We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mixed bag..” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Borgo Pretale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Borgo Pretale to your Saves list
Borgo Pretale
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Pretale, 53018 Sovicille, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sovicille
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A mixed bag..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

This is one of those places that really should be fabulous. The setting is tremendous with fabulous views across the Tuscan hills and our eventual room, a suite, was lovely, albeit a little dated, with a super sitting room, large bedroom (although the mattresses were old and past their best), bathroom and little kitchenette. The pool, as other reviewers have said is set nicely in the woods and the tennis court, not that we used it, looked great.

However, there is a general look of the place not being looked after. The swimming pool would have the most amazing view, had they bothered to trim the trees/foliage a bit. The poolside bar was never open during our three night stay and clearly hadn't been used for some time - with the remnants of a long past barbecue left in the grill. The chairs were never tided or cleaned and the grass around the pool had long since worn out and there was just dirt underfoot. All something of an enormous shame, when it could have been such an asset and centrepiece for the hotel. The same was true throughout the grounds. For example the rockery, which is shown on their website, is also long since overtaken entirely by weeds.

Another example was when we arrived at 2.15 PM (it advertises that it has lunch till 2 granted) and we asked if it would be possible to have lunch. It wasn't but they did offer to make us sandwiches (for the princely sum of €8 each we discovered when we checked out) which consisted of ham, in unbuttered stale bread and cheese in similarly unbuttered stale bread. Which is somewhat inexcusable for a hotel that prides itself on its food. Dinner was admittedly very good, with the exception of one dish on the first night (prawn tempura which was disgustingly greasy) which you can accept as a one off. Again the breakfast was pretty good but tinned fruit salad and coffee resembling metallic river water really let them down. However, as many others have said, the waiter was charming and very helpful.

In terms of rooms, we had booked a junior suite as we had read the review on here about some of the rooms and wanted to be sure of one of the better ones. Anyway, my recommendation would be not to bother with these - the room we were shown was dark, with no window in the sitting area and only a small one in the bedroom. Hence we decided to upgrade to the suite which, as i have said, was lovely - with the exception of the mattresses on the twin beds which had seen better days.

Finally, on checking out we dutifully paid our bill and discovered that the litre bottles of water served at dinner were €6 each. It wasn't much in the great scheme of things but it left you feeling rather robbed as you left which struck me as a little daft on their part. In fact, when I questioned the price, I was told by the receptionist that 'yes it is expensive'.

All in all, this is one of those places that could, under the right management, be absolutely amazing but the lack of care and attention to detail took a great place and made it distinctly average. I would recommend but with reservations above.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    41
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
16
71
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed at the Borgo Pretale as part of a touring holiday of Italy and we loved it, you do, however, need a car to stay here as it is, beautifully, off the beaten track. The setting is very rural and rustic with rooms in a central tower and a collection of outbuildings. We had a cottage Junior Suite, which was quite small but nicely done, spotlessly clean with a lounge area, sofa, quality furniture, a sitting out area with loungers and a roomy bathroom which all worked well. There was a nice basket of branded toiletries. The room had a minibar which was reasonably priced. Sadly, like most Italian hotels, there were no tea or coffee making facilities and no travel iron / board. The TV was a museum piece but in this location TV hardly seemed to matter anyway. The one significant niggle was that the Air Con just didn’t work and was not fixed during our stay making the room very hot at night. The staff were very helpful with planning day trips and with the hotel facilities. We didn’t use the pool, but it did have a pool side bar and looked very nice, tucked away in the forest, the insects might have been a problem though, they were bad enough just going for a run by the pool in the early morning. The restaurant was offered outside, which would have been nice but for the fact that it was right in amongst the trees and bushes, with all the leaf litter etc all left around you, meaning that ants and flying insects plagued your table. It would be much better if the terrace was made just a little apart from the forest itself, although for some this might add to the rustic charm. The food both at breakfast and dinner was very good, although we felt dinner was a little overpriced. Note Free Internet is available by Wi-Fi but sadly, only in the hotel lobby and business centre and not in any of the rooms. The location is perfect for day trips to Siena and that part of Tuscany. I would recommend a visit to San Gemingano, 25 mins away, which is outstanding and one of the best places to visit in Tuscany.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We stayed for three nights at the Borgo Pretale and hope to return for a longer stay next year. We spent one day relaxing by the pool and one touring the area (beautiful old towns and places to buy the very best produce and wine!) but there was so much more we could have done and seen.
We stayed on a last minute 3 for 2 nights making extremely good value for the huge suite that included a useful little kitchen, had a lovely view from the balcony and was beautifully clean.
The staff were really friendly and helpful and the atmosphere professionally competent but relaxed. This is a perfect place for a romantic getaway.
The restaurant is not cheap but the food and wine we did take was of excellent quality and imagination. I am not so sure it would suit a young family.
I just thought it was a shame for the staff that the hotel was almost empty but for us it lovely!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2009

We stayed here for 4 nights as part of a tour of Tuscany, and it was without doubt one of the loveliest places we've ever found. Nestled in the quiet hills of central Tuscany in an idyllic and quiet location, the surroundings are beautiful, the staff are friendly and helpful and the buildings and rooms are traditional and charming. The swimming pool in the woods is wonderful - we had the whole thing to ourselves much of the time, like a little private paradise. Watch out for the mosquitoes though - we did get eaten alive. Food was out of this world, served by the friendliest waiter who couldn't do enough to help - he was a star! We loved the Italian opera that was played while we dined outside overlooking the view, just added to the romantic atmosphere. Would highly recommend this place for a quiet retreat for a couple or young family, and it would be an ideal honeymoon destination. Don't come here if you're looking for wild nightlife, it is definitely a place for relaxtion and peace & quiet. Make sure you visit the nearby medieval town of Monteriggioni, it's like stepping back in time!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, tx
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

We returned to Borgo Pretale after 9 years with our two young daughters. While a bit tricky to find, it is well worth it to stay in a place so secluded and tranquil. The hotel remains a lovely, romantic setting, spread out over a large wooded area. Our spacious suite was ideal to accommodate the needs of our 6 and 3 yr old as well as our own. The large pool, bocci court, tennis court and lavender fields kept us all busy and entertained.
The breakfast is generous and varied. The restaurant terrace provides a beautiful place to start of finish you day. Both dinners we had were lovely. The waiter was friendly and attentive. While the level of cuisine has diminished somewhat since the last time we visited, it remains a high quality and creativity.
We have referred many people to Borgo Pretale and will continue to do so - especially those families with children.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Zurich
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2009

We have been to Borgo Pretale already twice and we enjoy our stay every time. We stayed there this year for a week. We made our daily schedule of "Breakfast - Tennis - Swimming - nap - Sight seeing - dinner". We usually ate dinner out at sight seeing places where we happened to be and came back to the hotel around sunset time. This place is in the middle of whole alot of places to see in Tuscany and having a car or van is a must since this place is located Ca. 2km from main road in the wilderness. We made many mini day trips without any stress due to its perfect location in the middle of the region. 5 course dinner they offered there was not synch with our family style and so we ate out at night and we can recommend you a very good local restaurant around the corner in Sovicille, called "La Compagnia, Bar Ristorante Pizzeria" There one can eat even a perfect fish dinner or steak and Super Pizza at a reasonable price. This place is always full of people from every country... Go figure... (Mondays are off, I think)
Back to the hotel review: we can definely recommend any family with kids and people who just enjoy some peace and quiet. Though breakfast menu was always the same, there were plenty of choices on the buffet that there was no complain from us and the morning Cappucino and briosh were always perfect. We would go back there again and again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I last came here ten years ago with my family, and it had been a firm favourite with us. I returned for our honeymoon, and was not disappointed. The place has so much charm, beautiful views and wonderful, accomodating staff. Great rural part of Tuscany too - away from the hustle and bustle, but not too far from it! The rooms are a little basic, but then you are not paying 5* prices here. You have got to remember that. We ate in for a three of our five nights, and the food was very good on one of the evenings, and good for the others. I think they have a new chef who is settling in. A wonderful wine list, and not overpriced at all. Facilities were a bit mixed. New tennis court looked great to play on, wonderful archery, as ever, pool could have been a bit cleaner, but was fine really, but the boules pitch was a bit unloved! All this aside, I would recommend Borgo Pretale, as it is great value for money, and it is a magical place. I hope to return again, and hope it will be before 10 years!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Borgo Pretale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borgo Pretale

Address: Localita Pretale, 53018 Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Sovicille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Borgo Pretale 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Borgo Pretale is a heavenly retreat in the lush green hills of Siena.34 rooms located both in the XIIc. Tower and in the lovely cottages spread in the 2h garden.Restaurant with tuscan specialities and terrace with breathtaking view over the valley. Sporting activities: Tennis court, gym with sauna, archery, trekking, mountain biking and swimming poolConference room -ideal location for team building and outdoor training.Wedding and banqueting facilities.Open seasonly from April to October ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Borgo Pretale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Borgo Pretale Sovicille
Borgo Pretale Hotel Sovicille
Borgo Pretale Italy/Sovicille, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Borgo Pretale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.