We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican in Bavaria” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tortuga

Tortuga
Schulstrasse 18, Grafenwohr, Bavaria, Germany
09641-463
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 15 Restaurants in Grafenwohr
Price range: $1 - $19
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Hattiesburg, Mississippi
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Mexican in Bavaria”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Huge portions, fantastic flavor. Better than most Mexican restaurants in America (possible exception in the SW U.S). Get the tacos and muchos nachos for an appetizer.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    7
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ansbach
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The Best of Its Kind in GERMANY!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This place is awesome. I am a person who is born in the Caribbean and half raised in Texas. So naturally the flavor used in the food hit home. The meat is thoroughly marinated to perfection. You can literally taste the tex-mex love placed in food as you are eating it. The first time I ate there I had to call out the cook to thank him for such delightful food. The crazy part is that the owner remembered who I was almost four years later. The surf and turf fajitas are great. The mixed drinks are always balanced just right. The atmosphere is relaxing. I find the mood from a lot of restaurants in Germany very uptight. The mood that place gives off is very chill.Good food, drinks,great service, decent priced, and wonderful atmosphere. What more could a customer ask for?

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grafenwohr, Germany
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Excellent TexMex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Recommended for sure! Quickly served. Great tasting food. Good prices! Good service. Drinks are plenty...get it with salt.

Chimichangas with rib meat.
Ribs.
Surf & Turf.
Its all good.

Too bad chips & salsa aren't complimentary. There are delicious.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacey, Washington
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food is de-lish;-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Great tex-mex food with good service. We arrived without a reservation and got lucky. I recommend making one because it gets pretty busy. I had their enchiladas and chimichangas and my husband and daughter had steak quesadillas....man not only was the food delicious but we were so full when we left. Prices are reasonable and the staff are very polite. We are definitely going back for more;-)

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edelsfeld
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Great TexMex food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

This was our second visit to this restaurant and the quality of the service and the food was very good. Tortuga has some of the best TexMex food of any Mexican themed restaurant we've encountered in Germany. The servers are very polite and super efficient. The fresh corn and flour tortillas taste authentic and are kept warm in a container with a lid, to maximize their freshness on the table. We had the chicken fajitas and the shredded beef tacos and they were outstanding, and we extended our compliments to our server, who communicated that message to the kitchen. We tried their guacamole dip and it was excellent, but the portion size is very small - for about 3.80 Euro. We ordered table water with our meal, and it was promptly brought to our table with ice cubes and a slice of lemon, in a large tall glass - most restaurants in Germany will only serve bottled water - with no ice cubes. Everyone at our table (16 people) ordered different meals, and they all said their meals were very good. If you're looking for good Tex Mex food, at a reasonable price, with fast friendly service, then this is your place! The restaurant only opens for dinner starting at 5pm. It is highly recommended that you make a reservation especially if you have a large group, or want to celebrate a special event.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tortuga also viewed

Grafenwohr, Upper Palatinate
Grafenwohr, Upper Palatinate
 
Grafenwohr, Upper Palatinate
Grafenwohr, Upper Palatinate
 

Been to Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tortuga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.