We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second visit just as good but please sort out the Lotus Bar!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rixos Sungate Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rixos Sungate Hotel to your Saves list
Rixos Sungate Hotel
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cifecesmeler Mevkii, Beldibi 07980, Turkey   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 56 Hotels in Beldibi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cambridge
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Second visit just as good but please sort out the Lotus Bar!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Returned August 2012 with children 15 and 9 after a super holiday last year. Brits still in a minority(259 out of 3000 guests the week we were there!) which might matter to some but not us. We had an amazing 2 bed 2 bath seaview grand suite, thank you Rixos.

Improvements on last year are opening of Pino restaurant in Summer, turn down service and more a la carte restaurants for Thomas Cook guests.

Big problem this year is service at Lotus Bar. The staff do not manage the queues at all and even when not busy you can wait 20 minutes. I put up with this until last day when I was on a tight schedule to pack. They have no system other than to serve those who shout loudest and do not catch your eye. I complained to Guest Relations who were wonderful but then I had to wait 15 minutes for the bar manager to repeat the story who was very defensive and asked me to go and point out who had not served me. Don't think so!!!! Just sort it. Reading reviews where people have tipped hundreds of dollars for service the cynic in me thinks it may be a deliberate ploy to get you to tip massively.

Is the pool bar under the same management? These guys manage queues and give good service, big thank you to Ahmet.

We really enjoy this hotel as it suits all our family's wishes for a holiday and we would return, if I thought they would sort out service issues.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    656
    223
    95
    54
    54
See reviews for
480
211
29
121
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran, Iran
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

my family and i want to rexos Sungate hotel last october. it was superb. every thing was perfect. the rooms were super clean the staff were friendly ,the shows were marvelous. overall it was a luxury hotel which we enjoyed staying at.
the food was extra ordinary. the pools were fantastic ...
rexos Sungate !thank you so much for making such a good holiday for me and my family

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

This hotel is set in fabulous grounds surrounded by sea to one side and the panoramic mountains as a backdrop. We had a family suite which was quite spectacular with two large bedrooms, a living area, two fully equipped bathrooms and a huge balcony with a view of both the sea and one of pools. We found the facilities to be very good with impressive pools some of which were busy and impossible to get a bed around but other quieter pools always had some sunbeds available. There are many places to eat and drink. Food is of a good standard at the main restaurants and even better at the al a carte venues. We would particularly recommend the Olivia Italian and the Mermaid Seafood restaurants. This is however also where the hotel lets itself down. Do not expect to get served within the hour at the main outdoor bar unless you are Russian and preferably male. The main eating venues can be very busy and on occasions we wandered around for ages seeking a free table. Often we sat at tables still full of dirty plates and stained tablecloths. On the last night we waited almost half an hour for a table only for the waiter to remove our glasses and water to give to a Russian customer who was clearly more important! This said we had a very enjoyable time and the great amenities, setting and accomodation outweighed the service issues.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeliha S, Guest Relations Manager at Rixos Sungate Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2012
Dear guests,

At first let us to be greatful for your impartial opinion that you have shared on TripAdvisor. Rixos Sungate is estimating when the guests divide their thoughts honestly. For us it is a huge chance to develop ourselves and investigate our unwitnessed defects.

We would like you to know that in Rixos Sungate each guest is very significant and our team is never chosing the guests who will be served at firstly and who is secondly relying to nationality or gender. We are so sorry that you have been collided with such situation. Definetaly we are goıng to get F&B Department together and discuss about your feedbacks, be sure that your observations wıll not stay unnoticed. let us inform you that Rixos Sungate Hotel consists of 16 primary bars on teritory plus stand-bars lengthwise the beach. The Lotus Bar is the mainest one where is ''SELF-SERVİCE''. Guests are supposed to take what they desire at the bar which is the big where work our professional bartenders. But being that Rixos Sungate tries to afford as much convenience as it could to the guests - hotel has granted a special extra staff there who are waiters and waitresses on the rollers and conventional also. We are sorry that you have not been known such kind information. Anyway Rixos Sungate team is going to pay attention to all we have been told by you.

You will make us happy when you would come on the next time to Rixos Sungate. Please gladden Rixos Sungate Team by your sequent attendance in the future!

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Novi Sad
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We spent two weeks in July. Hotel Amenity is excellent, enough space on beach, very good kids club, lot of oportunity for sport activities. Hotel and pools are clean well maintened.
Problem of hotel is service, there is not enough staff, and usualy we hava to wait long to get service. Also some of staff in the bar were regurlarly drank and that was not nice picture.
Food selection is average, choice of drinks is correct.
Time to time we had good enterteiners, Turkish nigh was particularly good.

Room Tip: Rooms that are looking on the sea are with not real "seas" view, so selection of room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at Rixos sungate 4 nights september 12. Generally we vere very happy and we had an amazing time. The pools and environment very clean,nice and relaxing. The shows and entertainment was number one and the food was very good as well.
The only couple of issues I want to mention is that the staff couldn't speak much English and we had problems with communication, surprisingly even some of the receptionists were struggling with english. The other main issue we had was that our room was far away from the main restaurant/pool area and there were not enough club cars to take us to the room and back and most of the time we had to walk under the heat for 5-10 minutes, also the staff were not really willing to give us a ride to our room and they were just too lazy to do so, that was a big negative point for us. However other staff like bar tenders and staff at the restaurants etc were polite and helpful.
The rooms could have been cleaner, tv remote was dirty and had a big mark of yogurt or something on it and also you could see fingerprints on the drawer glasses in the room. In addition if you asked something from room service it took them ages and you had to call again and again to remind them. Also the telephone in our room wasn't working for the first 2 days, however they offered to change our room but we couldn't be bothered and sstayed in the same room.
Apart from that everything else was perfect, the bar was very good and unlike many other all inclusive resorts they had popular brands of alcoholic drinks, however sometimes very busy and we had to wait long to be served.
But All in all very good and we were very happy with our choice of hotel, I would definitly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baghdad, Baghdad, Iraq
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Just came back from rixos sungate which was great for many reasons first the location near the mountains was great also great aqua park huge pools nice rooms very large alot of rest. Free and paid and great great night shows which was more than amazing....clean place good food great fun,negative points was part of aqua park closed lazy river closed the main bar lotus bar. Crowded and you rarely get served staff at all bars not cooperative only at the beach bar near aqua park also alara show is crowded and people reserve places by. Towels since noon and i see that the hotel should not allow that ..but overall i will come there again bc of the fun

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

The location and facilities was good.nice pool and sea sport but free restaurants were not good .the main restaurant for dinner finish at 9:30!we paid for 5 star hotel but food and service were like 3 star.we had no choice to pay 30$ per person for having acceptable food in ala card restaurant.for each nice place in that hotel we should pay extra money.for nice beach we should pay 50$ PP.for good service we paid many tips all the nights.I really don't know what means all inclusive ?that means go to 5star hotel and pay lots of money for 3 star service ?!!

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rixos Sungate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rixos Sungate Hotel

Address: Cifecesmeler Mevkii, Beldibi 07980, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Turkish Mediterranean Coast > Antalya Province > Beldibi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Beldibi
#2 Romantic Hotel in Beldibi
#3 Luxury Hotel in Beldibi
#3 Family Hotel in Beldibi
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Beldibi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Rixos Sungate Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 1094
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
REDICOVER RIXOS SUNGATE. Rixos Sungate has welcomed the 2011 summer with a brand new face, working in conjunction with 4 construction firms and 2 highly respected architects throughout the winter period to renovate its rooms and public areas to create new projects to satisfy its guests. Rixos Sungate is once again prepared to create a holiday experience that is above expectations. The brand new 8 Grand Deluxe Villas are located at our VIP area, at 241m2 and with 3 bedrooms, kitchen, brand new interior design, private pool and exclusive guest services, Rixos Sungate has incorporated luxury and comfort whilst being both private and discreet. The VIP section has its own garden, private pool and entrance, along with the Siesta Bar and Supreme VIP Restaurant. Our 12 brand new Villa Executive Gardens have the distinction of being the only villas overlooking the sea with private terrace, pool and access to the Aegean Restaurant; we are proud to offer VIP services to our guests. All our rooms will have LCD for our guests enjoyment and Wi-Fi will be available so that the world is a click away. To take full advantage of the pleasures of the beach and sun, we have designed and built 2 brand new piers for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Despegar.com so you can book your Rixos Sungate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sungate Port Royal Hotel
Sungate Port Royal Beldibi
Sungate Hotel
Rixos Sungate Hotel Antalya Province/Beldibi, Turkey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rixos Sungate Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.