We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - everything as advertised!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sovicille
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo
Localita' Poggio Salvi, 249, 53018 Sovicille, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Sovicille
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location - everything as advertised!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Poggio Salvi - il Glicine for 8 nights in October. We would definitely stay there again. Everything you see on their website is true.

Massimo and Claudia obviously take great pride in their Agriturismo. The apartments and grounds are immaculately clean and cared for. The location is perfect for day trips to Siena, Florence and all surrounding towns. There are so many great restaurants close by, we wish could have stayed longer and found more.

The "wine on tap" says it all about how fine a stay you will have here. Where else can you fill a litre carafe with red wine from a spout on the outside of the common building and use the "honour" system to record how many litres you drink on a chalkboard.
If you are looking for a villa in the Tuscany country side, your look is over. Stay here, you will be very pleased with your decision.

Thank you Massimo!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Agriturismo POGGIO SALVI is a cute little place near Siena. The owners are very friendly and accomodating. From here you can visit all the great locations: Siena, Volterra, Cortona and San Gimignano.
The apartments are clean and nicely decorated. The grounds are well kept and the swimming pool is very relaxing. There are enough nice restaurants near the appartment; the owners help to find the nearest ones via a shortlist.
We had a great time there. One thing you should keep in mind; the musquitos are very active there between 5 and 8 in the afternoon!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

After a fiasco at the rental agency, we could not wait to get out of Florence and into the countryside. Dreams of rolling wines, brunello di montalcino and chianti on the mind. Now we had a bit of a scare on the way down as the address Poggio Salvi provides does not pull up on the GPS.

Well, let's just drive to Sovicille and hope we find it. That was all we needed to do as once you reach the tiny tiny town of Sovicille, you will see the signs to Poggio Salvi. It was a welcome relief to see our home for 5 days.

Massimo is a gracious host his apartments are beautiful. Warm and decorated in a tuscan style that makes you realize why so many people flock to Tuscany. The grounds are beautiful. Pool, Jacuzzi, tables and chairs reserved for each apartment. And of course Giotto, the beautiful golden that runs the grounds and loves his guests.

Our apartment was very spacious. We had small kitchen with enough supplies to get us through. Make your own espresso in the morning and cook on the gas stove. Fireplace was running every night. They have plenty of wood for you. We cooked in three out of four nights as it was so nice to sit around with some good vino and just enjoy each other.

Right below our apartment was the wine spicket (literally!) Massimo provides his guests the option to purchase by the 1/2 or 1 liter. 3 euros for amazing house wine is a nice way to start before you get into the good stuff.

Bed was one of the more comfortable on the trip (not saying much, but it did fine.)

The view was the only part lacking. Its not what you see in typical tuscan photos, but as others have said, it is the perfect home base for Siena and all the major hill towns. We would stay here again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Several return visits because of very convenient access to all of central Tuscany and very warm, sincere hosts, Massimo and Claudia.

Four apartments, fully equipped, pool in season, fireplaces for colder weather, hot tub fired up on request.

15 minutes to heart of Siena, 45 minutes to edge of Florence, hour to Montalcino, etc.

Discovered Siena train station this year - much easier to hop on trains to Florence, Bologna, Venice etc than driving and parking in these neighboring major cities. Full groceries in San Rocco and Rosia, about 10 minutes driving.

Room Tip: Apartments are comfortably equipped for 1-, 2-, 3- and 4-person reservations. But, Poggio Salvi has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

We find it hard to believe that Poggio Salvi has only had 13 reviews so far, but we're not surprised to see that all of them were very good to excellent. We just returned from our trip to Italy, and our six nights at Poggio Salvi while touring southern Tuscany were one of the highlights of our trip.

Massimo and his family were gracious, welcoming hosts and every effort was made to ensure that all guests were comfortable and had what they needed. The apartment was kitted out very well, with a well-stocked kitchen, a fireplace, an inviting and comfortable bed, and total peace and quiet. We can't say enough about the hospitality or service at Poggio Salvi - you won't be disappointed.

Situated a little west of Siena, finding Poggio Salvi is straight-forward - we had no GPS and we found it relatively well just with the Michelin map - Massimo has signage at the major turns that is easy to follow. If you're trying to find it coming out directly from Siena, take the main road to Grossetto (four lanes) and turn off at the San Rocci di Pilli exit. Each day, touring from here was great with quick access to Volterra/SanG to the north, or the Sienese Crete to the south, or to Montepulciano / Pienzza / Montalcino, or to Cortona to the east.

We originally heard about Poggio Salvi from friends of ours - we shall now return the favour and recommend it to anyone else visiting southern Tuscany as the agriturismo of choice in the Sienna area. We hope to return on our next trip to Italy and visit again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

We cannot say enough good things about Poggio Salvi. Tucked in the middle of the rolling hills of Tuscany, this Agriturismo met all our needs and more. Clean, comfortable and attractive accommodation, a warm hospitable host, surrounded by the heavenly landscape of Tuscany: paradise.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

My wife and i stayed at Poggio Salvi for three nights in the middle of April this year and we cant recommend it enough. From the gracious hosts to the beautifully appointed apartment everything was as close to perfect as we've ever experienced anywhere in the world. The weather was extremely bad but staying indoors sitting around the fireplace was perfectly good for us because it was so nice. Massimo and Claudia are extremely knowledgeable about the place they call home and are most willing to share its delights. Go there.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo

Address: Localita' Poggio Salvi, 249, 53018 Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 hotels in Sovicille
Also Known As:
POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo Italy/Sovicille, Tuscany

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added POGGIO SALVI Agriturismo to your Saves list