We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Good.. and the other stuff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Lorenzo a Linari

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added San Lorenzo a Linari to your Saves list
San Lorenzo a Linari
1.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Loc. Linari - San Rocco a Pilli, 53010 Sovicille, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Sovicille B&B and Inns
philadelphia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Good.. and the other stuff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We had a wonderful time in this area right outside Siena and would give San Lorenzo a 3.5 or so. There were some positives and some things that, for us, were.. less positive.

The Good:
- The grounds are lovely. And the views from there are spectacular. It's not a huge site but big enough to stroll for a little bit. The pool area looked nice but we were there in October so it was not pool weather (they closed it the second day we were there). And the buildings are very picturesque (as you'd expect in Tuscany).
- Having an apartment is great. This isn't the only place, of course, where you can rent an apartment but it's always a plus for us.
- The staff were very friendly and so helpful with recommendations for restaurants and towns to visit.
- The location is great to visit a number of towns in the area. Great base.

The Less Good:
- Lovely grounds - however, as another reviewer said, there seems to be a shortage of furniture out in the gardens to sit and enjoy for a bit. My husband and I ended up sitting at an outdoor table which probably belonged to another apartment.. but it didn't seem like the apt was occupied.
- The apartment was sparsely decorated. I'm a designer... and it needed a little help. This was definitely not a deal-breaker: the showers were hot and the bed was comfy!
- Unless you come with a big group who likes to bring back your own bottles of wine and drink them AFTER dinner.. I would highly recommend finding another place with a restaurant on-site or with a restaurant within walking distance. All of the restaurants we went to nearby were wonderful.. but.. since my husband had to drive back.. we could never completely relax and have as much wine as we'd like...
- There was not much of a common area - the bar and its attached "library" is very haphazard.. like an afterthought.. not a place where it would be comfortable to hang out for a while.

Some FYI's:
- The breakfast is a bit simple. But it was Italy.. I don't think it was much different from any other italian breakfast I've ever had. You won't get an omelet.. but they actually did have eggs one day! Bonus!
- The masseuse was a little hands-y. Must be a European thing.. because it wasn't just me.. my husband said the same. The "water path" was hilarious.. it was basically like a spa circuit with a sauna, steam room, "emotional shower"(??), jacuzzi and a shower in which you pull a cord and an entire bucket of cold water falls on you. It felt like we had reserved the spa for our private "water path".. but we weren't sure... it was awkward. But funny.

In short, this place was not perfect.. but it was nice.

Room Tip: - There's no elevator.. so if your room is up the many stairs.. you'll be carrying it! - If...
See more room tips
Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    64
    19
    9
    5
See reviews for
59
65
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
152 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This B&B was fabulous. Very beautiful with modern updates. Breakfast was also very nice. My only complaint is the condition of the beds. They were hard as a rock! A friend of mine told me that they were no worse than any other B&B bed in Italy he had been to, so maybe I'm just too picky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I spent 3 nights here and I have struggled to find the right review. One the one hand it is very in expensive and has amazing gardens. On the other it should be magnificent. It is tired and dated and needs a lift. Breakfast is very basic and not very good quality. The tea is a home brand which tasted awful. When mentioned this to staff the said they support Italian brands. I didn't know Italy grew tea. The room was a pain, the hot water switch looked like a light switch and didn't have a sign. 2 mornings of cold water, yuk! The bed and pillows were hard. The WiFi only worked within 3m of the reception area. There were beautiful gardens but no nice places to sit as no furniture. This would be so magnificent with lovely chairs dotted around. The day spa area is OK but expensive. Be careful it is only a few services and there is no menu. It is not a spa with facials, manicures etc. as a woman, I was not impressed with the masseur, he was obviously not trained and rubbed rather than massaged. I found his style inappropriate and for the first time ever I cut a massage short because I felt uncomfortable. The staff don't like feedback. Be aware breakfast is served at 8.30 or 8.45 which is really late if you want a day out visiting the towns. There is no restaurant on site you have to drive to local town. Instead of bringing guests together with say a wine and cheese tasting at night, they sell crappy wine at an inflated price. Sorry would not go back

Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed here two nights and the ladies there were very helpful. On the first night they even dropped us off at a resturant as we didnt have a car. If you like meat go to Philipos! They hired us two mountain bikes in top condition and we swept through the local hills and villages. We had a 2 hour session in the spa with steam and sauna which was €80 so not cheap but very refreshing. Breakfast was so so but served with great coffee and by the pool.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed here for 4 days as we toured Tuscany. A huge breakfast was provided every morning, including made-to-order espresso drinks. The entire property and its rooms were charming. I felt as if I had been transported back to a simpler time. Wandering the grounds at night under the stars is a must! So relaxing and peaceful.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

After racing around Pisa and Florence and the huge excitement of Il Palio in Siena, San Lorenzo was exactly what I needed. Two homely hosts, breakfast by the pool and views of Tuscan fields and a wonderfully relaxed atosphere. the location was ideal, an easy drive to Siena, central to the heart of Chianti nineties and region. Must have car to get here!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Stayed here for a relatives wedding for a self-catering week where we booked the place out . Beautiful old building in peaceful countryside which was very welcome after a hective week in busy Rome. Nearest town about 10 minute drive away. Large rooms, big outdoor swimming pool with bar area, outdoor table tennis table, tennis court, in it's own grounds. We did a food shop on the way here and chilled out for a few days. Reception organised an excellent pizza delivery to us one evening & taxis to a local restaurant another. Great trip

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sovicille
22.2 mi away
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclusive Wellness & Relais
Hotel Palazzo del Capitano Exclu...
#1 of 4 in San Quirico d'Orcia
4.5 of 5 stars 921 reviews
2.2 mi away
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
Relais Borgo di Stigliano
#3 of 7 in Sovicille
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
0.4 mi away
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
#1 of 7 in Sovicille
5.0 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Villasanpaolo
Villasanpaolo
#6 of 31 in San Gimignano
4.5 of 5 stars 894 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Athena
Hotel Athena
#4 of 41 in Siena
4.5 of 5 stars 2,170 reviews
2.0 mi away
Tenuta la Santissima
Tenuta la Santissima
#1 of 2 in San Rocco a Pilli
5.0 of 5 stars 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Lorenzo a Linari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Lorenzo a Linari

Address: Loc. Linari - San Rocco a Pilli, 53010 Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Sovicille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — San Lorenzo a Linari 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your San Lorenzo a Linari reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Lorenzo a Linari Sovicille
San Lorenzo a Linari Italy/Sovicille, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Lorenzo a Linari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.