We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant in the region” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Restaurant La Fleur de Thym

Restaurant La Fleur de Thym
15 avenue de la vallee des Baux, 13 520 Maussane-les-Alpilles, France
04 90 54 54 00
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in the region”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

This is a lovely restaurant with food worthy of a Michelin star, yet it serves a low priced fixed price menu for lunch, with starter, main and dessert. It is located on the D17 highway just south of Les Baux in the little village of Maussane. I met another TripAdvisor reviewer there, who comes every year from England to eat here! Fresh ingredients and loving preparation made for an unforgettable meal. The menu changes regularly, but we had a fresh crab salad, cod with penne and vegetables and a vanilla mousse. We will go there again next chance we get!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    98
    18
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dawlish, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A superb lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

What a little gem of a restaurant for a top lunch and superb value. I'm sure the evening meals were just as impressive. When we visited it was very busy and justly so. Thank you Francis for your tip off.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KINROSS
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Still the best restaurant in Maussane by a long way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Just returned here for dinner with some friends and pleased to say the standard of food and service is still inspiring and has now become one of my must visit restaurants in Maussane .
You can not fail to be impressed by the sincere service and attention to detail give by the front of house staff. That said, it must not detract from the quality and presentation of the food offered by the chef. A great husband and wife team who each perform their role to the highest level.
Decor very nice inside with a few tables outside but by a busy road, but ideal if you are smokers I guess.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Magnifique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We have dined here twice while staying in Maussane les Alpilles and the food, service and value for money was excellent. I would definitely go back and highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Even better than ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014 via mobile

Lunchtime in the Provençal sunshine and there is no better place to eat than here! The fixed price menu, 16Eu, is an absolute steal for food of this quality! (Please don't read that, proprietors!)
Yesterday we enjoyed a timbale of crab with a lovely small dressed salad, pan fried merlu (hake) with pasta and julienne of vegetables with a piquant dressing, and a dessert of sabayon, pineapple on a coconut crumble! Wonderful!! The evening menu will, hopefully, be sampled next week.
All the staff are very professional yet friendly, including the owner. Even the other customers seem special.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant La Fleur de Thym also viewed

Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
Maussane-les-Alpilles, Bouches-du-Rhone
 

Been to Restaurant La Fleur de Thym? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Restaurant La Fleur de Thym, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.