We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views and Nature at it's best” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mudlark River Front Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Witsand
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mudlark River Front Lodge
3.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Breede River Mouth, Witsand 6666, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Arundel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breathtaking views and Nature at it's best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Mudlark River Front lodge is one of those rare gems , a lovely lodge set in breathtaking scenery , right on the Breede river. If it's nature and peace you are after , this is the place. Our first night we saw a spotted Gannet... and it goes on from there .The garden is a bird lovers paradise , lizards and tortoise... the river and sunset views are magnificent. The fishing ( according to my other half) was pretty good too. Food is served at one long table with the other guests , which was refreshing.. the food was pretty tasty ...and there was plenty. There is also a well stocked bar if you fancy a tipple. Our only observation that is slightly negative is that the towels were very rough and small.... otherwise it was all good and our hosts were lovely , we would go back in a second !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    5
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
9
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durban
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Not only does Mudlark Riverfront Lodge offer supremely comfortable 3-star Malgas accommodation in a beautiful mountain and riverside setting, but they also offer spectacular Breede River cruises which are guaranteed to leave you in a state of absolute awe.
Our 5 day holiday in Witsands was unbelievably peaceful and relaxing, and we would definitely return for another visit at this Malgas accommodation. A huge thank you to Tim and Hilary for making our stay fantastic!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

Mudlark Riverfront Lodge in Witsand offers the ultimate peaceful Malgas accommodation in one of the most tranquil and beautiful mountain and river settings in South Africa. The rooms are carefully decorated and private, guaranteed to make you feel right at home, while the communal dining and lounge area offer a cosy place to socialize with other guests. The Breede River cruises are also a wonderful element offered by this riverside accommodation. Mudlark is the perfect haven of peace and tranquility - I'd definitely recommend it to anyone looking for the perfect Malgas accommodation.

Room Tip: All the rooms offer wonderful river views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg,South Africa
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

Two days are too short. Stay a week if you want to experience the beauty and quiet. Tim and Hilary are great hosts and the dinners were excellent. We didnt fish but this is clearly a fishing paradise. I enjoyed sharing one long table with other guests - it was so friendly and relaxed and met some wonderful people.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

We have stayed only 2 days at Mudlark and this is the only bad thing to tell about it- Time was just way too short! Mudlark is really a piece of paradise, very well looked after, and perfectly located, with gorgeous nature and wildlife along with very spacious and comfortable rooms. If that would not be enough, the food is great, and we had exceptional dinner conversations making our stay a exceptional one. Hilary and Tim’s warm hospitality are the icing on the cake. For those out there who love nature and seek to relax in order to forget about everyday life, this is a perfect place. We very much hope that we can go back some time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoek van Holland, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Will never forget Hilary’s wonderful meals, along with the comfort, peace, and beauty of this place. Tim is such a great host, nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape town
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at the Mudlark. We had a really lovely time and enjoyed everything from the fishing and delicious meals to the great company and beautiful setting. It was hard to tear ourselves away!

We're definitely plotting a return visit - if nothing else, Andrew has a Cob to catch and I need a Granola recipe. And this time for the MAXIMUM time!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mudlark River Front Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mudlark River Front Lodge

Address: Breede River Mouth, Witsand 6666, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Overberg District > Witsand
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty lodging in Witsand
Hotel Class:3 star — Mudlark River Front Lodge 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mudlark River Front Lodge is situated on the bank of the Breede River. 5 double en-suite rooms with private decks and magnificent views over 5 kms of river. The lodge offers guided fishing, river cruises, 205 bird species, whale watching the best in SA, easy walks through the fynbos and along the coast. Lots of peace and tranquility. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mudlark River Front Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mudlark River Front Lodge to your Saves list