We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Aurland” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vangsgaarden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vangsgaarden to your Saves list
Vangsgaarden
E16, 5743 Aurland, 5745, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Awesome Aurland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Awesome is an overused word but the view from the cabin really deserves it. The cabins sit right on the edge of the fjord with uninterrupted views. The cabin itself was stick and span with an open plan living and kitchen area and a double bedroom on the ground floor and a cute loft room (so cute we slept up there despite the very low ceiling and loft ladder up!). The complex of hotel and bar was really appealing. Breakfast is served in a charming old house and was delicious. The owner was really friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. I would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Some cabins are adjacent to the dock. This would not interrupt the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location and charm of the old buildings are fantastic.
But the room was small, tiny beds, tiny but functional bathroom, no place to put the luggage, no place to sit and work.
There is a small living room, very charming with old furniture, but it is no place to spend the evening.
It was clean and tidy, the beds were not made before the second night of our stay, but we got fresh towels.
With the light nordic nights, I really missed curtains to keep the morning light from waking me at 5 a.m.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic time in Norway, in no small part due to our stay in Aurland at Vangsgaarden. Our family of four had a room in the main building with a sofabed. The room wasn't huge but was comfortable and clean and had a lovely view of the Aurlandsfjord. Astrid, the owner is fantastic and very helpful. The breakfast was adequate and wifi was spotty in the rooms, but all of that was made up by the location and the beauty of Aurland and the fjords. Definitely a better option than breaking journey in Flam which is very touristy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 relaxing nights in Cabin #4 in late June 2013. The cabin was very clean and the high ceilings and big windows overlooking the fjord were great. The pros outweigh the cons, with the main "pro" being the location and the view. Other pros: great water pressure, quiet, and did I mention the view? The cons: The kitchen is pretty sparse, with no microwave, no dishwasher, and limited cookware and utensils, but hey...look at the view! The beds were pretty average and the pillows were bad. I would definitely recommend staying in Aurland, and this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 and 6 have the best views, with no dock in the foreground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spacious cottage. High ceiling in the living room/kitchen and a lot of natural light. Excellent view of the fjord. The cottage is right on the dock and ferry ships come and go.
2 sleeping rooms, one with double bed and one room, under the roof, with 2 separate beds, ideal for children. Kitchen well equiped and large enough.
The cottage is excellent for a few days stay. Aurlandsvangen is quite and calm but is a good base to visit Stegastein and Fläm.

Unfortunately during our 3 days stay there was a local festival with music and street noice until late after midnight which made it difficult to sleep. We left after the 2nd night and did not have to pay the third night. On the other hand, management should inform customers upfront of such events when the booking is made so that at least they have a choice. If my night rest would not have been disturbed by loud country music until after midnight i would have rated this place as 'very good'.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage nr. 4. Cottages 5 and 6 have a slightly better view as the dock in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Aurland is a very beautiful and relaxing town. Perfect for walking around enjoying the view of the fjords and hills. Vangsgaarden is right in front of where the ferry drops people off which was extremely convenient. They also have a delicious restaurant with great pizza where you can sit on the deck overlooking the spectacular view of the water. Th rooms were lovely as well. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A spectacular place to stay! First, the town of Aurland is a gem! Compared to Flam, less touristy, quieter, better views. Second, Vangsgaarten is a great choice. It has several types of rooms, including cabins on the fjord, a restaurant-bar, a convenient location close to grocery store--and it is still quiet. We stayed in one of the cabins, cooked our meals there, and soaked up the spectacular views and quiet. We opted for breakfast--ample and worth it.

We spent 16 days in Scandinavia, 7 in Norway, 2 here--and they were among the best days on our trip. Aurland plus the Vangsgaarten is great place to break up a Norway-in-a-Nutshell trip, soak up small-town Norway, enjoy hikes and photography--or just relax surrounded by quiet spectacular views.

Room Tip: All cabins great. Clean, spacious, modern, kitchens well-furnished. Cabins #4-6 are a bit more dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vangsgaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsgaarden

Address: E16, 5743 Aurland, 5745, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Aurland Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsgaarden Gjestgiveri is situated in Aurland, a small town idyllically placed in the innermost corner of the Sognefjord. Here at Vangsgaarden, the Ohnstad-Stigen family has welcomed guests for several generations and the hotel has preserved traditions that go all the way back to the 18th century. At our restaurant, Duehuset, you can taste some of the local food our town is known for. Vangsgaarden offers rooms, a restaurant and a variety of activities. Our hotel is located right in the middle of some of Norway's most powerful nature experiences like the Flam Railway, the Naeroyfjord and the Aurlandsdalen Valley. ROOMS In our hotel wing we have 18 rooms with beautiful views. In our garden by the fjord we have 6 cabins that are suitable for 4-5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vangsgaarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangsgaarden Hotel Aurland Municipality
Vangsgaarden Western Fjords
Vangsgaarden Norway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vangsgaarden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.