We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome in a beautiful property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos- Relais et Chateaux

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Clos- Relais et Chateaux to your Saves list
Le Clos- Relais et Chateaux
98, rue de la Ferte-Vidame, 27130 Verneuil-sur-Avre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Los Angeles
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Warm welcome in a beautiful property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Whether you are travelling down south or visiting Normandie, it is well worth putting this charming little chateau on your itinerary. It is beautifully appointed, with rooms with individual character and all mod-cons but retaining a very elegant and sophisticated finish.

The house champagne was superb and the quality of the dining second to none. The owner Eric made sure everything was in order, and the town itself was well worth a diversion.

Highly recommended and we hope to come again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    46
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
54
178
10
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We chose the hotel because its within about an hours driving distance of Monets Garden, Chartres, Rouen etc. There is also lots else in the area to see.

Really friendly owner, Eric, as are his staff. Nothing too much trouble for them.
We were in a very quiet room with shuttered windows so great for a good nights sleep.
Food is excellent. Make sure you try the hotels own honey at breakfast - 'food miles' measured in yards as there are hives at the end of the garden.

One of the best Relais & Chateaux that we have stayed at.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

This is one of the most beautiful friendly chateaux we have ever stayed in
The owners are divine and so helpful they couldn't do enough for us an upgrade to a stunning suite on arrival . Could see the wonderful gardens from our window . superb and spotless !
The garden and the food are stunning
We will return for sure
The relais property will have an upgrade soon with massage and spa.
Chris n Tom

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Falls, Virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We found this property in the Relais & Chateaux Guide. The property is clearly much loved by the owners, Odile and Eric Brial. The service and friendliness of the staff and the owners makes this an especially wonderful place to stay and it's only about 120 kilometers from Charles De Galle airport making it a perfect first stop or last stop in France.

The formal dining room is cozy, relaxed and the kitchen produces outstanding cuisine. Don't miss at least one meal there. We've eaten at many excellent French restaurants, and this was among the best.

Breakfast is on a terrace overlooking very carefully and lovingly tended grounds that add the charm of a classic French breakfast.

The owner, Mr. Brial and his major domo, Bruno are wonderful hosts and really do take an interest in the comfort and enjoyment of their guest. This really is a gem!

Room Tip: We had a beautiful suite in the top floor (third level) overlooking the town and it's many churc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne,Uk.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

What can I say, if you are looking for perfection then this is it! Eric and his wife Odile welcomed us into "Their Home" it certainly felt as though we were part of their home, garden and grounds 10 out of 10, bedroom and bathroom 10 out of 10, dining room, entrance and an amazing stair case, all 10 out of 10. Then there is the food, an amazing menu,full of intriguing dishes, which did not disappoint.
Having stayed at Relais & Chateaux hotels for over twenty years this certainly is the icing on the cake!

Room Tip: would think all rooms are good and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Very good value. Eric and Odile made us feel very welcome and couldn't have been kinder. They encouraged us to go and look at the town when we probably wouldn't otherwise have bothered (we were only staying for one night) - but we're glad that we did because it was utterly charming and beautifully maintained. The dinner was excellent overall and the service exemplary. Eric was very keen to ensure that we enjoyed our stay and apart from going a bit overboard about organic this and that, was very helpful and informative. Not sure of the waiter's name, but he was a good laugh and helped make our meal a really good experience. We will definitely come back and tell our friends to go there too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel is a real gem! The owners and their staff could not be more friendly and welcoming.
Our room and en-suite bathroom were excellent (large room and bathroom, big bath and good shower) and the food at dinner was absolutely superb. Breakfast was equally good. This is a place we will definitely return to and which we would unreservedly recommend to the most discerning traveler, especially anyone who appreciates genuinely fine food.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos- Relais et Chateaux? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos- Relais et Chateaux

Address: 98, rue de la Ferte-Vidame, 27130 Verneuil-sur-Avre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Verneuil-sur-Avre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Verneuil-sur-Avre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le ClosL'histoire started around 1770,*When the nuns of the Abbey of Saint-Nicolas bought the land under the old regime called "The garden of the Beguine". Bordered by the remains of city walls and a tower called the white tower, the plots became peasant gardens. A century later, in 1886 - under the protection of a gentleman benefactor of the Abbey of Saint-Nicolas - a Castel was born. The Benedictine nuns began hosting families opened a school for girls of the abbey.The round tower and the square pavilion, pepper-pot roofs and four slopes, false battlements and tall chimneys, windows and doors decorated with braces, and a harmonious example of architectural style Viollet-Le-Duc.The mansion was an inspiration for the architect to draw on the exceptional tower houses that adorn the town of Verneuil since the fifteenth century. In gothic style, the walls come alive with color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Le Clos- Relais et Chateaux reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos- Relais Et Chateaux France/Verneuil-Sur-Avre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos- Relais et Chateaux, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.