We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Poor Hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Star Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sun Star Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sun Star Beach Hotel
Cumhuriyet Mah. Selahattin Yaman Cad. Mahmutlar, Mahmutlar, Polatli 07450, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mahmutlar
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Poor Hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Ok, where to start??
No welcome meeting from a rep.

Food was really poor, the "hot" food was cold

The hotel was full of Russians who have no manners what so ever.

Bar staff were very rude.

The All inclusive title this hotel comes with is pathetic. Alcoholic drinks are Beer, White Wine, Red Wine, Gin & Vodka. If you dont like any of them it's gonna work out expensive for you.
Even simple things like ice cream you have to pay extra for

Getting a sun lounger by the pool is impossible as there is only approx 50 beds and well over 1000 guests. People were getting towels on the beds really early then never using them aswell.

The "entertainment" team were poor aswell, nothing on in the hotel on a night, you have to go down to the beach to watch it (aimed at kids) where you have to buy your drinks.

We just never felt welcome at this hotel from start to finish

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. The view was the best part of our stay here (5th Floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    5
    7
    9
    18
See reviews for
15
12
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rzeszow
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We had a spacious room in which the whole family can comfortably survive. That was the only good thing about the hotel. Rooms dirty - cleaned every day but the ladies only wipe the floor wet and make the beds. Air conditioning gives bad smell. No info in the catalogue (Wezyr) that hotel is divided into 3 separate buildings. 3rd building is about 6 minutes of fast walk to the beach.
Hotel full of Russians who are smoking everywhere, even at a restaurant during meals. Drinks at the beach are charged 7 TL per bottle. You can go to the beach bar and have a drink but only there, taking beer to the beach is prohibited. I was stopped on the way and directed to the reception because almost nobody of the staff can speak English, even that didn’t help I had to leave the beer.
Restaurant – constant food fight and waiting for forks, staff can take your plates and cutlery even you haven’t finished eating, most people take tons of food , eatable food disappears in second. In block C wine to the dinner is served in plastic cups. During 7 days of our stay – the same fish served 4 times.
From the good points – the sea, sand mixed with little stones and some rocks deeper in the sea, warm, but waves are big and may be dangerous if you are not a good swimmer.
One more thing about this hotel - you travel by bus to the airport and it takes 3 – 3,5 hours.
All info including animation (cartoons) are in Russian.

Take your own cutlery - you won't wait at a restaurant :)

Room Tip: Avoid economy rooms I think the ceiling is lower and there is no balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaandam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Great hotel, very Nice staff and very friendly! THE animation team is every day busy for THE children and every evening for the adults,very friendly ! Clean rooms,every day housekeeping and every 2 days clean towels. Food buffet was really big, every day for everybody something else,meat,lasagne,fries,you name it!im really going back next yeah!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

PLEASE DO NO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL.
No English family,s are there, staff are rude, rooms are standard, water runs brown, food is shocking, the pool is filthy, never cleaned, food around pool side is shocking sweetcorn, and candy floss are chargeable,there is no Animation team as such, but play films in Russian and charge you for drinks,
This Hotel fails all Health and Safety requirements.
Warning Do not go there
Steve Jo 23rd July 2012 (We lasted two days only )

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

This year we went back again to this hotel and we didn't regret. We had to choose from a list of hotels in the area and we decided to go where we already knew instead of trying something new. We discovered during our walks most of the hotels the agency proposed and we didn't regret a thing. I keep my previous opinion.
The new thing is that they have an extra new building, bigger building, further from the beach (150-200m) and with lot of rooms with sea view. From what I've heard from other guests, staying there wasn't too pleasant as the new building had a noisy pub/club in the grounds and it is close to a mosque that would call for pray early in the morning.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the A or B building. A tip would help but not guarantee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

exterior of the hotel was beautiful, the rooms were nice, but the food was very very poor, the whole 7 days the food was the same, there was allmost no meat, but if it was it has run out in the first 10 minutes. The rooms were cleaned only by folding bed sheets and towels, which were stained all seven days .they didnt bring toilet paper, even though we complained. IN The room there were not glasses, ashtrays. in The hotel no one spoke English, so we did not get the required information. The pool was small, and closed at 18.30.

Room Tip: Pick some other hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochefort en Terre, France
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed in the newest building which was furthest from the beach and for a budget A/I, I must say the hotel was of a good standard. The local drinks were abysmal, the food was as it always is in these circumstances, pretty repetitive but the salads were good, which was a result because that was the only thing left after the eastern bloc clientelle had decended on the buffet! At least fifteen Moscovites could be seen queing 20 minutes before any given mealtime and quite often there would be no meat left due to the larger members of this contingent piling their plates as full as possible. This was nothing compared to 'Operation Desert Storm', when there was cake of any description for desert, all Russian family members were fully briefed in order to ensure not a crumb remained for anyone else. We wondered if they were in the know and had inside info about a run on the Turkish meat and cake markets.. or if things were pretty grim at home with these things being in short supply in which case one can only feel sympathy. Their rudeness was a little trying though. On returning to our room after eating out, the lift opened to reveal a Russian 'lady' with an enormous plate full of food smuggled out of the hotel restaurant, we could only surmise that she must have antisipated having the worst case of 'the munchies'.The hotel staff coped valiantly though, they were helpful and cheerful and nothing was too much trouble... he odd tip really helps here.
We decided to hire a car to explore the area, we met 'Jessy' at Bussy bar just opposite our building who suggested we talk to Mehmet at the local change office, this turned out to be a boon... his were by far the best currency exchange rates and he arranged a great hire car for €20 per day! Now Alanya was ours to explore... and at the risk of life and limb... we explored it all.. Dim cay, Pron Chai... fantastic! Alanya... Gorgeous! The Castle is stunning and the bars/restaurants have amazing views, our bar was complete with white chickens and ducks wandering around which only added to our enjoyment. The bazaars are great fun although they mostly stock tat, nevertheless, there are a few gems to be found...ruthless haggling is expected and, I found... respected...this will probably involve being invited to drink chai, the local tea which is very pleasant, Don't weaken! Drive a hard bargain and be prepared to walk away...This won't be considered rude.
Kleopatras bay was as everyone says, beautiful but we found (Gazipasa 30k in the opposite direction) to be gorgeously unspoilt with a great beachside bar where you can park in a cave to shelter your car from the heat. We floated on Lilo's in glorious isolation whilst gazing up at imposing cliffs and mountains. We ate in a restaurant on the way back which was perched on a cliff and had cushioned bedouin style seating areas looking down on a secluded beach where we ate fantastic food and watched the sun go down. Needless to say, we fell in love with Turkey, we found it was a beautiful country with friendly and accommodating people and we are now planning our next visit.
Despite the Russian food sortie, we enjoyed our stay at the hotel apart from the people in the next room had an incessant cough which kept me awake from 4am most mornings!!! You know who you are! Hardly the hotels faulth though:-)

Room Tip: If you booked A/I, be prepared to eat out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sun Star Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Star Beach Hotel

Address: Cumhuriyet Mah. Selahattin Yaman Cad. Mahmutlar, Mahmutlar, Polatli 07450, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Ankara Province > Polatli > Mahmutlar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Mahmutlar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sun Star Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Star Beach Hotel Mahmutlar
Sun Star Beach Alanya
Sun Star Beach Hotel Turkey/Mahmutlar

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Star Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.