We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go the Breede River Lodge again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge to your Saves list
The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   1 Joseph Barry Drive | PO Box 27, Witsand 6666, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Can't wait to go the Breede River Lodge again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Breathtaking views of the river and sea. Lovely fireplace and perfect little self catering cottage. The restaurant was not in use as it was being renovated, but restaurants in the village were good.

Units are serviced and the staff friendly.

Can't wait to go again, this time with the children.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    72
    41
    15
    8
See reviews for
60
90
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Having recently stayed at the lodge I can only say that this is a place for fishermen,not tourists it is badly in need of refurbishment to come up to the 3 star rating it is trying to achieve.
The restaurant is closed at the moment and meals can be taken in the bar however when we ordered our meal the barman forgot to put the order into the kitchen.The bar is very busy in the evening and there are no facilities in the lounge to take a evening meal unless you don't mind eating of a low coffee table.

This place could be a gold mine in the right hands as the views are superb.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannover, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

The only good thing to say about this guest house: staff is friendly. Also the location is very nice and you can still see the shadows of what this lodge used to be. We were completely disappointed. The website looks promising and for the price you pay, you just expect something different from what we experienced.

Everything from lobby to terrace, rooms and restaurant seems to be >15 years old. You can see, feel and smell it.

This guest house needs significant refurbishment even to get to a three star status.

Disappointing, will not book again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband, son and I went for supper at the restaurant. The fish cakes were great and the pork was very good. The service needs a lot of attention and the staff really needs some desperate training. There were only 3 tables to serve so one cannot understand what took so long to serve us our drinks and meal. the venue is wonderful and the restaurant is really very nice. I will eat there again but will inquire about the service time before sitting down.

Room Tip: Check before the time if they are short staffed or if there is going to be a reason for bad service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The restaurant at the Breede River Lodge has a wonderful view overlooking the river. The decor is also attractive. But, unfortunately, we cannot say the same about the service and the attitude of the owner. It took fifty minutes to receive our starter dishes. Then a further hour to get our main meal. When we complained to the owner about how long is was taking to receive our food she refuted outright the time it had taken and stated that if we wanted quicker service we could go to Steers (a fast food outlet known throughout South Africa). The problem appeared to be that a television crew was filming at the premises and was receiving precedence over the diners in the restaurant. The cherry on the cake was when the owner sat down outside with the film crew in plain view of the diners and partook of the meal without any regard to the fact that her dinner guests were waiting ages for their food in the restaurant. Not once did she bother to explain to the diner's the cause for the lengthy delay. In fact she was outright rude and arrogant when approached. There was only one waitress on duty, who had only been working for one week. This young lady was on the receiving end of numerous complaints from the diners, but was absolutely charming and did her best under trying circumstances to appease the guests. We will not be returning to this restaurant despite the stunning setting.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I had my wedding in Witsand in September 2012 and used the Breede River Lodge as our reception venue, it was very affordable, 500m from the water and overall the setting was amazing. All the staff were wonderful and friendly they all went out their way to make our wedding reception amazing.

I stayed their for 2 nights my room was great with amazing views of the river and river mouth our room for the night of our wedding was perfect, with underfloor heating, big shower and a balcony to sit and relax with a morning cup of tea are just some of the luxuries we had, 90% of our wedding guests stayed at the lodge for the weekend of our wedding and everyone had nothing but good things to say about the rooms, service provided the food and the great staff.

If you haven't been to Witsand and looking for a place to stay I would recommend the Breede River Lodge, it's peaceful, has a great lounge area to catch up on some reading, it's relaxing and a great place to sit back and just relax and add in a few sun-downers on their deck ;)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights on the last leg of our vacation, on the way back from the Wilderness. The approach road from Heidleberg is a good quality surfaced road. The road form Swellendam over the pont, is dirt but of fair to good quality.

We got a discount for being a walkin (ie no reservation). The resort was pretty full but the service was excellent. The Restaurant has a very nice menu and we dined each night for under R200. ($30). I loved the Pub a great place to end the day and have a cold one before dinner.

We rented a self catering studio unit, that was quite adequate. The bathroom of a good size and the shower worked perfectly. Bedding was more than comfortable. Internet connectivity is limited, although there is WiFi in the lobby.

The resort is a little way up the river and away from the beach so when the wind blows, there are protected spots (and a pool) to relax in. The beach is one of the most southerly in Africa and when the trade winds blow, they blow hard. I live in Cape Town and I am used to the wind, but be prepared for windy afternoons in the summer. I loved the beach. Nice water temperature, no crowds and tortoise blue water.

The resort is great for relaxing, fishing, boating on the river, lazing on the beach. There are no malls, arcades, movie houses, shopping centres for 150km at last. Heidelberg (the nearest town) offers some basic shopping, pharmacy etc.

You require a skippers ticket to operate a boat on the estuary and as in all places in South Africa, permits to catch fish or collect bait, mussels, oysters, etc.

Room Tip: If you are on a budget, take one of the rooms at the rear of the resort. The resort is on a slope, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge

Address: 1 Joseph Barry Drive | PO Box 27, Witsand 6666, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Witsand
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Witsand
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in Witsand / Port Beaufort "THE" Whale nursery of South Africa on the Garden Route midway between Cape Town and Plettenberg Bay, on the unspoiled bank of the mighty Breede River. The water course is tidal and navigable for up to 40 km. The area is a mariner's dream both on the river and the sea. Angling features as the number one attraction with many record breaking catches over the years as will be seen on the Breede River Lodge Wall of Fame. Safe tranquil beaches for walking and swimming. Beautiful in the windless and mild winter days. The area is also renowned for all kinds of water sport, swimming, surfing, wind surfing, deep sea and river fishing, rock, boat and fly fishing, river cruises, canoeing, sailing, spear fishing and snorkeling. With all of this in mind the hotel endeavors to cater both for the local family traveler and the international traveler who would like to see a part of the real South Africa. Experience friendly village life that offers food for the soul and a place to simply relax and unwind. We are ideally situated on the Garden Route as a middle point and base from which to travel and experience the vast arrays of attractions available on this route. We look forward to welcoming you here at the Breede. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breede River Resort And Fishing Hotel Witsand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Breede River Resort and Fishing Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.