We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Josselin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le 14 St Michel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Le 14 St Michel to your Saves list
Le 14 St Michel
14 rue saint Michel, 56120 Josselin, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Josselin B&B and Inns
Montreal
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Perfect place to stay in Josselin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Viviane and Patrice are natural hosts and lovely, warm people who have a talent for making people feel at ease. We loved the location in a charming medieval town in Brittany. The house has been in Patrice's family for generations and the owners obviously cherish it. It is very well kept and modernized but still has the feel of a home. Our room was spacious and contained some antique furniture with wonderful views of the village. There is complimentary wifi that works well. The bathroom was modern and everything was very clean. We were able to use a lovely living area as well as the dining room, where Viviane worked her magic, preparing fresh crepes and homemade yogurt daily. An assortment of fresh bread and jams, several types of juices, good coffee and tea appeared quickly and with Viviane's ready smile. She went out of her way to provide everything we needed for our comfort at le 14 St Michel. In addition, we were given excellent recommendations for restaurants and sightseeing, and even directions for attractions on your way to Normandy. Someone should give Viviane a tourism award as she recommended so many interesting places we will simply have to come back to see them all. She also responds to emails and distinguished herself by being the only establishment owner I wrote to who actually responded to my emails. As we were traveling overseas, this was very reassuring. We were also able to use the lovely yard to relax. Of all the places we stayed in during our two weeks in France, this was by far my favorite.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
35
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peregian Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed one night in spacious, comfortable and tastefully furnished room 4 in late September. Viviane and her husband were very warm and welcoming and the house has a nice armosphere. . Viviane made a superb breakfast -- homemade yogurt and crepes, fresh juices, plus great bread and good coffee. She also gave good advice about where to eat after our preferred restaurant was closed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Viviane and Patrice Le Goff were charming hosts, they went out of their way to speak English to our schoolboy/schoolgirl French. The room was very comfortable, dinner at the table d'hote was tasty and the dishes were inventive and wholesome. Good humour emanated from this French couple and dinner was an enjoyable affair.
Breakfast was very special with home-made yoghurt and mouthwatering crepes. Would definitely plan another visit.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night during our cycling trip in Brittany. We had a very nice spacious room with modern bathroom. Very nice breakfast included crepes. Centrally located. Would certainly recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This was the first time that we had stayed in a B&B in france, and what a lovely house it was !.
The Lady that runs it was very nice and was very helpful, giving us lots of info of places to visit in the area. We had Room no 3 which was full of french character and charm.
Josselin is very medieval and beautiful.
We highly recommend this B&B and cannot wait to stay there again but for longer!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

You will not be disappointed if you choose this small family run B&B. Situated in the very centre of the delightful historic town of Josselin it is nevertheless quiet and you will be charmed by the lovely exterior and by the friendliness of the owners. Our twin bedded room was very large, quirky and comfortable and the ensuite, whilst dated, meets your needs. Breakfast is highly recommended and whilst it is described as 'continental' we were delighted with the additional home made crepes, yoghurt and fruit juice. WiFi is available free of charge. We will certainly return when we are back in the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The tourist quide books I own have grossly understated Josselin - it is truly amazing. The chateau is breath-taking and the medieval houses charming. Plenty of places to eat and have coffee. We had a lovely room in this B & B. The lady who runs it couldn't have been nicer and the breakfast was the best we have had in ages, and included in the price. We shall definitely be coming back here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le 14 St Michel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le 14 St Michel

Address: 14 rue saint Michel, 56120 Josselin, France
Location: France > Brittany > Morbihan > Josselin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Josselin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le 14 St Michel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le 14 St Michel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.