We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel to your Saves list
Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Plaza de Espana, 16, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Perched on the edge of the beautiful white hilltop town of Vejer de La Frontera the Califa is an utter joy. Clean and thoughtfully decorated rooms, all of which are very individual (I've stayed in no less than five of them) are tucked away up and down twisting and delightful stone staircases. Most of them have great views - Limone especially is charming as it has a sort of sunken bath. The restaurant (make sure you book it's always busy) is a real treat, blending Moroccan and local cuisine, and is so good and varied you won't want to eat anywhere else. Breakfast can be taken in the garden and is plentiful and excellent.

Room Tip: Try Limone, it's charming
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    87
    16
    6
    5
See reviews for
30
174
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northants, UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

As others have said before, this hotel is most unusual and gives a real flavour of Andalusian/Moorish style. We stayed 4 nights in the Palmera room overlooking the Plaza Espana, which was very comfortable. The only minor criticism is that we had to ask for coffee and milk refills twice but this was very quickly rectified. The staff on the desk were very helpful and gave us some good advice on things to see and do. The meal in the restauarant was excellent but again a minor criticism was that we asked for cafe arabe and were told it was not available. Overall I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a taste of Old Spain and certainly value for money.

Vejer itself is charming though it was quiet because of the time of year, late October. It would be challenging for anyone who finds difficulty with hills a problem, as it is very up and down, and the free parking is away from the centre. Cadiz is worth a visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms are individual so very difficult to advise. Ours did not suffer from noise despite bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks for the response. I'll sort out the drinks problem. Why you were told there was no Arabic coffee I don't know as the kitchen is full of cardamoms and the bar full of coffee beans... Next time I will make it for you myself! Un saludo and glad you enjoyed the stay - James Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

The beautiful white hillside village of Vejer de la Frontera is the perfect setting for this gem of a hotel. Moorish in style with numerous public rooms and garden terraces on different levels, there is a surprise at every turn; lovely tiles, exotic plants and a great map room to browse and relax in with a desk and an internet connection. The breakfast is excellent and the restaurant offers fine dining which is so popular in the area that we had to book on arrival in mid-October).
The hotel now has its own off-road, secure parking down the street for 10 Euros per day.
The village is a treat to wander around in as are the local shops. And if gentlemen need a haircut, the local barber is not from Seville but the haircut in his small establishment is an experience not to be missed. If you are a football fan, then it's a must.

The village and this hotel are well worth the challenging drive up the hill and when you check in there is a no quibble 10% discount on your bill if you have The Rough Guide to Spain tucked under your arm.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Many thanks for your review. I enjoyed reading it!! Hope to see you again soon - James Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We have just returned from Spain where we spent 2 nights in this amazing hotel. It was one of those places that is just charming through and through, and you feel lucky to have experienced it. It will remain in my memory as a 'special place' and one that I would definately return to.

The restaurant serves fabulous 'moroccan' food, and the staff were all cheerful and helpful. All I can say is 'thank you' - this hotel far exceeded my expectations!

Room Tip: Our 'standard' twin room was upgraded to a junior suite, (personal request for a double rath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Many thanks! Glad you enjoyed your stay - James Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Our stay in la Casa del Califa was magical. It's location, the beautiful moorish hotel built up on many different levels each with it's own terrace all with beautiful views. Our room was perfect. The helpfulness of the staff, nothing was too much trouble. Great internet connection. The choice and the layout of the breakfast was amazing. Only one word to describe this hotel and it's magic is WONDERFUL.
I canot wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

Lovely beautiful little hotel in vejer. I would go festival time so things are lively. There is a rooftop bar which is amazing to see the view. And now there is a small pool there. The restaurant is beautiful so is the food, however the staff are so grumpy!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thanks for the review, glad you enjoyed it. The pool is part of our annexe Triperia No.1 and due to its size is not available for use by Califa customers. If you want a pool follow the link to Triperia from the Califa homepage.

Sorry about the grumpy staff. As you can see from our reviews we usually get high praise for customer service. Oh well, next time we'll do better! Hasta pronto - James Stuart.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We spent a delightful 5 nights here. The setting is wonderful, opening onto the most beautiful plaza at the front and with views falling away to the plains behind. Originally the Caliph's house the hotel is full of quirky corners, staircases, roof terraces, courtyards and flowery alleys. The hotel rooms are tastefully furnished and air-conditioned with modern bathrooms. The outdoor restaurant is delightful at breakfast and very atmospheric at night, the menu is authentically Spanish/Moorish. Located in the centre of the most charming hill town the streets are very narrow and parking has inevitably to be some distance away. This should been seen as an advantage as the streets and plaza outside have an attractive array of small street bars where it is pleasant to sit relatively untroubled by passing traffic and you are able to soak up the atmosphere and use your imagination to drift back in time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
James S, Owner at Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Hola and thanks for your review. PARKING! Finally this has been solved and I'm sorry you weren't here to take advantage of our brand new car park just 60m. from the hotel. (Opened on October 13th.) This project will make all the difference to the medieval quarter of Vejer and we hope will make our visitor's experience that much more enjoyable.

The town hall will now be able to implement its long standing project of pedestrianising the majority of the old town. Good news for everyone! Thanks - James Stuart
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel

Address: Plaza de Espana, 16, 11150 Vejer de la Frontera, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Andalucia > Costa de la Luz > Vejer de la Frontera
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Vejer de la Frontera
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Casa Del Califa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Casa del Califa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.