We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm, friendly and comfortable.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Escondrijo

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Vejer de la Frontera
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Escondrijo
Save
You added Escondrijo to your Saves list
Callejon Oscuro, 3 | Vejer de la Frontera, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Warm, friendly and comfortable.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Tucked away down a whitewashed alley in beautiful Vejer, I could have stayed here for a lot longer than a week it was so relaxing. We stayed in the Hammock room which was light and airy and with beautiful views across the parched hills of Andalusia. There's also a fantastic guest terrace at the top of this mazy, stylish and charming house. Breakfast was simple and perfect and delivered every morning to the room. I think the thing that most stood out for me though was the warmth and unaffected friendliness of the owners, Nigel and Netty. They're so helpful with suggestions and ideas of what to do and have an unrivalled knowledge of the area- from the best beaches to bars. Their little hotel is a true reflection of the people they are, happy, friendly, literate (there are books everywhere to tuck into) and fun. It's not a wait on you hand and foot kind of place more of a "help yourself to the drinks cabinet and use the honesty box" home from home. Loved it and will go back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
42
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Yet again another lovely few days spent relaxing at Escondrijo. The owners lent us a cool box, beach umbrella, and packed a picnic too. Recommended the best beach to visit on the windy day, and also some fab restaurants (Patria and Quatros Gatos our favourites). Nothing is too much trouble, and thus a really relaxing mini break for us. Highly recommended, fly into Gib and use the A381 fast route or take the coast road and enjoy the views of the sea.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slovakia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Everything about Escondrijo is perfect.Netty and Nigel were welcoming,helpful and very friendly and made as feel like at home.Escondrijo is a stylish,peaceful and relaxing place.
We stayed there for 10 days and we loved it.
Highly recommended it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

There's no doubt about the lovliness of both Escondrijo and the town of Vejer de la Frontera.
After a slightly dissapointing few days in Rhonda, Vejer was a lovely surprise and less obviously touristy that Rhonda.

The owners of Escondrijo have gone to great lengths to make it a peaceful, relaxing and welcomimg place to stay.

We stayed in the "Woodburner" room, which has its own private terrace with great views indeed. The room itself was a bit bohemian for our normal tastes, but none the less it was a reflection on the place itself and maybe our expectations have changed over many years of travel and staying in smaller owner/operated places.
The only real downside to the room was the toilet being located in the main sitting/kitchen area and only being separated by a small wall, with no door. So the only way to "use the loo" in private was for the other person to go outside onto the terrace...for the duration!

Having said that, maybe it's being middle aged that determines your need to go to the bathroom in private!

The breakfasts delivered to your room were delightful, as were the owners and Duna the dog.

Room Tip: The Woodburner for the large terrace and views. As long as you don't mind going outside when you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Very relaxing weekend break, in spite of Vejer's steep climbs. Lovely room, gorgeous setting and made to feel very welcome by the owners. Highly Recommended

Room Tip: Recovering from foot operation so not as mobile as usual. Would've found it very difficult if w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I can take no issue with other traveller's comments here. The location is excellent with views from the terrace out to the sea. Helpful and friendly english hosts. The hotel was quiet (very quiet in fact). Honour system for the very fairly priced bars (although ice was an issue...) Good breakfasts. We stayed in the hammock room and it was big, cool and comfortable. They have internet and lots and lots of books downstairs.
Vejer is a good place to base yourself in this area. It is on the edge of the hills that stretch across to the mediterranean, so it's much prettier country than on the plains further toward Cadiz. The beaches are close and other historic towns are a relatively easy drive. The restaurants and bars in the old town are good. We ate very well at several.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Great place, great service great value. we,ll go back

Room Tip: all rooms good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Escondrijo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Escondrijo

Address: Callejon Oscuro, 3 | Vejer de la Frontera, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Escondrijo Hotel Vejer De La Frontera

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Escondrijo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.