We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better value than staying in Flam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vangsgaarden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vangsgaarden to your Saves list
Vangsgaarden
E16, 5743 Aurland, 5745, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Better value than staying in Flam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

The NSB train from Oslo to Myrdal was delayed for 5 hours due to an electric fire. By the time I got to Flam, it was already 22:30. After a quick cab ride from Flam (paid by NSB), I was warmly greeted by Astrid, the proprietor of Vangsgarden. Room was ready, and a pizza was served. (Never mind, the pizza cost NOK 225!!)

The room was simple. The single has a shower inside, but toilet was down the hall - a little odd. WiFi was only available in the reception area. Breakfast was the usual Scandinavia fare with enormous portions - tasty. Scenery facing the fjord is amazing. If you cannot appreciate nature and simplicity, don't bother stopping here b/c there isn't any night life.

Overall, Aurland is a good place to spend a night or even two on the fjords to just relax. Aurland is better than Flam in my opinion, and thankfully Vangsgarden is a good accommodation that puts you in ease since there are not too many alternatives in Aurland.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane,Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2010

This is a really nice place to stay. Our room was large and clean. The internet is free but is only available in the foyer. That's no problem usually unless you have a very nosey German tourist wanting to listen in.This hotel has it's own dinning area and dinner was good. Breakfast was in another old building and was very good. bed was comfortable,but the pillows were of usual Scandinavian style and the curtains were not enough to keep out the 11pm sunset or the 3am sunrise, but that is also usual. I do wonder what the locals do about this or maybe it doesn't bother them. Anyway, all in all, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ouray, co
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

I booked based on the unavailability of Steves' recommendations in Flam and Trip Advisor reviews. The cabin was adorable, right on the water and slept 5 comfortably. Our family of 4 plus mother-in-law was very comfortable. There are two kids' beds (low ceiling) in the loft and a "double" in a bedroom plus the sofa converts. We couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised.

The express boat dock is right behind the cabins and there's a pizza place right there. Perfect location!!!

Aurland - such a cute town, not to be missed when in Flam.

One thing I didn't realize - they expect you to clean when you're done. Toilets and all.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humres32
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We drove from Oslo to Aurland to see the fjords and it was the best part of our trip. We stayed in the cabin for 1 night. The cabin is right on the water and view is absolutely amazing. The website indicates the cabin sleeps from 2-6 persons, technically that is probably true, and I would say if you are bringing kids, they would love staying in the small loft area. However, if it's adults you are travelling with, I'd recommend that every couple get their own cabin so you have your own space (and bathroom).

The cabin is clean and glasses/dishes are provided. They ask that you clean up after yourself and they provide the supplies.

There is an additional costs for sheets and towels. This is not customary in the U.S. so I thought I'd mention it. We opted for these "additions" as I can't imagine sleeping on a bed without sheets.

Aurland is very quaint, but there is not much going on. We got into town a little later than planned. By the time we ate dinner at the pub (the pizza was very good!), everything in the town was closed. We had intended to buy a bottle of wine and sit outside, but that was not an option.

The one downfall is that the dock for the fjord tour is right in the backyard of the cabins. Maybe this is not normally issue, however, the 1 night we were there, there was a individual was doing work on his own boat and the dock area. Initially this was not an issue, however, he restarted his work at 8am the next morning. His "work" included using a saw to saw apart metal poles - quite annoying to wake up to. I don't know that he is normally there, as he did eventually leave, but I thought I'd mention it as this was less than desirable from my perspective.

The drive to/from Oslo to Aurland was beautiful. Aurland itself was great for a short visit. Once we checked out of the hotel, we took Snow Road up into the mountains (about a 20 minute drive). We were able to overlook the fjords and it was amazing. You can take Snow Road back into Laerdal (instead of taking the tunnel). It is probably the most beautiful drive I have ever experienced. The roads are small and there is no straight road, so it is not for the meak driver. However, going into the mountains, seeing the snow, waterfalls and farms (with sheep by the side of the road) was an experience I will never forget.

I would highly recommend going to Aurland for a short visit. I would stay in the cabin at Vangsgaarden again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brancaster Staithe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2009

beautiful log cabin right on edge of fjord, comfortable and spacious. Glad we stayed there. There is not much in Aurland, but you get peace and quiet, and avoid mass tourism. It at least has a supermarket, which is more that Flam (Flam only has touristy hotels and restaurants, and no locals). I think the standard rooms in the hotel were more basic (shower in room corner) so a cabin was definitively the better option.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

I can't speak for the cabins but the hotel rooms are terrible. We got there late in the afternoon and were expecting a comfortable & warm room but found a unrenovated and cold room with two mini twin beds and a shower in one corner of the room - not TV either. There was no toilet and it was freezing, not mentionning ugly and old. We decided not to stay there and rented a cabin in a farm nearby, which was cheaper and 100% better. If you book at Vangsgaarden, please make sure it's not in the main hotel as you will be highly disappointed....especially if it rains, and it rains alot!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

Let's start with the positive. We spent four great days in Aurland. We had the luck that we could eat outside every night (they do lovely grilled fish!) and sit in the garden until well after sunset. Also the breakfasts in the old Aabelheim are amazing. Then some negative experiences. Our room was a big disappoinment, and would have made our experience here less pleasant if we would have had to spend our evenings inside. It seemingly hadn't been renovated for years and the furniture was a random mix of late 20th century pieces, including some early Ikea tables. It looked cheap, but the prices in Norway are not cheap. The working staff - youngsters - did not give us the welcome feeling which we are used to in hotels and B&B's.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vangsgaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsgaarden

Address: E16, 5743 Aurland, 5745, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Aurland Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsgaarden Gjestgiveri is situated in Aurland, a small town idyllically placed in the innermost corner of the Sognefjord. Here at Vangsgaarden, the Ohnstad-Stigen family has welcomed guests for several generations and the hotel has preserved traditions that go all the way back to the 18th century. At our restaurant, Duehuset, you can taste some of the local food our town is known for. Vangsgaarden offers rooms, a restaurant and a variety of activities. Our hotel is located right in the middle of some of Norway's most powerful nature experiences like the Flam Railway, the Naeroyfjord and the Aurlandsdalen Valley. ROOMS In our hotel wing we have 18 rooms with beautiful views. In our garden by the fjord we have 6 cabins that are suitable for 4-5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vangsgaarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangsgaarden Hotel Aurland Municipality
Vangsgaarden Western Fjords
Vangsgaarden Norway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vangsgaarden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.