We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place with a very friendly owner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Gli Ulivi

Save Saved
You added Locanda Gli Ulivi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Locanda Gli Ulivi
Via Montebudello 33, 40050 Monteveglio, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Monteveglio B&B and Inns
Dusseldorf, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place with a very friendly owner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

During the roadtrip through tuscany we did a spontaneous stopover in this wonderful little bed & breakfast in Emilia Romagna for 4 days... the owner is very obliging! The appendant restaurant offers regional delicate food, which a very good value for money! A wonderful choice is the suite in direction to the pool, because the other rooms are a little bit clairaudient! But all rooms are very beautiful furnished in an autentic italian stil with an amazing view!

Room Tip: A wonderful choice is the suite in direction to the pool, because the other rooms are a little bit c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    46
    17
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
41
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

we chose to stay at this B&B outside of Bologna to avoid the traffic and congestion of the city. it is a small B&B overlooking a sweeping, beautiful view of a national park. the pool area has panoramic views of the park. my husband and i enjoyed spending the day by the pool, enjoying a good book and glass of vino. it is very quiet and we felt as if we had the whole place to ourselves. the rooms are spotless and the bathrooms are huge by european standards. there are many delicious, inexpensive restaurants within driving distance. although we did not try the restaurant on site (it got great TA reviews), it was always packed at both lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here in September. It was certainly a really great find! The rooms were perfect with gorgeous views over the valley and vineyards. The pool area was lovely and breakfast was great. We ate at the restaurant twice while staying there and the food was delicious! I would go back for the food alone. The farm also produces their own wine, which was so tasty - we had quite a few bottles during our stay! The place is run by family, which just adds to how special it is. A definite must!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level with a view of the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband had stayed in this hotel on business a few years ago and had remembered that the restaurant was very good. We chose to stay here for 1 night before our last night of the holiday in the city of Bologna, which is only a 30 minute drive away. Our room was in a separate building next to the pool which was beautifully decorated with a fabulous large comfortable bed. Very spacious with superb air conditioning and large powerful shower. The Pool area was lovely, so tranquil with gorgeous uninterrupted views of the countryside. Our evening meal was in the restaurant situated in the main building, there is also an outdoor seating area. The staff didn't speak much English apart from perhaps the hotel owner who was always on hand to help and recommend dishes and wines. The food was very good with recipes that had belonged to the family for generations. I had told the waitress I was a vegetarian but it transpired that one of the courses I had ordered was a dish with beef in it. They were quick to let me know this and suggested they make something else for me. The breakfast was the best we had during our Italian holiday, and you could also order cooked dishes which is rare in Italy. We thoroughly enjoyed our relaxing stay and the superb food was an added bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I had the good fortune to stay at this wonderful place for two nights with my wife and two friends.
The rooms were very modern and beautifully appointed---twenty steps and we were at the poolside. Enjoyed early morning swims. The views of the four hills were awesome. The owners were very helpful-they organised a tour of a local Parmesan cheese making farm--the whole process from cows to tasting free samples was very good. The two evening meals ticked all the boxes and the local wines of the surrounding hills --both red and white were lovely. You really need a car to visit all the local interesting attractions. We didn't want to leave and can't wait to go back in the Springtime.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Simplicity is the theme I found at the Locanda degli Ulivi. I experienced only the restaurant where every course is prepared following the simple underlying respect for recipes that belong to previous generations; every pasta dish plays in your mouth as a simply perfect and harmonically execute composition; every encounter between a tigella and a cipollina al Barolo defines what a marriage is all about (or should be). My menu recommendation: let them guide you, chance is you'll take a journey around a delicious Italy and discover flavors whose simplicity is disarming. The Tris di Minestre was superlative and generous enough to let you linger a little with every pasta dish. Tigelle were good although not at the same level. The gnocco fritto was also worth indulging. Add a Lambrusco (yes, bubbles and red wine do get together here) and a personable service and you'll get a lunch you wish you could have again tomorrow. Food and hospitality alone make it worth driving up the Monteveglio winding roads ro reach the Locanda degli Ulivi but what will get you to want to stay (beside the prospect that dinner time will come soon) is the view over the Bologna hills. Superlative! All and all, whether is pleasure or business this a worthwhile treat.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011 via mobile

We stayed in this tranquil oasis for 5 nights in early July, everything about our holiday here was perfect.
Pristine, clean, near new, superb bathroom, views to die for and Walter and his family were just amazing hosts!
Walter even booked a hairdressers apppt in a neighboring village as my Italian wouldn't have been up to it!
We ate each night at the restaurNt and were pleasantly surprised to see how busy it was each night, but after eating there we could understand why! The food was excellent, fresh ingredients, often with a bonus little appetizer complimentary from the kitchen, and the setting stunning.
Breakfasts included in the price of the accommodation was also fantastic.
Walter is a one of a kind type of character and appears to really love his job, he made our stay just that much more special.Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Gli Ulivi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Gli Ulivi

Address: Via Montebudello 33, 40050 Monteveglio, Italy
Location: Italy > Emilia-Romagna > Province of Bologna > Monteveglio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Monteveglio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a beautiful, peaceful setting, surrounded by stunning Italian countryside, vineyards, and the striking natural beauty of Monteveglio's nature park, the hotel is ideal for a relaxing or romantic break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Gli Ulivi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Gli Ulivi Monteveglio, Italy - Province Of Bologna

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Gli Ulivi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.