We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Borgo di Toiano

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Relais Borgo di Toiano to your Saves list
Relais Borgo di Toiano
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Localita Toiano, 53018 Sovicille, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 12 Sovicille B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

This small b&b/ hotel is friendly, clean with very helpful staff.

We stayed here for two nights on part of a pre- arranged cycling tour around Siena.

The location is beautiful overlooking a tranquil valley, the pool is clean and refreshing.

The best thing about our stay was the service we recieved, the lady at the reception was very accommodating and helpful- even offering a lift to the nearest restaurant on our second evening when it thundered.

To access the near by restaurants in Soicville a car would be preferable.

Over all would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    9
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This residence has a very attractive location (close to Siena), with stunning views, both from the breakfast table, as from the (clean) pool. Staff speaks English and is friendly. Room is clean (very friendly cleaning lady).

Main point of concern for the owners should be airconditioning. I read this in the other reviews, but was -as always- inclined not to attach to much importance to this. Americans are more sensitive to this than Europeans, and of course in summer Tuscany is bound to be hot. However, this airconditioning deserves retirement. It really makes the sound of a vacuum cleaner (we all slept with earplugs), and under the terracotta low-roof, it does't cool at all. So sleeping was really hard (whereas normally I always turn airco off during the night). Also, room had some minor flaws (shower hoze, small toilet leak, defect power ooutlet), but nothing serious. For us, the pool, view and location made it a good stay.

After all, given the rental price, I think this is a fair deal...

Room Tip: maybe airconditioning in the main building is better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

A wonderful location to visit Siena and the many towns in the area, a small 10 room hotel with a wonderful pool area that's very close to been an infinity pool looking over the vineyards and Tuscany hill side.A great place to relax after touring all day. Breakfast is lite with cereals,juice,cook your own eggs,and great Latte's, There is a small bar area and you can get lite meals. Thanks to the great staff for their charming service!

John
Nanaimo,BC

Room Tip: Recommend a room top floor, main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

This is a beautiful B&B to stay outside of Siena. It is quiet and scenic with vineyards surrounding the property. My room was spacious, though the sink area to the bathroom could have been larger. The staff was friendly and helpful, and were kind enough to drive me to the bus station in order to catch my bus to Siena. That being the only downside. It is difficult if you do not have your own car or car for hire. The 33 bus comes in the morning hours and then again in later evening hours....and I made the mistake of exiting the bus 3 kilometers short and had to walk the rest of the way in dusk. A taxi from the train station cost 15 euro; on the way back, the taxi said he was waiting 5 minutes when I was waiting in the B&B, then took a round-about way, and charged me 30 euro in the end. All in all, Relais Borgo, however, was great. If I had more time, and a car, I would have savored everything the area had to offer. It is enticingly beautiful.

Room Tip: I liked my room, minus the very small sink/bathroom area. Though internet connection was only suppos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

We stayed here for several nights and it was a great location for visiting Siena, Montalcino, San Gimingno, Greve, etc....The room was nice but the views from the window were beautiful. Breakfast is simple but more than enough (i'm also not a breakfast person). Having the pool was nice as one day we sat on the terrace with some wine and then took a swim in the pool.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sverige
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

Very friendly staff, fine rooms, good breakfast, lovely swimmingpool.
One kilometer to a little restaurant with the best pizza we ever had.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Engalnd
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2005

Location - pleasant, handy for Siena, St Gimignano, Volterra and Massa Marittima. Good views from pool and terrace, but not exceptional from our room.
Reception - efficient and courteous.
Room - satisfactory. but across open terrace from main hotel.
Breakfast - average.
List of local restaurants very handy, nearest about 2km.
Overall, a good value B&B.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Borgo di Toiano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Borgo di Toiano

Address: Localita Toiano, 53018 Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Sovicille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Relais Borgo di Toiano 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Relais Borgo di Toiano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Borgo Di Toiano Italy/Sovicille, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Borgo di Toiano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.