We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at Breede river lodge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge to your Saves list
The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Joseph Barry Drive | PO Box 27, Witsand 6666, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Stay at Breede river lodge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The view was amazing.! the room was wonderfully clean.However one needs to share with rooms next door that if they play their TV really loud and the balcony door is open you hear everything.
Food good

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    72
    41
    15
    8
See reviews for
60
90
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

The resort is in need of serious maintenance in the area we stayed. There is evidence of untreated dampness on several walls in the passages and some the entrance doors (including my room door) requires some repairs as they got jammed when closing it. The carpets in the passages also looked like it is well worn and needs to be replaced. The restaurant needs to relook at their menu and the kitchen staff, the pizzas we ordered on the first day was very unappetizing and as a consequence we opted not to eat at the restaurant for the rest of our stay and fortunately there were several alternatives that Witsands could offer. The microwave in the restaurant looked very unsanitary and looked like it hadn't been cleaned for days. Some of the table cloths were dirty and our one had several holes in it which I brought to the waiter's attention, but all he could do is smile and didn't seem interested in it and did not bother to swop it out or offer an alternative table. Our bedroom wasn't too bad, the bedding smelled like it needed to be aired and the basin in the bathroom needs to be replaced otherwise it was acceptable. The lodge has a great location and I enjoyed looking over the Breede River and the tranquillity it presented most and it is a pity that the owners have not done more to keep the place in shape. The staff are very friendly but this but this coupled with the view is unfortunately not enough to make anybody stay a pleasant one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

It was such a pleasure fishing at Breede River Lodge. Mooring right on your door step.
Just climb on your boat and off you go. Up and down the river is an absolute pleasure to fish.
Also the launch out to sea looked like a breeze, obviously surf conditions.
We are planning another trip.........

Room Tip: Roomms close to reception nosiy.
See more room tips
Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Unit 212 was very comfortable and well equipped - housekeeping staff were very friendly and accommodating - second bedroom needs some kind of window or fan as there is only a door. All in all we enjoyed our stay.


  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

Breede River is a fantastic getaway place. I only stayed 2 nights. The room was spacious with an awesome view everyday. When it rained, it sometimes leaked which was bad. Activites are fun and exciting. Only downside was the weather which is out of our control so it limited our outdoor time. We will surely visit again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Beautiful spot for perfect break away from city rush. Staff still has slight hick-ups adjusting to new "management". Pitty that the restaurant and hotel is no longer seen or managed as one entity. Good luck for the new season.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amanzimtoti, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

Breede River Lodge is absolutely awesome. For boat owners fantastic. Setting magical. Accommodation very comfortable but braaing facilities a big problem. Communal braai area with no grits and a little too far from chalets. Should be more braais. Staff very friendly. Bar staff great but restaurant management needs attention.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge

Address: 1 Joseph Barry Drive | PO Box 27, Witsand 6666, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Witsand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Witsand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in Witsand / Port Beaufort "THE" Whale nursery of South Africa on the Garden Route midway between Cape Town and Plettenberg Bay, on the unspoiled bank of the mighty Breede River. The water course is tidal and navigable for up to 40 km. The area is a mariner's dream both on the river and the sea. Angling features as the number one attraction with many record breaking catches over the years as will be seen on the Breede River Lodge Wall of Fame. Safe tranquil beaches for walking and swimming. Beautiful in the windless and mild winter days. The area is also renowned for all kinds of water sport, swimming, surfing, wind surfing, deep sea and river fishing, rock, boat and fly fishing, river cruises, canoeing, sailing, spear fishing and snorkeling. With all of this in mind the hotel endeavors to cater both for the local family traveler and the international traveler who would like to see a part of the real South Africa. Experience friendly village life that offers food for the soul and a place to simply relax and unwind. We are ideally situated on the Garden Route as a middle point and base from which to travel and experience the vast arrays of attractions available on this route. We look forward to welcoming you here at the Breede. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breede River Resort And Fishing Hotel Witsand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.