We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just spot on!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Clos

Save Saved
You added Le Clos to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Le Clos
98, rue de la Ferte-Vidame, 27130 Verneuil-sur-Avre, France   |  
Hotel amenities
Cowden, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Just spot on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

I was refered to Le Clos by R&C 5C as I was seeking a venue to host a birthday party for my wife. We stayed the first night on our own and then took all 11 rooms for one night and had the most marvellous event. the owners (Odile and Eric) could not have put more effort in, everything was perfect. Eric has a wicked sense of humour that meant we not only enjoyed fabulous food, amazing wines but also he kept us ammused with his dry wit.

If you like the finer things I life which is reflected by all the R&C represents you could not find a better venue.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    40
    7
    3
    6
See reviews for
51
156
9
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lohja
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Our firt business visit to Le Clos. We travel a lott around the world and se many high rated hotels and also eat in star rated restaurants. But this visit to Le Clos was a pleasant surprise.
The dinner was with no doubt a star class achievement. The wine list was exceptinally well selected. The service, in spite our late arrivel, was friendly and flexible. All roms were nice, well funished and clean. Every detal what you would need in the bathroom was at hand ( not so common anymore even in the high class hotels). Breakfast was delicious with fresh bread and the best yogurt I ever have had.
We will come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

A second visit to the region, and this hotel, which helps make the visit a real pleasure - it is excellent in every way - a lovely building, intelligently organised and well appointed rooms, very friendly proprietors and staff, first class service and in a delightful village and region.

Of course we didn't try the Spa or pool but that must be good too!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andorra, Spain
Top Contributor
424 reviews 424 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Stayed here on business.

The good points

Service was exceptional the owners could not do more
The rooms are very classy I happened to have one of the best rooms.
The rooms are all big
Though we did not eat there the menu in the place looked wonderful
The hotel is beautiful

Not so good

Internet did not work
The price of over 20 euros for breakfast was a little steep

Room Tip: Ask for the best room , the owners are nice and friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Went with a friend to this lovely hotel after just arriving in France to unwind before heading back into Paris. Was looking through Relais & Chateaux for a place within an hour or so of Paris that was reachable by train. Spent two nights at this beautiful and comfortable hotel. Odile and Eric were gracious hosts who did everything possible to make us feel at home and spoiled. Our room was lovely and comfortable. The restaurant was amazing. The service was attentive and friendly, the food was over the top in taste and presentation, and we sat in a beautiful setting with a blazing fire going. We loved the town of Verneuil which had a some lovely shops and great walking tours both within the town and around it where a series of moats surrounds the village. You won't be disappointed if you're lucky enough to spend time at this special place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We ended our month long 50th wedding anniversary trip to France with a two night stay at Le Clos. We found this jewel of Normandy through Relais and Chateaux. What a beautiful place!
Our room was lovely, overlooking a lovely park like setting, spacious and very comfortable. The restaurant should be rated a 5 star establishment! However, our hosts, Eric and Odile Brial, made Le Clos extra special. Their warmth, hospitality, and desire to make certain we felt at home went beyond any kind of hospitality we have ever received in a hotel setting. We were on a quest to visit our ancestral towns and they provided directions and even umbrellas on a rainy day. They greeted us each morning with a smile, even took our luggage to our car when it was time to leave and in true European fashion, even stood in the rain as we waved goodbye. Hospitality at it's best!

Room Tip: Loved our tower room with steam shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

after a busines trip to paris we looked for a place to spend 3 nights.we found le clos by chance and it was much more then we could ever dream of.everything!! the hospitality,the room,the locatin and the the uniqe and excellent food we never had such before.eric gave us a nice offer and it was worth every penny.just go and dont miss it!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Clos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Clos

Address: 98, rue de la Ferte-Vidame, 27130 Verneuil-sur-Avre, France
Location: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Eure > Verneuil-sur-Avre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Verneuil-sur-Avre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le ClosL’histoire started around 1770,*When the nuns of the Abbey of Saint-Nicolas bought the land under the old regime called “The garden of the Beguine”. Bordered by the remains of city walls and a tower called the white tower, the plots became peasant gardens. A century later, in 1886 – under the protection of a gentleman benefactor of the Abbey of Saint-Nicolas – a Castel was born. The Benedictine nuns began hosting families opened a school for girls of the abbey.The round tower and the square pavilion, pepper-pot roofs and four slopes, false battlements and tall chimneys, windows and doors decorated with braces, and a harmonious example of architectural style Viollet-Le-Duc.The mansion was an inspiration for the architect to draw on the exceptional tower houses that adorn the town of Verneuil since the fifteenth century. In gothic style, the walls come alive with color. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Clos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Clos France/Verneuil-Sur-Avre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Clos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.