We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most horrible hotel experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Flamingo Beach Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pampatar
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Flamingo Beach Hotel
Calle El Cristo, Sector La Caranta, Pampatar, Margarita Island, Venezuela   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Pampatar
Trinidad
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“the most horrible hotel experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2011

i traveled with my family over the Easter weekend and stayed at the FLAMINGO BEACH RESORT in pampatar margarita. the hotel staff were friendly and pleasant. on the other hand the food was horrible,we had to eat out everyday. the rooms were OK, had leaks here and there in the bathroom, the safe was not working, the elevator was not working at most times so we had to climb approx. 70 steps to get to our floor. the resort had 1 pool , 1 main buffet restaurant which served the same food over and over and 1 snack restaurant.
my cousin and her husband wedding rings were stolen at the hotel as well. there is also a popular night club opposite the hotel and it is disturbing at nights due to loud music.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    27
    27
    15
    34
See reviews for
57
34
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chaguanas, Trinidad
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I was at Flamingo Beach Hotel on the weekend Feb 11 to Feb 13, 2011. This hotel is mainly visited by Venezuelans. All inclusive breakfast, lunch, snack, and dinner and included alcoholic drinks from 11am to 12 midnight. Swimming pool with volleyball nets and basketball hoop. There were two large children bouncy castles and a pool/billiard hall with darts and foosball games for teenagers. There were night activities for adults such as bingo and Karaoke singing.
If you like quiet time in your room, sleep early on the weekends, please don't take the hotel's seaview rooms. From 9pm Friday night Ruam's electronic dance music started, followed by Greco beach bar music, then salsa music from the other Guayoyao beach bar. Saturday night these nightclub and beach bars are full with pretty senoritas.
If you are a beach lover go to Playa El Agua. Beaches in Pampatar are average.
The exchange rate 1US to 8Bf. About 30Bf for taxi to Sambil mall. Canejeros flea market about 40Bf one way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tobago
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

Excellent service and attention with entertainment staff and management for a school group from Trinidad consisting of 84 persons. Conference room provided with snacks and drinks during meeting sessions.
Excellent location for its proximity to Sambil Mall, Diverland and Conejeros. Food was not bad but same menu was served everyday.
Hotel facilities were being upgraded, elevator not working most times, and rooms are comfortable. Wifi available only in lobby, mini mart and mini gym available. Public phone available in lobby for International calling with use of prepaid phone card. Sports bar and nightclub was closed.

Good for school groups.

Stayed December 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

I went with my family to this hotel from Jun 29 thru Jul 03 2009. The service was excellent, people was very helpful. The food was good too; they had buffet everyday where you can find a variety of things with good flavors. They didn’t have any wine for drinks during this period though. This was the good part, now the bad part: the rooms are in a very bad condition. During our 4 nights staying in this hotel, we stayed in three different rooms. There was always a problem with every single one. The first one had dripping water from the A/C, the second one had a very strong smell, may be cigarette, I don’t know and looks pretty old, and it was nasty thinking in having a shower there. The third one and last one, when you flush the toilet it didn’t work, they fixed it though, but the bathroom looks pretty bad, we were tired to move our stuff so we decided to stay in this one for the rest of the time.

The hotel doesn’t have places to walk around; it is pretty small, basically you go to your room, restaurant and swimming pool, that is all!!! The beach is a joke, pretty small, there are not cabanas or umbrellas, you need to be as close as you can from the palm tree, and there are two. We didn’t expend a weekend there but I bet it is pretty noisy during the night because it is surrounded by night clubs.

The hotel is five minutes away from Sambil mall, Rattan mall in Pampatar. You pay like 20 Bfs to go there. Conejeros market, where you can find cheap stuff, is about 30 minutes away, they charge you like 30 Bfs one way.

I will recommend this hotel to my enemies... just if i had one....

I went to Margarita before, I stayed in Portofino Hotel, it was as bad as this one, so I think this is pretty normal in this island.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2007

I stayed at this hotel and I found the rooms horrible. It is not well kept and has never been renovated. Moreover, I could not sleep untill 3 O CLock in the morning because the Beach Bar in front of the hotel played music very loud on Friday night. There are no double windows, so, if you stay during the week-end, never take a room with a seaview (that is a shame). Service and personal were bad, as quite everywhere on this island. The receptionists do not smile and the bar keepers forget what you ask. HOwever, the location is great, but the hotel owner makes no effort to make this hotel a real 4 stars hotel. I would rate it as a 2 stars hotel.

  • Liked — the location, la Caranta in Margarita is superb
  • Disliked — rooms, service, bad kept hotel
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Quebec
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2007

My husband & I and our two sons, 11 & 17 stayed at this Hotel from February 25th - March 4th, 2007. I will first say the hotel staff is excellent. All the staff are extremely pleasant, helpful and made our stay very enjoyable, namely, Natasha, Jimmy, Pedro, Luis, Kenny, Miguel Douglas, Vidal, Jesus and affiliate, Joanne Béland. We thank them very much! The hotel was very quiet during our week and this was great for rest and relaxation. Our trip included 3 meals per day and drinks at the pool bar. The food was very tasty with nice presentation and provided a buffet breakfast, with lunch and supper a-la-carte meaning you could order from their menu whatever you wanted. The drinks were also excellent, plenty of choices. The hotel security is very visible and helpful. The hotel is located in a very safe area with a few restaurants and night clubs for dancing just across the street. There is a hotel shuttle to and from the Sambil shopping mall everyday at 10:30 am returning at 1:00 pm.... It is a fun ride through the streets of Pampatar, our kids really enjoyed it. The ride to the mall is about 10 minutes... very close. The tropical swimming pool area and dining area along with the pool bar are just beautiful... extremely clean and freshly renovated. Many staff are working hard to update the facility as over the last five years the hotel was neglected, but has recently been acquired by new Administration and is being once again updated to its original state..... The rooms are comfortable, but also are undergoing updates. We did not have a balcony, but a big window that can open..... caution for young children! We had a queen and two single beds in our room with ac, satelite tv, a small table and chairs. The bathroom was average with tub & shower, good hot water and water pressure... we also had a hairdryer. The view from the swimming pool area is spectacular. Your are directly overlooking the ocean and there are two beaches just 2 minutes walk across the street. One of the beaches is small and private for the hotel offering beach chairs.... the other beach is bigger, but is public with direct access by a pathway from the hotel, but you will need to rent your chairs and pay for your drinks. Taxi ride to Sambil mall is about 5 minutes and costs about 3 dollars US or 8000 bulivar.... we used bulivar all the time and money can be changed at the front desk. We will definately be returning to this hotel in the future! The hotel offers trilingual service in french, english and spanish.... The menu for the restaurant is trilingual accommodating for Quebecers... and the staff do their best to speak to you in whatever language you are.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Flamingo Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Flamingo Beach Hotel

Address: Calle El Cristo, Sector La Caranta, Pampatar, Margarita Island, Venezuela
Location: Venezuela > Insular Region > Coastal Islands > Margarita Island > Pampatar
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Pampatar
Also Known As:
Hotel Flamingo Beach
Flamingo Beach Hotel Margarita Island, Venezuela

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flamingo Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Flamingo Beach Hotel to your Saves list