We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would love to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Sueno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added El Sueno to your Saves list
El Sueno
El Soto 64 | Vejer de la Frontera, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
lewes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Would love to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

What a fantastic stay my young daughter and II had at Alemendra. We liked everything about it (although we were unlucky with the weather): the wonderful citrus groves, the enclosed central garden, swimming pool, and friendly owners who were staying at the finca during our visit and were able to recount to us how they came to create this beautiful place, all contributed to our very successful holiday in Oct/Nov 2012.
The studio itself was well-designed and exceptionally well-equipped with everything needed for self-catering. As we stayed during half term my daughter made friends with other children who were staying at the same time as well as with the owner's two charming children.
The number one highlight was a neighbouring shaggy, white dog who visited us daily. My daughter went out first thing in the very early morning torch in hand to play with him. He was her gentle and friendly campanion all week and I had to drag her away in order to visit the gorgeous sandy nearby beaches and the picturesque white andulusian perched town a short drive away that had a wealth of very good quality restaurants. Needless to say, there were tears when we left and we made enquiries about adopting Riley the dog (also known as sheep becasue of his shaggy white coat) but were told that he was well-loved and cared for by the neighbouring farm. My daughter keeps a picture of him by her bed!!!
Overall we had an excellent time and I very much enjoyed discovering this part of Spain and hope to return next summer to El Sueno.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
23
17
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed in the pleasant Mimosa casita for a week in November with our 2 year old and although the accomodation and its grounds are beautiful we had to request that the dog which lives on the property was kept away from her as his jumping & general enthusiasm was frightening & he was a permanent fixture outside the casita waiting to 'play'. Although he was restrained on several occasions he managed to chew through the rope, dig under the fence & return so it took a few days to resolve. After this we had a lovely time, but I wouldn't have booked had I realised this situation.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
64ark, Owner at El Sueno, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for your review and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the Casita and the grounds during your recent visit. I would also like to apologise again about the small visiting dog, as we spoke about this at the beginning of your stay - while the matter was then dealt with promptly.

Although you agreed with our assurances that the dog was both very gentle and friendly, so posed no harm to your daughter nor did you wish to leave, we understood that he upset your daughter as she was young and simply not used to pets. We also informed you that it was not our dog nor did it live on our finca, but he was known to us as a family pet belonging to our elderly neighbours who own the finca (farm) next door – although neither they or their dog live there for much of the year, so he was only a recent visitor. The previous two weeks had been school half term weeks with our finca full of young families including our own, so all the children adored this dog and had actively encouraged him to come over and play with them, (with one serious offer of adoption from one guest with a young daughter of her own) - but until you telephoned neither the neighbours, ourselves or even the little dog realised there was any concern with his visits, particularly as he is so gentle and had previously never ventured outside his finca unless called.

However as soon as you spoke to us about the dog we apologised for his presence, while our daily caretaker Chus immediately tied the dog up next door and informed our neighbours for the reason on their return. However, as they are often away during the day the dog was lonely and later escaped for a short while - so Chus then tied him up securely elsewhere where he could personally watch and care for him during the remainder of your stay which resolved the matter, for which you thanked him and no further concern was raised.

Animals of all shapes and sizes are part of everyday life in rural Spain particularly in agricultural areas such as ours, so it is quite normal for children and family dogs to roam freely around playing together in the immediate area or on the village road (along with passing livestock etc) – while we have rescued friendly farm cats living on the finca too (although they are not allowed in any of the houses) and Chus has an gentle old female retriever which sometimes accompanies him. However, although this little dog has only visited very recently, had you asked any questions or told us at any time during the booking process that you would not wish to stay somewhere where there were animals or pets in the vicinity, we would have certainly informed you of these points so that you could have booked elsewhere.

Therefore in these circumstances, I am sorry that you feel that you only received three out of five for service and value from us," as well as given an Average rating overall. We feel that dealt with the matter of the friendly visiting dog promptly and also managed it for the rest of your holiday to the very best of our ability - while at a price of just £63 inclusive per night (Low Season) for a two bedroom, two bathroom cottage I think our value is very good indeed. However, you have rated all other points as either good or excellent so overall your holiday was actually 4/5 or Very Good - which we are pleased to have achieved, along with reading that you also had a lovely time. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at El Sueno in Almendra in May 2011 and loved it so much that we returned this October with friends and stayed in Mimosa. We had raved about El Sueno to our friends and they were not dissappointed. We had a fantastic stay in Mimosa which is perfect for a family but was equally perfect for 2 couples. We each had our own bathrooms and double rooms. There is everything you could wish for or need in the kithchen and plenty of comfortable seating both indoor and out. We spent many evenings sat on the patio area chatting and drinking wine (the compimentary bottle on arrival was very tasty thanks) whilst watching the sun go down over Vejer. We did eat out in town but we just loved having a BBQ and chilling out. On the few nights when it rained we and lit the lamps and tea lights (very romantic) and sat in Mimosa on the comfortable sofas watching TV and chatting with our feet up. Our friend used the pool every morning and we even got in twice when the sun was out. The gardens are beautiful and we strolled through most days and saw something new each time. My husband and I love birdwatching and nature and there was always something to watch or photograph. The whole place is very child friendly and there is even a play area with swings and slide.
We were lucky enough to meet Sean and Tanya the owners while we were there and nothing was too much trouble for them. They gave us some great advice on places to eat and even showed us round the Cortijo on our last day, (wow!!) which we are hoping to take our children and grandchildren to in the very near future.
There are fantastic beaches just a short drive away and lovely walks, some from right outside the gates.
This is rural Spain so don't go if you want arcades and bright lights but if, like us, you enjoy watching the world go by, great views, good food, great wine, lovely accomadation with all the mod cons, and enjoy a slower pace then this is perfect for you.
We think it is a liitle piece of paradise and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We stayed at El Sueno - Alcornoque. Loved it. Tranquil and safe for children. Great pool which is gated and away but near to acommodation. Well suited for families and supplied all the necessaries for toddlers, ie. changing mat, step, booster seat, bed guards etc. Very good size and well equiped. Very helpful having a washing machine in there too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

My husband, myself and our 7 mth old twins stated in Alcornoque for a week in September 2012. It was peaceful, private & oh so relaxing. The house itself was perfect for our needs - unfussy & child friendly with a beautiful shaded garden for the babies to explore. The owners also provided 2 high chairs & cots, change mats, baby bath...making our holiday a lot easier. There are lovely views from the property & we really enjoyed relaxing in the garden or the BBQ area. The pool was lovely, only a short walk away from the cottage but fenced off, so again, perfect for families. The property is very remote & as we were out of season the nearest store & restaurant were closed. This was a little disappointing but didn't spoil our stay. Nearby Vejer is beautiful with lots a great restaurants & tapas bars. Highly recommend staying at El Sueno.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 10 days in the Almendra casita, which is a generous sized studio big enough for 2 adults and a baby. The casita was lovely - high ceilings and lots of light, plus all mod cons a fully equipped kitchen if, like us, you want to try making some tapas. Having a laundry room on site just a short walk was so useful, too.

We breakfasted al fresco and spent every night sat out on our porch having a barbecue (it's warm enough outside in the evening, even in late October). Bliss.

If you wanted, you could just laze around in El Sueno's gorgeous gardens enjoying the clean pool, the herb garden and the citrus trees, but I'd recommend hiring a car and using it as a base for day tripping around the south coast of Spain. You can easily get to Gibraltar or Cadiz, or get the ferry over to Tangier, Morocco. The closest town, Vejer de la Frontera is very picturesque - all whitewashed villas and pebbles streets with great views. Well worth spending an afternoon getting lost in the old town. The immediate surroundings of 'El Soto' where El Sueno is situated aren't much to shout about and the road is pretty bumpy, but once you're inside the gates it really is a haven.

The site manager Chus was so friendly and helpful and will go out of his way to make sure you have everything you need.

You will encounter a lot of insects, ants and mosquitoes in this part of the country, so come prepared. If you aren't fond of dogs and cats then El Sueno may not be for you - we were regularly visited on our porch by the gorgeous rescue cat which lives on site as well as Chus's beautiful friendly dog. But there are also many less well behaved dogs living outside in El Soto which could be offputting to some.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Wonderful week long Stay in the Mimosa casita. Stunning location with wonderful sunsets. It is the sort of location where you just enjoy returning to and enjoying the Casita and al fresco dining area with stunning views. . Was very pleasantly surprised at the amount of quality of restaurants in the locality and documented very well in the information pack . My girls are already planning our return for 2 weeks next year!!! Thank you to Sean & Tanya And of course Chus for such a relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to El Sueno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Sueno

Address: El Soto 64 | Vejer de la Frontera, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Specialty Lodging in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Self-catering holiday villa rentals offering guests a beautifully renovated Cortijo with private infinity pool & four charming country casitas (1, 2 & 3 bedrooms) with a second pool. Full of character and furnished to a high standard for year-round rental, nestled in a peaceful, private 8-acre ecological estate within a Natural Park. Just minutes from miles of golden beaches, wonderful restaurants, shops & markets and 'white village' of Vejer - with day trips to Seville, Cadiz & Morocco. 500m walking distance to Dehesa Montenmedio & Sunshine Tour. Listed with Alistair Sawdays & Responsible Travel. Catering & cookery courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Sueno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Sueno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.