut Lagoon is CGH Earth group's 'celebration of Kerala' on the Vembanad Lake, Kumarakom. Built on a coconut grove with water channels in between, this is truly a unique experience for the guests. As a responsible tourism venture, this eco resort brings alive the culture of the place as well as take good measures to protect the environment through its many recycling and protection processes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Coconut Lagoon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coconut Lagoon Hotel Kumarakom
Coconut Lagoon Kumarakom, Kerala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coconut Lagoon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.