We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aurland: Wish We Were There” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vangsgaarden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Vangsgaarden to your Saves list
Vangsgaarden
E16, 5743 Aurland, 5745, Norway   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Aurland: Wish We Were There”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had an absolutely fantastic time in Norway, in no small part due to our stay in Aurland at Vangsgaarden. Our family of four had a room in the main building with a sofabed. The room wasn't huge but was comfortable and clean and had a lovely view of the Aurlandsfjord. Astrid, the owner is fantastic and very helpful. The breakfast was adequate and wifi was spotty in the rooms, but all of that was made up by the location and the beauty of Aurland and the fjords. Definitely a better option than breaking journey in Flam which is very touristy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    42
    9
    2
    3
See reviews for
23
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

My wife and I spent 3 relaxing nights in Cabin #4 in late June 2013. The cabin was very clean and the high ceilings and big windows overlooking the fjord were great. The pros outweigh the cons, with the main "pro" being the location and the view. Other pros: great water pressure, quiet, and did I mention the view? The cons: The kitchen is pretty sparse, with no microwave, no dishwasher, and limited cookware and utensils, but hey...look at the view! The beds were pretty average and the pillows were bad. I would definitely recommend staying in Aurland, and this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Cabin 5 and 6 have the best views, with no dock in the foreground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Spacious cottage. High ceiling in the living room/kitchen and a lot of natural light. Excellent view of the fjord. The cottage is right on the dock and ferry ships come and go.
2 sleeping rooms, one with double bed and one room, under the roof, with 2 separate beds, ideal for children. Kitchen well equiped and large enough.
The cottage is excellent for a few days stay. Aurlandsvangen is quite and calm but is a good base to visit Stegastein and Fläm.

Unfortunately during our 3 days stay there was a local festival with music and street noice until late after midnight which made it difficult to sleep. We left after the 2nd night and did not have to pay the third night. On the other hand, management should inform customers upfront of such events when the booking is made so that at least they have a choice. If my night rest would not have been disturbed by loud country music until after midnight i would have rated this place as 'very good'.

Room Tip: We stayed in cottage nr. 4. Cottages 5 and 6 have a slightly better view as the dock in front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Aurland is a very beautiful and relaxing town. Perfect for walking around enjoying the view of the fjords and hills. Vangsgaarden is right in front of where the ferry drops people off which was extremely convenient. They also have a delicious restaurant with great pizza where you can sit on the deck overlooking the spectacular view of the water. Th rooms were lovely as well. We really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portola Valley, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

A spectacular place to stay! First, the town of Aurland is a gem! Compared to Flam, less touristy, quieter, better views. Second, Vangsgaarten is a great choice. It has several types of rooms, including cabins on the fjord, a restaurant-bar, a convenient location close to grocery store--and it is still quiet. We stayed in one of the cabins, cooked our meals there, and soaked up the spectacular views and quiet. We opted for breakfast--ample and worth it.

We spent 16 days in Scandinavia, 7 in Norway, 2 here--and they were among the best days on our trip. Aurland plus the Vangsgaarten is great place to break up a Norway-in-a-Nutshell trip, soak up small-town Norway, enjoy hikes and photography--or just relax surrounded by quiet spectacular views.

Room Tip: All cabins great. Clean, spacious, modern, kitchens well-furnished. Cabins #4-6 are a bit more dir...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We stayed in the guest house and enjoyed it very much. The house is typical Norwegian and so is the breakfast. This is not a fancy hotel, but it has a lot of charm! From the room there is nice views over the fjord.

I would stay here again!

Room Tip: I do not know how the cabins are, however guesthouse was superb!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

If you're willing to spend a little more, book the cottage! The view is totally worthwhile.
Wake up early to admire the sunrise and the perfectly still waters of the fjord before the boats and ships start moving.

There is a restaurant at Aurland which would be enough for dinner, however make sure you bring some food along just in case it's closed.
You can take a little hike around Aurland if you're not tired.

The rooms and amenities are average, so don't expect much. The cottage is all about the view.

Room Tip: Get the fisherman's cottage with fjord view if you can afford to splurge a little.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vangsgaarden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vangsgaarden

Address: E16, 5743 Aurland, 5745, Norway
Location: Norway > Western Norway > Sogn og Fjordane > Aurland Municipality
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Aurland Municipality
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vangsgaarden Gjestgiveri is situated in Aurland, a small town idyllically placed in the innermost corner of the Sognefjord. Here at Vangsgaarden, the Ohnstad-Stigen family has welcomed guests for several generations and the hotel has preserved traditions that go all the way back to the 18th century. At our restaurant, Duehuset, you can taste some of the local food our town is known for. Vangsgaarden offers rooms, a restaurant and a variety of activities. Our hotel is located right in the middle of some of Norway's most powerful nature experiences like the Flam Railway, the Naeroyfjord and the Aurlandsdalen Valley. ROOMS In our hotel wing we have 18 rooms with beautiful views. In our garden by the fjord we have 6 cabins that are suitable for 4-5 persons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Vangsgaarden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vangsgaarden Hotel Aurland Municipality
Vangsgaarden Western Fjords
Vangsgaarden Norway

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vangsgaarden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.